We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last stop on safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Pepper Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elephant Pepper Camp
Save
You added Elephant Pepper Camp to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mara North Conservancy | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Barraba, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our last stop on safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited two other camps first and wondered what we could possibly need to see that we hadn't already. This camp was a great experience, clean, well set up , all services ( although at times wifi is a bit variable - but thats not why we were there!) excellent. The meals and the housekeeping services were great - with the breakfasts out in the Mara a great way to really see the animals at a time they were out and about. We saw so many animals, and our guide Patrick, was fantastic - the knowledge of the guides is what makes the whole safari experience special. we were lucky ( in early Dec) so see a mini "crossing" and that gave us a real taste of what it would be like. OUr four nights in camp was just right - to give us experience on the plains, around our tents ( a gold mine alone) and meeting people. Definitely on the revisit list.

Room Tip: WE were closer to the Dining area - so easy to access all services - especially in the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Yes, our breakfasts out in the bush are very popular - it's great to savour bacon & eggs surrounded by wilderness! Best wishes, Patrick & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Seems an unbelievable amount of money to stay in a tent-until you get there! From the moment you arrive you quickly realise why it so expensive. This is our 3rd tented safari camp we have stayed in, and although the other two were also at the high end of the market, this place caps the lot. Patrick, the manager, is superb, as are the rest of the staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and agree with the other very positive reviews. We only stayed for 2 nights, whereas I was told most people stay for 3. Although fine for when we went (January), a guide told me that if visiting in the migration season you really need 3 nights, so on one day you go on an all day safari to migration crossings, which are a considerable distance from the camp.
The food is OK rather than brilliant-this was the one area where I have been to better tented camps. Also be warned that if you like splashing lots of hot water around when getting up in the morning you will be disappointed-as it is delivered in a brass jug as there is no piped water to the tent (this is an observation-not a criticism).

Elephants tramping around 5 feet from your tent at 0230 will disturb your sleep in what is otherwise a very comfortable tent-but that is a memorable experience not to be missed!
All in all-highly recommended.

Room Tip: Tents 2, 3 and 4 are closest to the mess tents (an advantage if pouring with rain) and have good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Neil

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your review with the team here and they're delighted. We have noted your comments on the food & will work on this to bring us up to the level of the other camps you visited!

With warmest wishes
Patrick & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Elephant Pepper Camp far exceeded our expectations from the moment we landed in the little airstrip (we had to circle a couple of times because some animals were in the way) to the time we left (wife in tears).

The staff at Elephant Pepper could not have made our stay more welcoming; the service we received was excellent. The Honeymoon Tent was a dream and we loved sharing our little garden with a family of baboons and the odd giraffe and elephant. At night, the Masai guard escorted us back to the tent only for us to see two pairs of Leopard eyes staring at us!

The first two nights were fairly quiet, however, the third night we heard a 'kill'. Baboons went mental, lionesses were on the prowl. On the fourth night, we were brave enough to leave the inside flap up and at 3am woke to see a lioness strolling very casually past our door!

Food was excellent at the Elephant Pepper; Patrick took us on a walk and we saw a pride of 24 lions and their cubs playing in the bush. We got extremely close to an elephant and giraffe.

We thoroughly enjoyed our game drives and met some fantastic people at our camp. I think it was absolutely brilliant on our agents part to persuade us to go to a smaller more intimate camp which was open to the elements. We felt really blessed to be at the camp and we would definitely recommend this camp.

Room Tip: The honeymoon tent makes for an extra special stay. All for guides are good however James made our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and also for coming to visit! We are truly fortunate to be surrounded by such a vast array of wildlife - you never know what may be around the corner or, as you say, walking past your tent during the night!

With warmest wishes
Patrick & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My first trip to Kenya, we stayed here for 3 nights. Everything was perfect, the staff, food, facilities. Simon, our guide was the best, so knowledgeable and personable. Others even told us Elephant Pepper was a cut above.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was a late addition to a longer trip, so we did little research on timing or location. We were SO lucky! The managers Sophie and Patrick gave us a warm welcome and, with their well trained and charming team, made sure our stay was perfect. With no experience of an unfenced tented camp I had no idea what to expect, but we felt entirely safe and I have never slept so well anywhere! I love the eco-friendly philosophy and the proximity to undisturbed nature. As for the reason we were there, i.e. the animals.....our guide George must have x-ray vision! He spotted all sorts of behaviour from afar, with astonishing close ups of lion, leopard, cheetah and many more - and he really helped us indulge our passion for bird spotting too. We also appreciated the extended all-day game drive through to the Mara River where we saw plenty of excitement!
Congratulations to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a damn late review but not because of laziness but because I was unaware that TA doesn't allow blog posts. We were in EPC with friends more than a year ago and it needed my next vacation to finally get to post about this absolutely magnificent camp. Superlatives thruout - Eco friendly camp, intimate with just 9 tents, no fencing allows for animals to walk in, Patrick and Sophie as wonderful hosts, Francis our tour guide always ready to spot wildlife, bountiful meals In a common tent, Indian furniture, fact that our friends had stayed here before and this has a relationship with the only camp we have stayed in India, the best sundowner ever and ofcourse the koruga that Patrick cooked for us ! List is truly endless. I can safely say that this is the best ever experience of my entire bucket list of vacations that I ever have done ! And can repeat it year after year. This sums up our experience - for everything else, make sure you go to elephant pepper. You have not lived your life otherwise !!!!!!

Room Tip: All tents are great. Honeymoon tent may be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavitaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, Usa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was the first camp we visited on a 2-week safari. It set a high standard and we were very happy there. The game drives yielded terrific photo opportunities, and our driver/guide James was excellent. The tent/bed/accommodations were clean, comfortable, and bug-free. The food was maybe a half-notch below excellent - we learned that that main chef was away on holiday while we were there. Great to meet the other guests around the campfire and at dinner.

As an unfenced camp, animals occasionally roam between the tents during the night. It adds to the feel of being in the bush, but we never felt unsafe.

We were on safari to celebrate our anniversary, and Patrick, the camp manager, offered to arrange a private candlelight dinner for us at our tent on The Day. It was a very nice touch, unexpected, and added a special memory to an already unforgettable trip.

Three nights seems about right. Two would be rushing it, and four might produce some repeat visits to areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poisson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
27.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
18.1 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
14.4 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#11 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
25.9 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
9.3 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#21 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Pepper Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Pepper Camp

Address: Mara North Conservancy | Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Pepper Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Pepper Camp is situated within the Mara North Conservancy. Small and exclusive, the camp is located in the heart of the African Bush. Our spacious canvas tents are comfortably furnished, featuring en suite bathrooms with flush toilets and traditional safari showers. Nothing rivals sitting around the campfire enjoying the sounds of the African night. Elephant Pepper Camp brings people back to nature – no traffic, no permanent structures, just the sights and sounds of the African bush. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elephant Pepper Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Elephant Pepper Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing