We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mara Siria at the top of the escarpment overlooking the Mara Triangle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Siria Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Siria Camp
Save Saved
You added Mara Siria Camp to your Saves list
C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Mara Siria at the top of the escarpment overlooking the Mara Triangle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I'm a repeat visitor and was thrilled with the genuine welcome from the friendly faces I remember so well from my previous visit with my daughter. It was truly a homecoming. The contrast with the big impersonal 'posh' lodges couldn't be more complete. Yet there is nothing lacking in the comfort of the tents, the quality of the food, and the expertise of the tour guides. Being outside the boundary of the park means you can have an early morning walk - I saw plenty of game while on foot with a local guide. This is a great place to interact with nature, and with people on the ground.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
37
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

If you want the best safari guide, get Daniel.
25 liters of hot water for your shower, but you can get it whenever you want it.
Tent 13 &14 have the best view in the camp.
Owned by incredibly nice Germans.

Room Tip: Tent 13 & 14 have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I just returned from a 2 day masai mara safari to Mara Siria. A couple highlights to point out:

1. Camp is on TOP of the escarpment (for those who haven't been there, the 'escarpment' is a 500ft high ridge that runs the length of the park. Camps/lodges are either on top of the escarpment, or down on the plain level next to the park.

Being on top offers some cool advantages - you get magnificent views of the vastness of this beautiful place. It's out of the way, and you feel like you're truly with nature, enjoying the natural beauty, unencumbered by any modern fixations.

Being on top also has some disadvantages - you have a +25 minute ROUGH ride to get down to the park to start your safari, or back to the camp after a long bumpy safari ride. In total, every dame drive takes an hour longer if you're on top.

2. This camp has both tents and a few hard-side bungalows. Clarify which one you're getting (if you have a preference.

3. No real running water - if this bthers you, make sure you take note. You have to give some notice if you want a hot shower, but it is available.

4. Food - most packages are inclusive. The food is good, usually there's some fun salads, and a starch/meat as the main. The staff kind of shares the duties, but they are generally attentive, and I've found they're amazing and remembering who you are, and what your name is.

5. Game drives - NOTE: ON TOP OF ESCARPMENT - long trip to the park. However, the guides are as good as any camps, in fact, one of the guides made what I consider to be an "EXTRAORDINARY EFFORT" to get us on to some lions/cheetahs. These guys love what they do, and they get excited when they see cool stuff, just like you will. Yesterday, we found a lion lounging in the top of a tree - he was taking pictures while we were. It was amazing, by the way...

6. Service & overall care: They make a good effort to make you comfortable, but I remind you: This is a tented camp, not a resort! Make sure you know that this is what you want.

Summary: I loved it, I really had a good time. The price cannot be beat, and at the end of the day, I felt like I had a great experience and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify what you want -they have tents AND hard-side bungalows. All rooms have toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Location superb and staff hospitable, but poor attention to important details of basic comfort that are easily rectified. Beds and bedding most uncomfortable (making for a bad night's sleep); crockery shoddy; and food sloppily prepared and presented.

Nevertheless, overall I would not have missed the opportunity - staff provided excellent game drives, are well informed and well connected so saw a great deal, and some very rare sightings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We recently stayed for 3 nights and had a truly wonderful time. The kids (age 4 and 6) had space to run around safely and were happily tolerated and entertained by camp staff, and my elderly mother was treated with enormous respect and helpfulness. The tiny, yet amazingly located swimming pool on the edge of the escarpment is a welcome addition to down-time in between game drives. We were able to squeeze a child's bike into the back of the Safari Minibus supplied by Phoenix and they have 2 bikes at the camp for use as well as guided walks etc.
The tents were very comfortable and I think they all have lovely views. The spacing in between them was good so I did not have to worry about my children's noise interfering with other guests. The organisation at the camp was excellent and we were met at the end of each drive by the camp manager who by walkie-talkie would organise hot water for the bush showers promptly and exactly when required. It would be a nice addition if a bowl of hot water could be arranged first thing in the morning for face washing! The food was good, although for the short duration of our stay, it was repetitive and nothing out of the ordinary. The bees at the breakfast table were annoying. Sundowners on the deck overlooking that view were magic!
The service from everyone at the camp was efficient, friendly and truly fantastic.
As I found this information difficult to establish myself I thought I would mention more details about the exact location: the camp is located on the top of the ridge just behind Kitchwa Tembo camp outside the park. It is only about a 6 - 7km drive from Oloololo Gate, but can take about 20 minutes to drive due to the bumpy ride down/up the hill. The drive to the park after Narok is the worst road I have ever driven on in my life and the last 80 km's take approximately 3 hours. We were told we could not stop for a rest from the exhausting bumps as the area is owned by Masaai and to have stopped would mean we were now "game driving" and not merely transitting and thereby a fee would need to be paid. And we were not given the option.
Obviously the Mara Triangle itself presented a truly wonderful game viewing experience itself, and your game drive starts right from near the camp as giraffe, impalla, zebra etc are abundant all the way to the gate. It was disappointing to notice that the drivers from the camp were amongst those breaking rules from time to time about numbers of vehicles at a specific sighting and going off-road. But it wasn't common, and the Mara Triangle rangers seemed to be everywhere making sure the rules set in place to protect this beautiful place, are enforced. We were able to take 2 shorter game drives during the day, or take a tasty packed picnic lunch and go for a full day drive right down to the Tanzanian border. Truly spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Mara Siria Luxury Tented Bush Camp - I guess you need to wonder about somewhere that feels the need to put the word "luxury" into its name. It is certainly not luxurious.
The tents are fine and the position is truly spectacular.
The camp lets itself down with its food, which is poor, and the service, which is adequate but no better. Of course things are difficult when you are as isolated as Mara Siria, but lots of other places manage to do much better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Mara Siria Camp is in a perfect location on the western escarpment over looking the Masai Mara with 14 luxury tents spaced out across the campsite. If you can go for the double rooms as they are bigger tents than the twins. Staff are very friendly but the service is slow and the food is not bad but would of expected more for the price. The great thing about the camp is that it is not fenced off so animals are free to roam about.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Siria Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Siria Camp

Address: C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Siria is a specially designed luxury tented bush camp for those travellers who want to experience a true wildlife safari off the beaten track. Mara Siria Camp reverts to the original spirit and to the true meaning of “Safari” by offering individual services and private atmosphere.The camp's location on top of the Siria Escarpment offers an unique and stunning view into the plains of the Maasai Mara Triangle and at the Mara River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Siria Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Siria Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Siria Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.