We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Livingstone Safari Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
David Livingstone Safari Resort
Save Saved
You added David Livingstone Safari Resort to your Saves list
C12, Keekorok - northeast Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
“Superb Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Simply amazing, went to the lodge for a break with my family and had a wonderful time Big place though and little things to keep you feeling you are in the wild

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas IOM
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We went to David Livingstone Lodge for 3 nights after a stay at Dianni beach -our 25th wedding anniversary and my husband,s 50th!!After a short flight of 1 hour 40 we landed on the new airstrip amazing just some earth approx 10 mins in the truck to the lodge.We arrived just before midday and were greeted with a super welcome.It was very cold after arriving from the coast.fortunately we brought fleeces with us so were fine..The food was super and great because only 6 people in the lodge as out of season -brilliant!!Did 3 Early morning Safaris and saw loads of animals.Rhinos you need to book separately.Charles ,Joanne and Maliik our driver were fantastic so helpfull.
Cant wait to go back 2013 at the same time

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights, enjoyed the view of the lodge down the river with hippos and crocs basking around. Great food and excellent service from the staff, location pretty good as well and the game drives are superb in a nut shell great lodge to stay in the mara with it's little luxuries

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

me and my sister stayed there October 2011.
As we arrived a baboon walked across the entrance to the hotel....what a welcome!!
Lovely helpfull and friendly staff, who welcomed us with a drink and a view of around 50 hippos having a rest in the amazing mara river.
The place was quiet and calm, there was the odd noise out of the hippos but that was part of the magic there.
The food was nice, we had a bush baby join us in the resturant one night. Lovely to get up close to this creature, he didnt bother any one at all.
At night they light a log fire, in an open wooden building. we sat there on the cosy sofas drinking tea and reading our books. was really special.
Rooms are really clean, with nice basic bathrooms, with towls, flannels, shampoo and body wash. Wasnt expected but nice to have.
Perfect place to stay if you want to be right in the middle of it, i would stay there again, and hope to one day. Perfect safari location!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Great place to stay, we were spoilt and pretty much had the place to ourselves. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food was delicious. Lovely location next to the Mara river with all its hippos (make sure you have ear plugs as they can be quite noisy at night!). Great time on safari as well, just the 2 of us and the driver for 3 out of our 4 game drives, very knowledgeable driver.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Considering its remote location, I was thoroughly impressed with its friendly staff and excellent food. I travelled here in August 2011 with my boyfriend, and everyone on the staff seemed to know what was on our agenda. That said, they were very accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, including placing us in a private area for dinner that had a fireplace. It was unexpected and lovely. Plus, you can watch the hippos and hear the baboons as you enjoy your dinner. The only minus was their boxed lunch; it left a bit to be desired.

In terms of the room, everything was clean, soft towels, hot shower, and large mosquito net. However, be warned that there are set hours of the day for electricity since they get power from a generator. Be sure to plan out charging your electrical necessities accordingly. Rest assured, they provide a flashlight and candles.

Room Tip: If you need silence when you sleep, request a room further from the dining area and not overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We flew into the lodge from Mombasa for 2 nights and the lodge was everything we expected - beautiful location with fabulous views of hippos. We enjoyed friendly and helpful staff and a knowledgeable safari driver (there were just the 2 of us in a land cruiser). it's incredible to read the whining of a pampered citizen of one of the world's richest countries that the electricity was in short supply! Go and experience the magic of this place - yes there are more 'upmarket' lodges but this place is fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to David Livingstone Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Livingstone Safari Resort

Address: C12, Keekorok - northeast Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Livingstone Safari Resort in located in the North Mara Conservancy on a wide bend on the Mara River with several large hippo pools right outside the dining room. Set in the worlds largest natural theatre of Wildlife, David Livingstone is a home for discerning travellers. All rooms face the Mara River. The lodge is an ideal base for a variety of activities like Game Drives, Balloon Safaris, Night Game Drives, Nature Walks and is home to a large tree planting drive in the Masai Mara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
David Livingstone Safari Resort Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Livingstone Safari Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.