We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Bush Camp
Save Saved
You added Kicheche Bush Camp to your Saves list
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Kicheche camps are nice, but what really got me was all of their guides. I stayed at all four Kicheche camps and every guide was "silver rated" - which is sort of the equivalent to having a masters degree in guiding. Camps are each managed by a couple, which makes for a really great, intimate experience. I only had one night at Bush camp, but I recommend AT LEAST two nights.

Camps are laid out in a row with the lounge in the middle. If you want more privacy, choose one that is far out, however you will have to walk quite a distance.

Room Tip: Camps are laid out in a row with the lounge in the middle. If you want more privacy, choose one that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
144
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Kicheche Bush Camp is amazing! We were immediately greeted at the air strip by our guide Patrick. Patrick is the most incredible guide!!! The aboslute best! He made sure that we saw everything that we were hoping to see. And it was more than I could even ask for. We saw lions, cheetahs, leopards, hippos, jackals, a serval cat, hyenas, elephants, wildebeest, and the list goes on and on! The wildlife viewing in Olare Motorogi conservancy is top notch. And you don't feel like you are surrounded by other land rovers. Because the conservancy is owned by the Masai, the number of camps within the boundaries and limited. And people driving around the Masai Mara game reserve can't drive into the conservancy. But we were allowed in the Masai Mara game reserve.

Upon arriving at the camp we were greeted by Darren and Emma, who were the most wonderful hosts. I loved the personalized note in our tent. The tent was beyond my wishes and hopes! And the food was to die for! The home made bread left your mouth watering.

The staff was friendly and genuinely interested in how your day was and went above and beyond to make sure your stay was comfortable. I am a teacher and we were lucky enough that they took us to a local school where we were able to spend the afternoon with the students. I can't wait to return again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It was one of the best experiences we have ever had. Emma and Darren are so nice and made our trip so enjoyable. The perfect hosts. The food was wonderful as was the whole staff and all the other guests. Our tent was beautiful. The shower was great after being out all day and the nice postcard welcoming us to Camp Kicheche was a great touch. We can't say enough about Patrick our guide. He did a such a great job finding all the animals and birds, great photo opportunities and all his knowledge about the wildlife and interesting stories. We sure hope we can have a return trip. Thanks to everyone, what a wonderful time and special people. Special dog, Bing!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofiemyr, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This camp and game drives was excellent from day 1!! Emma and Darren and the hole crew was superb. Fantastic food, service etc. We had the time of our lives!!
Our tent was superb, pure luxury.

Thanks to all in kicheche specially guide Nelson who was our guide for 4 days. He was so friendly and a excellent guide for us and made the safari complete. He became a friend for us.

Thanks to Emma and Darren and their " dream team " :-)

Lena og Morten Bergseng, Norway

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We thought we’d died and gone to heaven – a veritable paradise for wildlife photographers. As for the wildlife itself, our first day was so amazing we thought it couldn’t continue. We had only just got off the small plane and driven a couple of hundred yards when our guide Charles spotted a serval – we love to see small cats, but realise how difficult they are to find and we had never seen a serval before. And only a few yards further on, there were cheetah on a termite mound.

This stunning start was continued throughout our 6-night stay with even a TRIPLE “Catrick” all three of the big cat species - cheetah, lion and leopard - on each of three consecutive game drives). And the vehicle set up was great for photography – the best we’d ever experienced.

Emma, Darren and the delightful Bing’s hospitality was second to none, with even a special surprise romantic dinner for us. All of the staff were friendly, eager to please and efficient and our guide Charles was outstanding, with his expert knowledge ensuring we were in the right place at the right time for the best sighting opportunities. Okavango Tours and Safaris did us proud again – we asked for the best for good photo opportunities for photographing cheetah and they certainly delivered - we had many excellent sightings.

Other wildlife(animals) apart from cheetah, lion, leopard and serval mentioned above included buffalo, elephant, bushbaby, leopard tortoise, crocodile, bat-eared fox, mouse, terrapin, giraffe, various antelopes (hartebeest, dik dik, topi, reedbuck, eland, Grant’s gazelle, Thomson’s gazelle, impala), agama, various bats (including yellow-winged acacia and leaf-nosed), hyena, olive baboon, white bearded wildebeest, frog, zebra, gecko, scrub hare, hippo, mantis, jackal, mongoose, vervet monkey, warthog.

Some of the more interesting birds were bare-faced go away bird, red cheeked cordon bleu, hamerkop, various hornbills (including African grey, red billed, southern ground), Marabou stork, grey backed shrike, little bee eater, cattle egret, lilac breasted roller, white browed coucal, various eagles (including African fish, black chested snake, bataleur, brown snake, tawny), sandpiper , ostrich, Rufous naped lark, grey crowned crane , Egyptian goose, kingfishers (grey headed, striped), secretarybird, slate coloured boubou , black kite, nightjar, various vultures (African white backed, hooded, lappet faced, Ruppel's griffon), grey heron, helmeted guineafowl, purple grenadier, silverbird , water thick knee, various storks (including yellow billed, woolly necked), Meyer's parrot.

And there were no doubt others we've forgotten to list.

One word sums it up - Wow!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The service was excellent. We loved the room. The location was sublime. The amenities I wanted to take home with me. What I liked best is the warmth and friendliness of everyone there. What I liked least was saying goodbye. I'd like to live there and have them serve me hot chocolate and cookies every morning in my room, feed me all three meals, and intersperse naps, reading books, and game rides at my own pace. That would be heaven.

Bravo, Emma and Darren, Bing, and the whole staff !

Room Tip: Let Darren and Emma pick it for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our three night stay at Kicheche Bush Camp. All the other positive reviews are spot on. Darren and Emma are great hosts who run a lovely camp. The facilities are first class, the food amazing, and the staff great. Our driver/guide, James, was brilliant, he went out of his way to find us Leopard (and was successful) - he drove well and safely, had extraordinary skill at spotting game, and demonstrated thorough knowledge of all aspects of the wildlife that surrounded us in such profusion.

We organised our trip ourselves by dealing direct, via email, with Josephine in the Kicheche home office in Nairobi. She was wonderful, handled my questions patiently, and arranged our stays in two camps (we also went to Mara Camp), plus flights from Diani. It all went precisely as planned.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all the tents are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.