We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Livingstone Safari Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
David Livingstone Safari Resort
Save Saved
You added David Livingstone Safari Resort to your Saves list
C12, Keekorok - northeast Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best service in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Considering its remote location, I was thoroughly impressed with its friendly staff and excellent food. I travelled here in August 2011 with my boyfriend, and everyone on the staff seemed to know what was on our agenda. That said, they were very accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, including placing us in a private area for dinner that had a fireplace. It was unexpected and lovely. Plus, you can watch the hippos and hear the baboons as you enjoy your dinner. The only minus was their boxed lunch; it left a bit to be desired.

In terms of the room, everything was clean, soft towels, hot shower, and large mosquito net. However, be warned that there are set hours of the day for electricity since they get power from a generator. Be sure to plan out charging your electrical necessities accordingly. Rest assured, they provide a flashlight and candles.

Room Tip: If you need silence when you sleep, request a room further from the dining area and not overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We flew into the lodge from Mombasa for 2 nights and the lodge was everything we expected - beautiful location with fabulous views of hippos. We enjoyed friendly and helpful staff and a knowledgeable safari driver (there were just the 2 of us in a land cruiser). it's incredible to read the whining of a pampered citizen of one of the world's richest countries that the electricity was in short supply! Go and experience the magic of this place - yes there are more 'upmarket' lodges but this place is fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My girls and I loved this lodeg, from its quirky electricity supply, to its old fashioned & plain rooms, to the annoying monkeys and absolutely fantastic view of the hippo pool to enjoy at breakfast and dinner. Small number of very friendly staff (& no, not attentive just for tips like at Sopa or the beach hotel), genuinely nice people trying their best.

Would definitely go back, but preferably fly in rather than 60km corrugated road journey!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed here two nights while on a safari. The rooms are small and shabby--especially the bathrooms: no stopper for the sink, poor showers. No screens on the windows so had to keep them closed to prevent visits from thieving monkeys. Since the lodge was fully booked, the buffet was always empty and you could not get the servers to replenish--and then a monkey stole my lunch when I went to get butter.

Nowhere on the property's website did they mention the limited hours for electricity--2 hours in the morning and 3.5 in the evening--good luck getting your batteries charged. Even the front desk, dining room, kitchen, and public toilets had no lighting. Do not plan to pay for anything by credit card as they have to call in your number by cellphone and use the old fashion paper receipts--NOT SECURE! Because of this, it took over an hour in line to pay my incidentals. Suffice it to say, there is no internet connection--no way to check in on line for your flight, so be sure to pay BA the extra $$ to choose your seat in advance.

Since we were on a Liberty Safari with our own drivers, we had amazing game drives on the Masai Mara--they took us right to the migration. Booked a balloon ride with Adventures Aloft--they pick you up at 0400 and take you 1.5 hours away for a magical ride over the reserve and fabulous champagne breakfast in the bush. Since 30 people from the lodge were going on the balloon ride, the manager said he would turn on the power at 0330 so we would have lights to dress by--lights went on at 0350. No coffee or tea either. The few people from our group that stayed behind had a lousy breakfast complete with hair in their croissants

The only good thing about the lodge was the ringside seats to the hippos in the river and one enormous croc! As we bid farewell to the lodge on our last day in Kenya, we were sent off by giraffes, warthogs, gazelles, and wildebeasts on our drive out of the park. That was magical.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We came to the lodge for our honeymoon in June, and we were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived on the airstrip outside the lodge we were met by the lodge staff (and giraffes and zebras) who showed us to the bar where cold towels and drinks were waiting for us at the bar. Right next to the bar was the Mara River and there were hundreds of hippos wallowing in the water. Everything about the lodge was explained to us so we knew what time the drives and meals were.

We went out of season, so weren't expecting it to be busy, but were surprised to hear we had the whole lodge to ourselves for the first 3 days (we only stayed 4)! We were well and truly looked after by all of the staff, our meals were cooked to order and I was well catered to as a vegetarian.

We had the game drives to ourselves, even after more guests arrived, and the driver and guide did their best to find us animals. The lions were amazing and there is lots of wildlife just outside the lodge, as well as inside it, including a bush baby that comes into the restaurant in the evening, and monkeys who come into the lodge. The monkeys did not bother us as we had a monkey guard to scare them off while eating our lunch.

We were slightly disappointed to have not seen the big 5, but the things we did see were amazing. We also went on a hot air balloon, which was well worth it.

The rooms were basic but comfortable and we had no complaints. The hippos did make noise but we were so tired they did not keep us awake at night. We did use the pool once, but there was so little time we did not get the chance to make the most of it.

This was a lovely lodge and the staff were all helpful and attentive, the food was good and the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Highly recommend this place !!! Food lovely and safaris are brilliant! The scenery from yr lodge is right in there!! Close to crocsand hippos

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

The resort staff was very friendly and always available. The manager is a very nice guy and Elija, our guide to the game drive was very competent. It felt so good to stay at the resort we had a great time. Pool was small but in a cozy garden. The game drive was excellent, we saw lots of animals and we did not have to share the guide/jeep with anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to David Livingstone Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Livingstone Safari Resort

Address: C12, Keekorok - northeast Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The David Livingstone Safari Resort in located in the North Mara Conservancy on a wide bend on the Mara River with several large hippo pools right outside the dining room. Set in the worlds largest natural theatre of Wildlife, David Livingstone is a home for discerning travellers. All rooms face the Mara River. The lodge is an ideal base for a variety of activities like Game Drives, Balloon Safaris, Night Game Drives, Nature Walks and is home to a large tree planting drive in the Masai Mara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
David Livingstone Safari Resort Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Livingstone Safari Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;