We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Kicheche Bush Camp
Save Saved
You added Kicheche Bush Camp to your Saves list
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights at this camp with the whole family loving the stay. After the original shock of my wife recognising the camp manager, Darren, as someone she babysat 30 years ago, we had laugh upon laugh. Darren and Emma were perfect managers (hosts!!!) and run a very effecient camp. The first thing that struck me was that we were the only 'first timers' in the camp! Ian from Derby had been three times this year already, Peter & Cami were on their second visit this year and Sue from South Carolina seems an annual guest - what a great recommendation that is and we certainly found out why!!
The tents are a good size and are more Glamping than Camping with real Armitage Shanks toilets in each ensuite tented bathroom!! Meal time is an experience with Darren and Emma hosting a private dinner party in the main tent with beautifully prepared meals. All the Masai staff were so pleasant and cheery.
The fantastic location in this conservancy within the Masai Mara gives you daily access to stunning experiences with wild animals. We saw all the big 5 here, plus the Kenyan Ugly 5 and many more in great driving days with our guide, Nelson.
The closeness to this wildness is no more apparent when you zip up the tents at night. This is an un-fenced camp and the sound of antlepoles, Lions, Buffalo, elephants roaming or grazing outside your tent during the night is unbelievable.
The walking safari is a must...breaks up the driving safaris and really let's you live the experience - although we were grateful we had the armed companion!!
We certainly loved this camp and would highly recommend Darren, Emma and their team!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 tents and all are as good as each other!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
144
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The camp was great and the managers very welcoming! We stayed three nights on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The service was excellent and the food very good! The bucket showers are hot and long, we we’re not expecting such a standard out in the wild. The hot water bottle service was the best thing ever, I slept like a baby, despite the lions, buffalos and elephants, that wandered the camp at night. Don’t worry, there is no danger as long as you stay in your tent. You see a lot of other jeeps, but it’s still ok during migration. The guide was ok, but we had better at other places. His English was mediocre and his knowledge sketchy in places. Still, we saw a leopard, loads of lions and cubs, as well as thousands of wildebeest. We definitely recommend kicheche!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Simple the best! We visited 4 safari camps on our trip to Kenya and Bush camp was by far the best. I wish I could give it 10 stars! We were greeted at the airstrip by Patrick and had a game drive on the way to camp. Camp managers Darren and Emma greeted as at camp and explained the process of how the camp operates with game drives, lunch, dinner, drivers etc before being escorted to your tent. This place is brilliant, amazing, lovely...I could go on. You really need to get here an experience it yourself. The camp is so well perfectly placed that the days just breeze past and you don't want to leave. Darren and Emma do an outstanding job of making camp feel like your home away from home, and the interaction with the other guests at dinner and lunch add to the ambience and atmosphere that makes this place so special. The guides are fabulous, their knowledge is fantastic and they can spot something in the far distance that you just cannot believe until you get closer and can see it for yourself! Full credit to them. All camp staff are ever so friendly and polite. We can't stop talking about this place and are already planning our visit back - for longer this time!

Room Tip: We had the last tent and enjoyed it greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our fourth safari in Africa and this camp is the absolute best experience ever. I cannot say enough good things about it. Camp hosts Darin and Emma are perfect for the job. They made sure everything was perfect. My wife eats gluten free and they handled that so well. The food and wine were outstanding, but it was the personal attention that really set this camp above all others. Darin and Emma saw you off on every game drive and met you when you returned. They ate with you and were funny and charming hosts. The camp is small so they can get to know each guest. The tens are very comfortable with flush toilets and the most wonderful bucket showers when you came in from the game drive. They had a charging area to recharge camera batteries. The wildlife is spectacular and is all around you. At night we heard lions roaring and buffaloes eating outside our tent. They are very safety conscious and you always felt safe.
Our guide, Patrick, was the best guide we have ever had. He went way beyond getting the picture, but really helped us to understand the dynamics of the different animal groups. We came away with a much deeper appreciation for what we were seeing. THIS PLACE ROCKS! Great job Emma and Darin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Darren, one of the camp managers, met us when we arrived from the Kicheche Mara Camp. I hadn't been feeling well, and the managers at Kicheche Mara had obviously conveyed this fact to the Bush camp, as Darren was very concerned with how I was feeling. He attributed the stomach problems with the malaria pills. I was fearing Montezuma's revenge, so that was a relief.
We were introduced to our fabulous new guide, Patrick, who is a KPSGA silver level guide and is about to take his gold level test. Then, Darren and Emma showed us to our wondeful family tent. It was furnished with two beds, chairs, lights, and had running water, a flushing toilet, and a bucket-shower, which wasn’t that bad, but we had to turn it off in-between sudsing.
After that afternoon's game drive, we met everyone else at the family style dinner in the main tent and had a fabulous three course meal complete with wine. Who would have thought that you could get 5 star level food in the middle of the African bush, and from a charcoal heated oven. After dark, Askari Guards escort you back to your tent, as you aren’t allowed to walk the camp alone at night, in case wild animals want a little bedtime snack - you can hear the lions roaring close to camp. Hot water bottles greeted us in our beds; surprisingly it gets very cold in Africa at the time of year we went.
One of the main reasons we wanted to move camps was b/c the Mara camp didn’t have any Leopard sightings. Not only did we see the Leopard at the Bush Camp, with her cub, but we got to watch a Cheetah kill, which is very RARE. We also saw elephants, gazelle, Topi, baboons, hippos, lions, vultures, and giraffes.
One afternoon, after lunch, we left camp, early to head to the River in hopes of seeing a River Crossing. The area for the crossing was outside of the conservancy, and was about a 1.5 hour drive. After about 10-15 mins of arriving, Patrick realized that some Wildebeest were about to cross, so we drove closer to get a better view. Sure enough, 2-3 decided to go and hundreds followed them in. All of a sudden we saw a crocodile waiting, looking like a log in the middle of the river. The first Wildebeest to get close enough to him was lunch. Getting to see a River Crossing is cool, getting to see a kill with a River Crossing is just plain lucky.
Leaving was bitter sweet, as we were going on to the Seychelles for our beach vacation, but we were sad to leave Kicheche Bush. Everyone was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been to many camps and locations around kenya however I have to say this rates as one of the best. Kicheche Bush Camp is just that...right in the bush. Simple, but comfortable. Our hosts Darren and Emma could not have made us more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. James our guide was a font of knowledge on birds as well as beasts, immensely likeable, incredibly patient with a lovely sense of humour. So for those of you who want to feel more in tune with the bush and nature this is the place..fabulous... However even for those of you who have never been on safari this will blow you away...

Maria D , Nairobi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I write this review with a heavy heart because we are now home and no longer at Kicheche Bush Camp which was just amazing for SO many reasons. We arrived from having spent 3 nights at Kicheche Laikipia and thought that no other camp could match our experience but we were assured by our hosts Sonja and Andy (from Laikipia) that we would love Bush Camp and how right they were. We are a family of 6 which included 3 generations ranging from 11 to 77 years of age and Bush Camp was loved by us all.
Firstly, the camp is run by an incredibly friendly team who really couldn't have done anything else to have made our stay any better. Darren and Emma are such wonderful hosts and they engaged with our children just as well as they did with my parents and we all had so much fun together. The rest of the Bush Camp team are equally fantastic and so incredibly welcoming from start to finish (they never stop smiling!). We were treated to some incredible food over our 4 night stay, both in the camp and out on game drives. At the end of our stay, I asked to see the camp kitchen. Darren was proud to show us all around and not only was this fascinating but it also reinforced just how hard all the staff worked behind the scenes to make every aspect of our stay so special. William, Kennedy and Abraham looked after us so well in the camp dining room and over the al fresco lunch every day, keeping us topped up with an endless supply of delicious food and drinks.

The tents are incredibly luxurious and it is easy to forget that you are under canvas and in the middle of the bush. Peter and Joseph looked after our 3 tents duing our stay. The tents were always spotless and beds made beautifully with lovely linen and hot water bottles at night and the dressing gowns are the softest in the world! The beds are extremely comfortable and you even have lamps with shades on the bedside tables so this really is the ultimate way to camp! Being woked each morning at 6.00 (our choice!) by the soft tones of Peter's voice was the best alarm clock. Whilst coming to, Peter delivered hot drinks and cookies and unzipped the outer tent so that we could enjoy the wonderful view of the Mara. One of my lasting memories will be the lovely conversations that I had each evening with Peter, between the canvas, whilst I washed under the bucket shower and he waiting outside to top up with hot water as required. This might sound a bit odd but believe me, you just have to experience it to understand what I mean! The camp is unfenced, but there are guards keeping watch for the big game at night so you can sleep peacefully. There is something very special about hearing gazelle nibbling the grass around your tent at night and hearing the roar of lions in the far distance.
The camp is located in the Olare Orok Conservancy and we felt very priviledged to have one of the few beds within this conservancy. This means that you are treated to long games drives and you hardly see another vehicle. To me, this is a price well worth paying and this was highlighted when we left the conservancy one morning in order that we could see a migration crossing on the Mara Rver and we were shocked just how many vehicles were lined up on the riverbank. Not only do you have the game viewing to yourself within the conservancy but you feel that the wildlife are leading a much better life and this was illustrated by the amount of game that we saw. We were lucky enough to be guided by 3 different guldes from Kicheche Bush Camp; Nelson, Charles and James. They were all so knowledgeable and at the end of every game drive we felt that we had experienced a sensory overload! Our children (10 and 13) learnt so much and really engaged well with all of the guides. We were interested in spotting birds as well as the big five and we felt that the guides enjoyed this aspect of our game drives. We were also treated to an endless supply of cats and other wonderful game and now have more photographs than we know what to do with.
In the evening, we really enjoyed sharing our stories with the other guests in the small camp around the camp fire and then over supper. Emma and Darren play such an important role in making everyone feel relaxed but we were also lucky to meet some other lovely people at the camp, including a family of three from Dallas, a honeymoon couple from London and a delightful Australian who had returned to Bush Camp many many times and we can understand why.
We can not thank Darren, Emma and the whole team enough for making our family trip so truly memorable. We are already planning a return visit and in the meantime, we will keep looking at the photos!

Room Tip: There are only 6 tents and they are equally as good. The main dining and sitting area/tent is situa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;