We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We returned again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kicheche Bush Camp
Save
You added Kicheche Bush Camp to your Saves list
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
2 reviews
“We returned again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived at Bushcamp after a week in Migration Camp with Paul Goldstein, to be welcomed by Darren & Emma in time for Dinner, made to feel completely at home instantly.
Food was of good restaurant quality in the camp and picnic breakfasts and lunches also first class.
The guides handled the Land Cruisers with great skill and consideration for the Guests
Charles and Patrick were amazing spotters and very aware of photographers needs.
The area around Bush Camp is a joy as vehicle numbers are restricted to only the camps in the conservancy.
The wild life variety and numbers were excellent, the main reason to travel to the reserve was to witness a migration crossing, which we did twice.
Over 12 years we have been to Kenya and Tanzania and have experienced a lot of camps and would rate Kicheche Bush Camp the best overall Safari experience.
Dr Peter Mason and Grace Mason ARPS DPAGB

Room Tip: All tented accommodation is excellent, running water and electric lights excellent shower. Peter lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

From the time we landed at the Mara airstrip through to departing 3 days later, Paul, Darren & Emma's team were top notch and world class in every way. Every meal whether at camp or out on the Mara were excellent...how in the world do you achieve excellence way out here?! Meeting around the camp fire for drinks, sharing the days experiences under remarkable and stunning moonlit evenings, then sharing dinner meals with fellow guest was magical. Africa truly does strip one down and allows for no pretense. Patina was awesome...I'd venture to say after being on safari for 25 days with other guides that he is, quite simply the best in east africa. Thank you for sharing your Maasai culture and story with us. Listening to Maasai music while our safari walk was priceless. Keep up the good work everyone. We congratulate the Kicheche Bush Camp team, everyone of you, for delivery an awesome experience. Continued best wishes. We can't hardly wait to one seeing you again. Jon & Vicki RPV, CA

Room Tip: There are only 6,which is what makes this place great. We had elephant visit us in tent number one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights at this camp with the whole family loving the stay. After the original shock of my wife recognising the camp manager, Darren, as someone she babysat 30 years ago, we had laugh upon laugh. Darren and Emma were perfect managers (hosts!!!) and run a very effecient camp. The first thing that struck me was that we were the only 'first timers' in the camp! Ian from Derby had been three times this year already, Peter & Cami were on their second visit this year and Sue from South Carolina seems an annual guest - what a great recommendation that is and we certainly found out why!!
The tents are a good size and are more Glamping than Camping with real Armitage Shanks toilets in each ensuite tented bathroom!! Meal time is an experience with Darren and Emma hosting a private dinner party in the main tent with beautifully prepared meals. All the Masai staff were so pleasant and cheery.
The fantastic location in this conservancy within the Masai Mara gives you daily access to stunning experiences with wild animals. We saw all the big 5 here, plus the Kenyan Ugly 5 and many more in great driving days with our guide, Nelson.
The closeness to this wildness is no more apparent when you zip up the tents at night. This is an un-fenced camp and the sound of antlepoles, Lions, Buffalo, elephants roaming or grazing outside your tent during the night is unbelievable.
The walking safari is a must...breaks up the driving safaris and really let's you live the experience - although we were grateful we had the armed companion!!
We certainly loved this camp and would highly recommend Darren, Emma and their team!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 tents and all are as good as each other!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The camp was great and the managers very welcoming! We stayed three nights on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The service was excellent and the food very good! The bucket showers are hot and long, we we’re not expecting such a standard out in the wild. The hot water bottle service was the best thing ever, I slept like a baby, despite the lions, buffalos and elephants, that wandered the camp at night. Don’t worry, there is no danger as long as you stay in your tent. You see a lot of other jeeps, but it’s still ok during migration. The guide was ok, but we had better at other places. His English was mediocre and his knowledge sketchy in places. Still, we saw a leopard, loads of lions and cubs, as well as thousands of wildebeest. We definitely recommend kicheche!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrlaubimSueden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Simple the best! We visited 4 safari camps on our trip to Kenya and Bush camp was by far the best. I wish I could give it 10 stars! We were greeted at the airstrip by Patrick and had a game drive on the way to camp. Camp managers Darren and Emma greeted as at camp and explained the process of how the camp operates with game drives, lunch, dinner, drivers etc before being escorted to your tent. This place is brilliant, amazing, lovely...I could go on. You really need to get here an experience it yourself. The camp is so well perfectly placed that the days just breeze past and you don't want to leave. Darren and Emma do an outstanding job of making camp feel like your home away from home, and the interaction with the other guests at dinner and lunch add to the ambience and atmosphere that makes this place so special. The guides are fabulous, their knowledge is fantastic and they can spot something in the far distance that you just cannot believe until you get closer and can see it for yourself! Full credit to them. All camp staff are ever so friendly and polite. We can't stop talking about this place and are already planning our visit back - for longer this time!

Room Tip: We had the last tent and enjoyed it greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our fourth safari in Africa and this camp is the absolute best experience ever. I cannot say enough good things about it. Camp hosts Darin and Emma are perfect for the job. They made sure everything was perfect. My wife eats gluten free and they handled that so well. The food and wine were outstanding, but it was the personal attention that really set this camp above all others. Darin and Emma saw you off on every game drive and met you when you returned. They ate with you and were funny and charming hosts. The camp is small so they can get to know each guest. The tens are very comfortable with flush toilets and the most wonderful bucket showers when you came in from the game drive. They had a charging area to recharge camera batteries. The wildlife is spectacular and is all around you. At night we heard lions roaring and buffaloes eating outside our tent. They are very safety conscious and you always felt safe.
Our guide, Patrick, was the best guide we have ever had. He went way beyond getting the picture, but really helped us to understand the dynamics of the different animal groups. We came away with a much deeper appreciation for what we were seeing. THIS PLACE ROCKS! Great job Emma and Darin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Darren, one of the camp managers, met us when we arrived from the Kicheche Mara Camp. I hadn't been feeling well, and the managers at Kicheche Mara had obviously conveyed this fact to the Bush camp, as Darren was very concerned with how I was feeling. He attributed the stomach problems with the malaria pills. I was fearing Montezuma's revenge, so that was a relief.
We were introduced to our fabulous new guide, Patrick, who is a KPSGA silver level guide and is about to take his gold level test. Then, Darren and Emma showed us to our wondeful family tent. It was furnished with two beds, chairs, lights, and had running water, a flushing toilet, and a bucket-shower, which wasn’t that bad, but we had to turn it off in-between sudsing.
After that afternoon's game drive, we met everyone else at the family style dinner in the main tent and had a fabulous three course meal complete with wine. Who would have thought that you could get 5 star level food in the middle of the African bush, and from a charcoal heated oven. After dark, Askari Guards escort you back to your tent, as you aren’t allowed to walk the camp alone at night, in case wild animals want a little bedtime snack - you can hear the lions roaring close to camp. Hot water bottles greeted us in our beds; surprisingly it gets very cold in Africa at the time of year we went.
One of the main reasons we wanted to move camps was b/c the Mara camp didn’t have any Leopard sightings. Not only did we see the Leopard at the Bush Camp, with her cub, but we got to watch a Cheetah kill, which is very RARE. We also saw elephants, gazelle, Topi, baboons, hippos, lions, vultures, and giraffes.
One afternoon, after lunch, we left camp, early to head to the River in hopes of seeing a River Crossing. The area for the crossing was outside of the conservancy, and was about a 1.5 hour drive. After about 10-15 mins of arriving, Patrick realized that some Wildebeest were about to cross, so we drove closer to get a better view. Sure enough, 2-3 decided to go and hundreds followed them in. All of a sudden we saw a crocodile waiting, looking like a log in the middle of the river. The first Wildebeest to get close enough to him was lunch. Getting to see a River Crossing is cool, getting to see a kill with a River Crossing is just plain lucky.
Leaving was bitter sweet, as we were going on to the Seychelles for our beach vacation, but we were sad to leave Kicheche Bush. Everyone was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BritAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
16.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
7.1 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#11 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mara Plains Camp
Mara Plains Camp
#9 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing