We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Siria Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Siria Camp
C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great safari, amazing staff. Great accommodations and tents, private bathroom in the tent with plenty of clean water. Staff made the safari great and we had an amazing time. I highly recommend. We saw a little of everything on the safari and the open car made a huge difference.

Room Tip: You don't spend much time in tent, so doesn't matter much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    16
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
35
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The camp is not fenced, so animals wander into the camp at will. Over the weekend of 07/06-08/2012 I witnessed zebras and gazelles inside the camp grounds. And giraffes, Thompson's Gazelles, baboons within few hundred yards of the gate along the track/road leading to the camp.

But the most remarkable sight was on the night of the 7th. After a full day on the Mara we were enjoying dessert with the rest of the guests after dinner when the Maasai guides and guards unexpectedly rousted us from our seats, loaded us into the open-sided safari trucks, and drove us to a spot about 300 yards from were we had been enjoying our desserts and drinks.

There, next to a scrub acacia tree in the glare of our head-lights, fourteen lions were eating a freshly killed zebra, probably one of the ones that had earlier been browsing about the camp. We were probably not more than 25-35 feet from the big cats as they feed on the unfortunate beast.

It was, I have no doubt, an experience none of the 25 or so guests will ever forget.

The camp itself is professionally run, with a courteous and efficient, yet friendly staff. They are all Maasai and are an infinite fount of information on the flora and fauna of the Masai Mara and the Siria Escarpment for which the camp is named.

A food, drink, and accommodations are all excellent. Make sure to have a sunrise breakfast from the camp's al fresco dining area. The sight of the sun rising over the Masai Mara from your perch atop the Siria Escarpment, cup of coffee in hand, is one that you will surely savor.

Room Tip: The track up the escarpment is bit rough, but so is every other road within 25 miles. So be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A stunning view awaits you on your arrival which was a welcome surprise after a long and tiring journey from Nairobi.

The tents are beautiful and very comfortable and the staff add nice touches which make the stay very enjoyable. The food is very good and enjoying a drink on the terrace or by the drop pool after a day's safari is recommended. If you are lucky you will even share the camp with the odd zebra or giraffe grazing outside your tent.

Overall a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Tents 11 & 12 have lovely balconies to enjoy the view over the escarpment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

So fantastic - right there in the action. A kadu came right up to our tent.

Beds were comfortable and the food was good. Everyone ate together around the table as it was a small place, really good to discuss everyone's stories over dinner.

Staff were fabulous as well - we had a massai staff member walk us to our tent every night as we were in the wild.

Definitely recommend and it has the most amazing view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our 2-night-stay at Mara Siria at the beginning of February 2012 was a wonderful experience – it really deserves the title “A Camp with a View”. Not only during breakfast and lunch can one enjoy the gorgeous view from the escarpment into the plains of the Masai Mara, a sundowner on the scenic platform is a must! The excellent 4x4 vehicles are perfect for game viewing and our guide was very knowledgeable. The staff proved to be extremely hospitable and helpful. The spacious tents were practically equipped and tastefully decorated. Considering our accommodation was in one of nature’s most secluded corners, the place was kept clean and tidy and the food was delicious. The only downside of being in this beautiful, quiet and relaxing place where one can still get a feeling of wilderness is the fact that the road from and to the game drives and Kichwa airstrip is rough and therefore takes time. But that was an easy price to pay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Excellent resort with friendly staff, good food, perfect safaris, perfect tents and perfect view to endless horizon. Hard to get there by own car (like we did) but this place is worth of visiting.

I travelled here January 2007 (this web review did not allow me to add the right time to my trip :( )

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful relaxing stay over New Years Eve! The tents are lovely and spacious and very clean. Tents are not too close to each other, one is not at all disturbed by neighbors.
The tents do have electrical lights (powered by solar) for the early morning and nights, but no power for hair dryer or razors and such. If you need to recharge camera or other electronics the staff will do that for you in the office. Just don't leave it there when you check-out! Happened to me, but thanks to the very attentive managers John and Vitalis in the camp and their associated travel office in Nairobi I got it sent home!
In the camp you are dependent on the very nice and friendly staff, as you are not supposed to walk on your own after nightfall over the absolutely beautiful grounds of the camp. Beware of little and not so little critters... But it is never a problem or a nuisance. The staff really wants to please their guests and it is never awkward to ask for hot shower water or help to go to your tent or for the dinner tent.
Our safari guide Paul was absolutely great: very knowledgeable and patient with the three semi professional photographers in our group. Got to see lots and lots of wildlife and great landscape. Safaris are scheduled at the guests requests and are included in the packages. Prices for the entire stay are fair, but not necessarily a bargain. Keep in mind that you have to add US$80 per person per day for entrance fees into the park! And you better bring that in cash, as the credit card machine (Visa only) doesn't always work.
If I'd go again I would probably book the driving package, as the flight schedule is somewhat unreliable.
Only negative about the camp is that they were not able to accommodate the pescetarian (vegetarian eating fish, dairy and eggs) request we made long time before arriving. The African cuisine is not that exciting, so don't go for the gourmet experience, but you certainly won't starve and the food is tasty. Absolutely great were the breakfast boxes we got on our safaris.
Overall: great place to stay, definetly would go again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Siria Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Siria Camp

Address: C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Siria is a specially designed luxury tented bush camp for those travellers who want to experience a true wildlife safari off the beaten track. Mara Siria Camp reverts to the original spirit and to the true meaning of “Safari” by offering individual services and private atmosphere.The camp's location on top of the Siria Escarpment offers an unique and stunning view into the plains of the Maasai Mara Triangle and at the Mara River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Siria Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Siria Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Siria Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Siria Camp to your Saves list