We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences of my life.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Bush Camp
Save
You added Kicheche Bush Camp to your Saves list
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences of my life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This was truly top notch from start to finish. The small size (six well-spaced luxury tents) on unfenced property truly lends itself to a unique and intimate experience. Each night we awoke to peek outside our tent and see everything from Zebras to Buffalo grazing. In the morning, we enjoyed coffee with the antelope before our AM game drive. The small size really afforded us personalized service- my husband and I actually had our guide all to ourselves, and he customized the whole experience to be exactly what we wanted each day (full day game drive, half-day game drive, walking safari, Masai village visit, picnic etc.- it was all up to us). I felt a little bad upon noticing that some services crammed 6-10 tourists into one bus, leaving everyone to elbowing each other out of the way for pictures. Our amazing guide managed to show us every animal imaginable- and in most cases, their cubs as well. He even made a point of coming and getting us after hours to help us track down a nearby leopard (he knew how badly we wanted to see one at night). I really can't say enough positive about Kicheche Bush camp...I'd do it all again in a heartbeat. Yes, it may be a bit more expensive than some of the other operations, but this is truly a once in a lifetime experience and well worth the extra cash (you just don't skimp on something like this).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
160
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

This is the first time i will say being in the middle of nowhere with nothing surrounding you apart from wildlife scores 5 for location! We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon - relaxing it wasnt but an amazing experience it was. Great hosts and very knowledgable guide - Nelson, who had xray eyes and managed to find us 3 leopards and 3 Cheetahs in one day. Lions were commonplace and were kind of taken for granted by the end of our trip! They even walked right through our camp! No Rhinos though but that didnt matter. The camp was very small - only 5 or 6 tents i think which were pretty luxurious by tent standards, and only a few were occupied as we were slightly off season. This made for absolutely amazing service - full attention always. Lovely food and Kennedy the waiter even double up as an insect protector for the nights! Definitely beats staying in a lodge and the early mornings were worth it. There is electricity by solar power and hot showers ensuite. We would love to say we would go back but i think realistically this was a once in a lifetime opportunity - we are very glad we spent it here though and it was just by chance as the other Kicheche camp we were due to stay at was closed. We did a ballon ride too which was worth it if you have more than 2 whole days on safari.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We will just be repeating everyone else when we say the Kicheche was wonderful. The game viewing was superb - we saw lions in great numbers, cheetahs, wildebeests, zebras, giraffes, and even the elusive leopard. The guides are knowledgeable, generous with their time and their information. The camp is ecologically organized - they are upgrading their lighting system - which is solar - so it works even when the weather is overcast (as it was during our stay). The food is great - it struck us funny that in the middle of the bush, the camp cooks working on camp ovens, did those little swirly things in the sauces that you find in upscale restaurants in the states. A final word - i thought that inclement weather would ruin game viewing and was I glad to discover how wrong I was. Animals stay out in the rain...duh...and the drizzling absolutely didn't matter.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Kicheche camps, it hard to know were to start, from the office in Nairobi (booking on line) to the airport transfers nothing is to much for them.The camps are comfotable , well set out and you are made feel most welcome.Staff at the 3 camps are excellent in every thing they do.Food and service is of the top order.The guides are the most knowledgeable we have come across,loved breakfast and sundowners out on safari.As for the wildlife the guides know all there is,to make sure you dont miss a thing. They have you looking at ALL the animals from the best advantage points.It is hard to go there once,as you will want to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Wow, what a fantastic safari camp, and what an absolutely unbelievable location.
We'd spent 2 weeks touring South Africa staying in 3-4 star hotels along the garden route and around Cape Town, and had added 3 nights at the Kicheche Bush Safari Camp to round off my wife's 60th birthday celebrations, and the choice of Kicheche could not have been better. The Kicheche Bush Camp and the Masai Mara simply blew South Africa away.
Don't look for theme park night life, this is living in a luxury tent with a king sized bed, listening at night to lions, elephants, and wildebeest strolling through the camp. If you've never tried it, do, its magical, and no theme park can give you that..
No noisy alarm clock, the early morning wakeup call from Ibrahim for your morning game drive was as gentle as a breeze, and accompanied with coffee and biscuits.
Patrick, our Masai Guide, was an encyclopedia of animal knowledge who could not only could spot the smallest of animals and birds, but would also position the 4X4 to get the best angle for the sun and taking photographs. And it’s not more that 4 people in a 4X4; Kicheche really know how to take care of their customers.
Sundowners and dinner around a communal table sharing the days experiences was simply the best way to end the day, and the food could not have been better - really well cooked and presented with everyone's needs taken into account.
Big thanks to all at Kicheche for a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

After a lot of research on the internet we choose Kicheche Bush Camp for our first safari experience. And we know now we made the best choice.
Everything was great and even more than that.
The tents, the Staff, the ambiance, the food, the atmosphere at the campfire and the eye for all those small details…..

We saw so many animals; only on the way from the airstrip to the camp we spotted already 4 of the Big five and the cheetah with her six cups.
The full day safari was great with the delicious picnic breakfast and lunch; it was always a surprise what comes out of all the boxes.
Charles our driver and guide was fantastic. He shows us everything we just hope for, even 3 times a leopard and a cross-over in our last hours in the Masai Mara. also our 10 years old son an amazing time.

We are already spoiled by now but we have to come back to see the Rhino.
Thanks to all of the Kicheche staff and special thanks to Charles!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We ended our safari trip at Kicheche Bush Camp after spending two nights in Laikipia and another two nights at Kicheche Mara Camp. Bush camp is the total package - great tents, great game drives, good food and awesome people. Bruce, Anna, Abraham, our guides David and Patrick and Joseph were all great.
Some of our favorites memories were at Bush Camp - seeing the "Three Brothers" take down a zebra, the wildebeest crossing, our walking safari, dinners with other guests, talking with the Kicheche staff. We even loved waking up in the middle of the night to watch and listen to the wildebeest around the tent. Unforgettable experience.
We could have stayed a week at Bush camp and it wouldn't have been enough time. What an amazing place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.