We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoenix Safaris' safari and Mara Siria bush camp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Siria Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Siria Camp
C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phoenix Safaris' safari and Mara Siria bush camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friends and I went to a Masai Mara safari with Phoenix Safaris' guide Ambe. The experience was amazing but what really made it even more amazing was the skilled, enthusiastic and jolly guide Ambe. He was a true, dedicated professional in his job. He was always on time when he came to pick us up. The amount of knowledge he had about all the different plant and animal species was incredible and he also knew the scientific names for different species. He could tell hundreds of details about the behavior of different species, their habitats, their what’s and why’s. Especially impressed we were when we were looking at the hippos. When one snorted, Ambe said: “They are very territorial animals. That’s a territory grunt. Soon you will hear the next group grunting back.” And that’s exactly what happened.

What also was heartwarming to notice was that he was truly concerned about the animals and nature. We didn’t go too close to the animals and avoided disturbing them the best we could. If he saw something making the animals uneasy he immediately spotted it and mentioned it. We’ve all worked with animals for years and have a strong background from animal behavior. We could tell he was at least at the same level if not even further in reading the wild animals’ signs.

He could also spot different species from very difficult spots. We were able to see animals and plants we wouldn’t have seen if not for this gifted guide.

Ambe had a good network of colleagues and cooperated with them in order to find interesting animals and things to see. His driving on the roads was conscious and he didn’t take too big risks in the chaotic Kenyan traffic.

We also enjoyed our stay at the Mara Siria camp. The tents were outstanding and the staff was great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.We look forward to give you even better services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    16
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
35
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The Mara Siria Camp has a awsome view from a hill which has to be climbed before. If you can you should take a flight instead of driving for 5 hours offroad. The camp is 30 minutes from the park entreance away and you have to drive a really bad road. Anyway tha camp is a little bit to german you can hear it in any corner but the food, the service is good. The tents are really big but you cant enjoy from anyone of them the beautyful view that you have from the lunch place. Ordering your shower and enjoy it coming from the bucket but be aware the it is limited. The safari cars are good but they could provide some water for the gamedrive. Food and drinks are OK and in the middleclass of what is possible. Enjoy you stay their with a warm welcome

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your honest review ,we look forward to give you even better services next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Mara Siria. We are in our mid-fifties and went with another couple in their late fifties. The other couple had been to the camp a few years ago with their son and daughter-in-law and all had enjoyed themselves immensely. From the moment we arrived we knew this was a special place. The staff greeted us warmly, accommodated our every request, and made our stay most enjoyable. The tents were very spacious and spread out. Our tent was near our friends but far enough away for privacy. The game drives were unforgettable - many elephants, giraffes, lions, cheetahs, antelope, etc. Our guide, Jackson, was very knowledgeable and seemed to know just were to go and how to pace each game drive. The camp provided great boxed lunches for us so that we could stay out in the Mara most of the day. The views from the camp were great and the sounds of the animals in the night was magical. We thought the food was great given the remote location. Zebras and giraffes in the camp! I got up early one day to view the sunrise. Just awesome! Only complaint was that our bed was a bid too firm. We were there for three days and two nights which was just enough. Will probably return in a few years with other friends or family. Would highly recommend paying entry fees online for the Maasai Mara - we had issues with our credits cards which took a while to remedy (this had nothing to do with Mara Siria Camp). Would also recommend flying to the camp over driving. The flight only takes an hour from Wilson airport in Nairobi to the airstrip which is about a 20 minute drive from the camp. February was a great time to be at the camp - days are warm and dry and nights cool, and the camp was not busy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are happy to receive your wonderful feedback after your experience in Mara Siria ,and we look forward to provide even better services and make your stay even more unforgettable .Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went to Mara Siria as a family for two nights as a flying package arranged by Phoenix safaris. We were nicely surprised how good the camp was and we had an excellent weekend away. We stayed in the deluxe tents which were very spacious and nicely decorated with large verandas. The bathrooms were also very spacious. While you have to ask for hot water for showers this gave a feeling of a real safari, and it was very well organized each evening, with water brought at whichever time you liked. This was absolutely no worry and only added to the charm. The service was the highlight—very attentive to each visitor giving it a luxury feeling. The staff were also very child friendly making it easy to visit with a 4 year old. The food was very good; with lunch provide outside, and dinners taken in a very intimate and cozy tent. My personal highlight was the packed breakfasts we were provided with both mornings on our game drive. As a close second in terms of highlights the amazing little plunge pool hidden away as a gem of the bush camp, overlooking the Mara with stunning views. A must to visit one of the hot days in between game drives!

Our safari guide Jackson was excellent and we had stunning game drives each time. He was very calm and focused on finding animals. We all appreciated his calm way of finding the animals and good angles to see them, and we got to see all the animals (aside from leopard and cheetah) in a very natural way. Lots and lots of lions! He took very good care of the rules of the Mara triangle which we think should be commended (i.e. no off-side driving or disturbing the animals unnecessarily during hunting etc).

The only thing for visitors to be prepared for is the slightly bumpy 15-20 min uphill drive from the park main gate up to the Mara Siria. It is a beautiful scenic drive but can get a little long with children. But this is something we quickly got used to and did not take away from the charm of the place. The reward for the climb is of course the beautiful views up from the camp itself. For morning game drives we tried to leave 6 am sharp to get down to the park on time for the sun rise. This was a very nice alternative to the larger lodges we have been in the Mara and we would happily come back.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe tents which are a little further away but very good and new!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Much appreciation for your wonderful review ,we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We went with phoenix safaris and had such a great guide, George. Game drives every day and we got to choose how we wanted to plan our days. The tents are really nice and even though there was no running water in our tent that just increased the feeling of being on an awesome safari. Every night the staff filled our safari shower with nice hot water and afterwords they brought us to the place of dinner which changed from day to day. The food was good but not spectacular. Breakfast was great though with both pancakes, fruit and toast. There were zebras and sometimes giraffes walking arount the camp which was really cool too.

I think this is one of the best hotell experieces I have ever had and the staff was so helpful and nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback ,we look forward to serve you even better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Did a three day, two night package arranged through Phoenix Safari's in Nairobi. This is a very nice tented camp in the Siria escarpment overlooking the Mara Triangle. The views are just fantastic! Just be prepared for the rough road to the camp. Remember, this is just outside the Masai Mara reserve and very rural, no shops, no 7-11's, no night clubs. You are in the bush! The staff at the camp is very friendly and go out of their way to provide full service. We had a deluxe tent that was extremely comfortable and very clean. It was on the edge of the camp so it was beautifully quiet. The rooms/tents do not have electrical outlets, therefore, no blow dryers except the one nature provides...and a towel. The staff will charge laptops, iPhone's, mobiles, ipads, camera batteries, etc. We had an all inclusive package that included three meals daily. The food was good, don't expect gourmet, but we were well pleased. Beer, wine and spirits available at very reasonable prices. Game drives were also included and we saw everything except leopards! Professional guides are very knowledgeable of game and locations. If you take the flying package instead of driving, its only takes 45 mins from Wilson airport, landing on a dirt airfield that sometimes needs clearing of zebras and other game. The drive for the airstrip to the camp is only 15-20 mins. We loved this trip and would go again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were four, 2 couples in two spacy and very comfortable tents, and it was fantastic.
We enjoyed the camp, we enjoyed the staff (Mr Vitalis and practically all his colleagues) and the food including cook and waiters, the view, of course, and the thrilling, really intriguing and glorious safaris. We can heartily recommend the lodge which is beautifully located and taken care of. We will never forget the stay there.
Thank you all so much. Long live the natural marvels of Kenya!

Riva and Ruben Siedner, Tübingen, Germany
mid-November 2013

Room Tip: I think we had No. 3 and 4, and they were great because you could see the fantastic view over the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Siria Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Siria Camp

Address: C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Siria is a specially designed luxury tented bush camp for those travellers who want to experience a true wildlife safari off the beaten track. Mara Siria Camp reverts to the original spirit and to the true meaning of “Safari” by offering individual services and private atmosphere.The camp's location on top of the Siria Escarpment offers an unique and stunning view into the plains of the Maasai Mara Triangle and at the Mara River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Siria Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Siria Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Siria Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Siria Camp to your Saves list