We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing - the ultimate experience !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

Save Saved
You added Kicheche Bush Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kicheche Bush Camp
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly amazing - the ultimate experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the minute you are collected from the air-strip, your adventure begins ! Darren & Emma are the consumate professionals, and with the support of an amazing team of staff, they manage to make you feel like you are visiting very kind friends, where nothing is too much trouble, and everyone goes out of their way to make your stay an experience of a life-time. The camp itself is beautiful - the tents are beautifully decorated, with loads of space, and the comfiest of beds and the little extra touches make it feel very luxurious. The food (and wine) is really delicious, and the freshly baked breads were so so good - and the banana cake was supreme ! The sun-downers were perfect, and I have to mention our exceptional guide Patrick - he was a legend ! Apart from somehow havings eyes on the back of his head that enabled him to have 360 degree vision for animal sightings, his knowledge and his patience for sharing it really made our trip. We've never been on safari before, but can't understand why anyone would go anywhere else - we will definitely be back, but until then, we have the most tremendous memories of our time at Bush Camp. Thank you to everyone that made it such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kombo tent which was beautifully appointed, but all 6 tents looked to be similarly well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
140
42
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you arrive in camp, the welcome and service you receive from Emma, Darren and their staff sets the stall out for an unforgettably great experience. Our guide Nelson had so much knowledge which he managed to pass on to us throughout our trip. Cannot wait to visit again!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I loved Kicheche Bush Camp. Darren & Emma are lovely hosts, I really felt that I was their guest. The tents at KBC are enormous by tented camp standards. They are really beautifully decorated, with a light, airy, slightly modern feel. The natural palette of whites and creams and woods was very warm and inviting. The sunken shower ("bucket" shower) was really cool. Opening the front of my tent and lying on the bed with the breeze blowing in was the most peaceful afternoon of my entire trip. It was such a perfect setting. The animals were fantastic. Ele bulls sparring, mating giraffe (amazing!) and a stunning sunset next to a hyena den...so special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Kicheche camps are not cheap (necessarily because of the limit on numbers in the Conservancy) but the standard of comfort, food, service and skilled guiding are of the very highest level.
Our tent was very luxurious and we were pampered by our tent steward, food was very good and sufficient and charmingly served; guiding was extremely good and very attentive.
Safari drives were available whenever it suited us and we seldom encountered other vehicles; we were lucky enough to see a leopard in our final drive

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I should start this review by stating that Kicheche Bush Camp is not another "luxury" game resort complete with crystal chandeliers, gourmet meals and the finest wines - it is much better than that.
It consists of 6 very high quality tents with extremely comfortable beds and all the amenities you could need and is located in the Olare Orok Conservancy. It is superbly managed by Darren and Emma together with excellent camp staff and guides. Service is first rate and all possible needs are catered for from pre-dawn cup of tea served in one's tent, to bedtime.
Lunch and dinner is served in the large main tent and is of excellent quality and served with very acceptable wines.
The game drives are the best I have ever experienced, largely down to our excellent guide, Mika. Each 4 x 4 takes a maximum of 4 passengers and the morning drive starts at 6.00am or perhaps later should you choose. Breakfast is served somewhere in the bush and the guides are incredibly skilled at always being in the right place to see the game at its best. The morning drive usually finishes at 12 or 12.30pm in time for a refreshing drink followed by a most appetising lunch.
One can then rest until 4.00pm and then it is time for the second game drive during which there is time for a stop for sundowners and then a return to camp by 7.30pm. Time then to shower-off prior to meeting for pre-dinner drinks followed by a much needed dinner.
I have been to six other game camps over a number of years, an Kicheche is undoubtably the best experience so far. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

In January, we stayed at this camp with a World Vision group. It was an outstanding experience. The staff was terrific and the drivers were tenacious in getting us up close to the magnificent wild life. It was everything that we could have hoped for and we hope to return someday. We would love to share this experience with our friends and family!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Kicheche Bush Camp in December 2012, our first time in the Mara. While we have been on other safaris before, Kicheche Bush camp is a whole different league. Darren and Emma are wonderful hosts who could probably let any guest feel at home. They, and all their staff, go the extra mile for you. The tents are wonderful, luxurious (for a safari) and private with a great view of wildlife just at your doorstep. You have hot showers, freshly brewed coffee, tea and chocolate milk in the morning, how we missed James when we got home....

The amount of wildlife, especially cats, in the area is amazing, and although we were there during the busy Christmas season, we only saw a few other safari vehicles. Our guide, James, was very knowledgable but also had the patience to deal with our energetic 8 year old son. And it was great to have the jeep to ourselves as a family.

Lunch and dinner were always outstanding, the setting of lunch at a big table under the shade of a large tree is gorgeous. The other guests during our stay (all Norwegians by coincidence) were very pleasant company and Darren and Emma made sure that everybody felt at home.

When Darren and Emma heard that we would go on to Diani Beach, they wrote a whole A4 with recommendations, which were all superb! Thank you for the wonderful time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kicheche Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kicheche Bush Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.