We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Bush Camp
Save
You added Kicheche Bush Camp to your Saves list
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Another return trip to Kicheche Bush camp confirmed that there is no better place in all of Africa. The week's safari kept getting better and better with breathtaking animal sightings. The guides were fantastic- their animal spotting is top rate, their knowledge of animal behavior encyclopedic. Camp managers Anna and Bruce are fabulous welcoming hosts. The food is incredible. After a long days game drive there is nothing better than pre dinner drinks around a fire followed by three courses of perfection.
I have stayed at Kicheche as a solo traveler, with friends and with family. Its the perfect place for all. During my stay more than half the guests were repeat visitors, that says it all!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
160
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Having stayed at migration camp in 2008 and had a fantastic time it was always going to be a challenge to better it...............they did. The staff were always very friendly and our guides were magnificent, always managing to get us in great positions for our photography but at all times respecting the animals, which is more then can be said for a lot of the other camps vehicles. Without our guides almost sixth sense for what the animals would do and their unbelievable ability to spot them from a moving vehicle, often at great distances, then i am sure i would not have had the opportunities to see what i did.

In camp the food was superb and the tents very comfortable.

All in all a great week

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

This was my eighth visit to Kicheche and as usual it did not disappoint! People ask why do I go back to the same place, it's very simple, Kicheche is one of the best camps I've stayed at and I have tried others in the Masai Mara. The tents are luxurious and very well equipped, I think it's marvellous to hear the wildlife outside at night. The camp is small, only 6 tents which are well spaced apart. The food is great and I'm a vegetarian and have always been given plenty of options. The hosts are very knowledgable and nothing is too much trouble for them.

What truly sets this camp apart is the quality of the guides. I have seen many great wildlife moments due to the experience of the guides and the sympathetic nature in which they approach the animals. The vehicles are marvellous for photography and give you great viewing options.

I can't wait to get back again and would recommend Kicheche camps to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gorah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The holiday of a lifetime. I couldn't find a place to write about Kicheche Migration Camp; the experience of sleeping 20' from the Mara River, alongside hippo and lions, made the safari experience immediate and vivid. The temporary camp is well-organised, safe and comfortable. The tents are well sited and private, comfortable rather than luxurious, providing everything required to prepare for, and recover from, a 13 hour, total commitment, photography odyssey.
Paul and the support crew run a tight ship. The routine is kept punctually and requires energy to stay with it. Hot water and flushing toilet, bed linen turned down, hot water bottles at night, even slippers, plus a comfortable bed; is this really camping?!
The early morning cup of tea, picnic breakfasts whilst waiting for a 'crossing', lunch under the acacias, peering out at the rain in the evening from a generously proportioned mess tent and sitting round the fire after dinner sharing spots of the day (and the Hall of Shame!) created a great atmosphere. Most welcome was the superb and varied cuisine, using a wide variety of local and international dishes (I was particularly impressed with the wide variety of vegetables and fruit). Good wines too. We really needed all that sustenance since the exertions of the safari are significant.

I also would mention that this is just the medium in which we enjoyed some wonderful company. Paul is an accomplished raconteur, very funny; he uses this to get the best out of his visitors and send everyone home with at least 4-5 wonderful shots to hang on the wall. The timing, of course, was impeccable, since we landed in the middle of the Mara in the middle of the big crossings and saw the BEST wildlife, perfectly positioned and coached to take the best shots.

So, more of a life-changing experience than a hotel review, we can only thank Mr Goldstein and all of the team for a wonderful, wonderful week.
(And in case you're wondering, we are waiting for next year's dates to appear on the Exodus website).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

And that was just in the camp!! The night air was constantly filled with the sounds of the Massai Mara at the migration time...Elephants trumpeting, Lions roaring, Hyena calling - not to mention Wildebeast, Zebra and assorted Antelope all grazing, all around your tent, all night long! We were warmly welcomed to camp by Anna and Bruce, camp hosts, as well as all the front of house staff, who were impeccable in their service to the campers, so warm and friendly, and only to willing to help, or even just chat if that what you fancied! Anna and Bruce were often on hand to chat about your experiences and share their own, over lunch and dinner. Our guide, Patrick, always in traditional massai dress, was second to none in the field when it came to spotting wildlife, always going that extra yard to try to get you what you wanted to see, as well as angling the vehicle so the sun would be shining on your subject and you could get the best picture, all this as well as being the font of all knowledge! Truly amazing!! Patrick found the elusive Leopard for us on our last evening out..Nice one Patrick!! The food and service in camp were excellent, we wanted for nothing...so sad to leave!! Made some great friends, saw the wildebeast crossing twice ( another nice one Patrick!! ), Lions, Cheetah, Eagles, Baboons, Buffalo, Antelope....the list is truly endless! Highly, highly reccommended if you really want to find the spirit of the Massai Mara!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This is our 2nd visit to Kicheche Bush Camp and it surpassed the last vist we made in 2009. The hospitality of the staff at Bush Camp lead my Anna and Bruce are the best we have found after 15 years of travelling to africa in several countries. The game viewing and guides are exceptional and completely in tune with the guests we have had James both years and enjoyed his knowledge and company but I can vouch for all the guides from the feedback each night back at the camp from other guests.

Keep up the great work Kicheche and see you next year.

Audrey and Russell Shropshire

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

I can only agree with all the previous positive comments. This camp is run like a "country house weekend" , really friendly and intimate, where we can all get to know eachother round a communal evening camp fire (pre dinner drinks) and dinner table. As others say, the food is really excellent (and we are both vegetarians)..and excellent relaxed game viewing (the optional picnic breakfasts mean that the morning drive can be up to 6 hrs if you want it...). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.