We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous week at Bush Camp!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Bush Camp
Save Saved
You added Kicheche Bush Camp to your Saves list
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous week at Bush Camp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Kicheche Bush camp did not disappoint during our week-long visit in October. The guides are amazing - both at spotting hard-to-find wildlife, but also knowing how to position the vehicles for the best photo opportunities. Darren and Emma are such gracious guests, responding to all requests with a smile. And the food - how is it possible that the kitchen staff can prepare such fantastic and varied meals in the bush? All staff, even the guys providing hot water for showers, are friendly and helpful. I will definitely visit Bush Camp again as soon as I can!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
144
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spent 6 nights at the Kicheche Bush Camp as part of a group. The journey from the airstrip to the camp is short. The tents are large and spacious with two single beds or they are put together to form a double. A hot water bottle in the bed at night was most welcome to take the chill off the sheets, but later pushed out as it was not really needed. The tents are well equipped with hanging space, a flushing toilet, tap with cold water, water for cleaning your teeth, a water barrel containing drinking water, a wind up torch, whistle and radio for emergencies, towels, toiletries, electric lighting and a bucket shower with hot water. This is one aspect I had my doubts about, but it worked really well and Joseph ensured we had plenty of water which was hot.
The food was tasty with a good variety and they very kindly dealt with my 'no wheat' problem. There was lots to eat and no one was going to starve.
Our guides/drivers were Nelson, Patrick and James, who were all excellent with a very good knowledge of the animals. We were photographers and all the guides knew where to place the vehicles to get the best light and positions for our photos. Without their enthusiasm we would not have done so well. A big thanks must also go to Livingston, another guide, who often found the animals for us. The wildlife in this area is amazing without having to travel too far.

Our hosts where Emma and Darren, who are lovely couple, prepared to do anything to make your stay more enjoyable.
This is one camp you should consider as it is outstanding. Great location, friendly and helpful staff, tasty food and superb wildlife.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my second time at a Kicheche camp in Maasai Mara, and the experience was for sure of life changing calibre. We stayed at Bush Camp for 1 week, and I am still flying high after the most amazing wildlife experience of my lifetime.

The conservancy is a heaven for Big Cat viewing, and we were so fortunate to spend time with cheetahs, leopards, lions and serval cats. (Notice the plural S´s ;) We had cheetah cubs, leopard cubs and lion cubs almost every day, and spent hours with them from early morning to late afternoon.

The camp, service, guides, tents, food, vehicles ++++ everything is just spot on!

So if you have not visited Kicheche Bush Camp before - here is why its an easy choice:
- The Olare conservancy secures few vehicles around. Its a luxury!
- Kicheche has the best vehicles in the Mara. Believe it!
- Guides are unlike anything else you will come across! They are hands down the best in the business, and their eyes will spot everything! (Except when I spotted the leopards first ;)
- Food is amazing!
- Darren & Emma are the best hosts I have come across! They will go to what ever length to make your stay unforgettable.
- Tents are just what a safari is about with all necessities.
- No fence around camp = a truly unique experience during nighttime :)
++++

I could go on - but as you might have understood, Kicheche is my preferred camp in the Mara. And I already look forward to going back :)

Best regards
Christian, Norway

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are reading this review, you are probably considering Kicheche Bush Camp, just like we were. After returning from 6 weeks in Africa, which included 5 nights at Kicheche Bush Camp, the best advice I can give you is ... Just book it! We had some hesitation with the cost, but it was worth every cent and more. We did some amazing things in Africa, but Kicheche is probably the one I would recommend the most. A smorgasbord of animals in a magnificent environment. Seeing the migration was a bonus. I originally wondered whether 5 nights would be too much .. It definitely isn't , and I certainly hope to go back there again. I would HIGHLY recommend Kicheche Bush Camp .. It was our first port of call in Africa .. What a great introduction to a magnificent continent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our 2 nights at Bush Camp were an unforgettable experience - lions, lions and more lions.....and a few cheetahs and leopards too. Our excellent safari guide - Patrick - made sure that we ticked off all of the 'Big Five' including the very elusive leopards and black rhino in just 48 hours. The camp is excellently situated in the Olare Orok Conservancy and is well laid-out. Darren and Emma were brilliant hosts and made us feel like they were welcoming us into their own home. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay more special and memorable. Our accommodation was extremely spacious and luxurious and was kept spotless by Joseph our tent attendant who was always on hand to adjust the temperature of our bush shower - felt like we had our own personal butler! Sad that we only spent 2 nights at Bush Camp, but hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Last September my wife and I made our first trip to Kicheche Bush Camp - it was an incredible experience! We had a large vacation planned for 2013 - but when we were relaxing outside our tent one afternoon - off in the distance a group of giraffes wandered by - Sandy and I looked at each other and said "cancel the vacation - we're coming back"!!... we contacted our agent at Imagine Africa in London and we were on our way back. There have been many reviews written about the camp - its spacious tents, outstanding food and great staff that is there to look after your needs - to write about it would only be repeating what other people have commented. What makes Kicheche Bush Camp so special for us is the feeling of complete ease - Darren and Emma are THE best managers - whether enjoying a meal, a drink or a conversation around the campfire at night, you feel like you're among good friends. I'm lost for words when it comes to their Guides - they know their job and they can make even a "would-be" wildlife photographer capture amazing pictures. We booked a Guide for ourselves - but I won't mention his name because we want to be able to book him on our next return (lol)!!..and yes like others have said, we to hesitated to post another review because we'd like it to remain a secret!!..During our stay we met a wonderful lady who mentioned that this was her "10th" trip to the camp - she commented that perhaps it's an addiction - we couldn't agree more and we're glad we are hooked!!!...We'll be back next summer for our "3rd" visit!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Bush Camp and what can we say but wow, the most fantastic place, lovely spacious tents with running water and flushing toilet, bucket showers filled with hot water every evening or any time on request by the lovely room boys who are always smiling and on hand. Very comfortable king size beds with a hot water bottle provided in the evenings which can get chilly.

Darren and Emma are just the best hosts anyone could wish for, we were met immediately on arrival from another camp, escorted to our tents for a quick look round and then out for lunch under the tree and the food, how the chefs prepare such amazing food with basically a bbq oven and a 2 ring burner is astounding but every meal was a delight. Lunch was always a hot option with a variety of salads, cheese and biscuits and a dessert. Dinner was 3 courses with unlimited drinks of your choice. The ever smiling Kennedy and William were always on hand to top up your glass and assist in any way they could as were Darren and Emma who went out of their way to make sure all guests are comfortable and accomodated for down to providing hot, buttered toast and tea in the tent one evening for a guest not feeling too well and driving another guest out to meet his guide as he'd had a later start also due to feeling unwell. Breakfast was usually in the bush and there were always some kind of egg dish with 'breakfast bush pie' as created by Emma, a highlight, along with cereal, breads, pastries and hot tea or coffee. You certainly do not go hungry.

The game viewing was superb with a big pride of lion and their cubs living nearby and always willing to pose for photos! We also saw cheetahs and leopards nearby. Our guide was Nelson who was incredibly knowledgeable and loved to share his information and always seemed to know where the best viewing was happening. We saw mini crossings close to camp and a big crossing in the reserve itself. We would not hestitate to return to this camp and would recommend to others 100%.

There is no power in the tent to charge batteries but there are plenty of powerpoints in the communal areas to allow everyone to charge camera batteries without problems and there are now even powerpoints in the jeeps themselves which is just genius - just remember a sticker or something to customise your chargers as there are numerous Canon and Nikon batteries being charged.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent and well spaced apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.