We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Bush Camp
Save
You added Kicheche Bush Camp to your Saves list
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had another short break at Bush Camp in early November and, once again, had a fantastic stay. Darren and Emma are fantastic hosts as was Aki (?) who looked after the camp while Darren and Emma had a break.
How the standard of food can be so good in the middle of nowhere is a mystery. The tents are so spacious and comfortable it's unbelievable.
Our driver/guide, Nelson, was marvellous and found more than we expected to see.

Thanks to everybody at Bush Camp for another truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
154
48
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thanks to the staff at Kicheche Bush for a great 4 days! Great camp in a great location. Darren and Emma are stellar managers and made sure I was well looked after. I was particularly impressed with how accommodating everyone was at setting up the truck for my needs. As a photographer, having a good truck with great visibilty and camera support is key to getting work done. Darren and Patrick made sure the truck was modified to suit my equipment needs and Patrick was very savvy in positioning the vehicle to take advanatge of light etc. Having a super knowledgeable guide is fabulous-having one who is also very familiar with the nuances of photography is even better. Kicheche run great camps-don't hesitate including them. I am looking forward to trying others.

Room Tip: The tents are all the same and well spaced, but I did enjoy being at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Time for another superlativefest. We had made up our mind before the end of our 2013 trip that we would go back and booked it as soon as we got back. The 2013 left such a lasting impression that we wanted to repeat it, but could we? Well the short answer is that we could not repeat the trip of 2013. What went wrong? Nothing! As good as last year? Nope! Better, much better. We had different wildlife experiences and new mammals species on this trip, sadly no pictures of Caracal which means that there will have to be a third trip this most magnificent of tented camps.

Whether it was photographing the Milky Way at night, the large crossing of Wildebeest on the Mara River or watching the female Leopard Fig hunting Impala that make us want to return I'm not sure. One thing for certain though is that we had a completely different experience. Lots of different images obtained compared to 2013 and I'm sure that no two trips are the same. We're hooked!

Darren & Emma manage this camp superbly and nothing is too much trouble for the guides. As someone who travels for a living and constantly connected to the world via Bluetooth and wifi Kicheche Bush Camp is a fantastic bolt hole where you can forget about everything else that is going on and concentrate on having the #1 Wildlife Experience in East Africa in the #1 Camp on the Mara.

Thanks Guys

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This camp ticks every one of our boxes for a great bush camp. The tents are well spread out, with no fences between you and the wildlife (good view of lots of game from your tent) and very well appointed. Showers are of the bucket variety, and work to perfection. Early morning tray of tea/coffee and cookies (usually at 5.30am) was very welcome, and having delivered it Daniel would then unzip large parts of the tent so that we could look out while sipping our cuppa.
The food and drink was excellent, a bit more relaxed and informal than the other Kicheche camps, and we loved this. Lunches were served outside, with evening meals in the mess tent (but mostly open sided). Sundowners were great, with your orders taken at lunchtime, to be prepared for your afternoon drive. Our guide here was Charles, a very knowledgeable and quiet individual, who had excellent eyesight, and spotted numerous animals whilst driving. The camp was being looked after by Aki, who was covering for the permanent hosts. The biggest compliment I can pay her is that had she not told us, we would not have know that it was not her very own camp. We had a slight problem with our friend, who was struggling with breathing problems and a leg wound, and between Aki and Charles they came up with a plan to ensure he could join us on the afternoon drive (this necessitated Charles driving "through" the bush to get the vehicle next to our friend's tent). Our friend also enjoyed regular room service, including a full English breakfast one day. A wonderful stay, and we are definitely hoping to return.

Room Tip: Tents well spread out. If you want to be right out in the bush, ask for Kipepeo, which was the tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Truly, this place is faultless. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Darren and Emma (camp Managers) to the moment we were waved goodbye at the airport we were treated as not only guests, but friends.
The camp itself has every comfort that you could want and the service is exemplary. Our guide for the week was Charles and man, does he know his stuff. We could not have asked for more than we saw. Every animal imaginable and more. His skills at finding the wild life and his knowledge of their behaviours was brilliant. As a keen photographer his understanding of our photographic requirements was well beyond our wildest hopes. He knows exactly where to position a vehicle for us to get the best shots. Our other safari drivers in other camps came a poor second comparatively.
For anyone considering staying at Bush Camp I would have no hesitation in saying just do it. The accommodation, the food, the service, the ambiance, the little things that count - absolutely everything was taken care of. What a fantastic place!!!!!!!!!! Can't rave enough :)

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at KBC in August 2014. This was our first safari and was one of the best vacation experiences we have ever had. Running a camp like this takes a lot of planning and coordination from the staff, and I can honestly say that everything was on point. We were looking for a small camp where we could have private game drives, stay in nice accommodations and have excellent food. The staff definitely delivered for us.

The tents are perfect - simple, but very comfortable and private. The food was excellent - we really liked having breakfast out on the game drives. Likewise with the sundowner - there's nothing better than a sunset cocktail in the Maasai Mara while you watch a family of lions with small cubs play with each other. The safaris were great and we were able to see all of the major animals except for a Rhino.

Highly recommend this place for couples and families with adult children.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Our third visit to Bush Camp who continue to provide a wonderful experience. Many thanks to everyone in camp for looking after us so well during our stay. Particular thanks are due to our superb guide Patrick whose knowledge, skill and sense of humour provided exciting and memorable game drives - the chase to follow the two cheetah brothers hunting in failing light was a highlight.

Room Tip: We highly recommend all Kicheche Camps but recommend early booking as they are so popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.