We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Siria Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Siria Camp
Save
You added Mara Siria Camp to your Saves list
C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Mara Siria Camp is in a perfect location on the western escarpment over looking the Masai Mara with 14 luxury tents spaced out across the campsite. If you can go for the double rooms as they are bigger tents than the twins. Staff are very friendly but the service is slow and the food is not bad but would of expected more for the price. The great thing about the camp is that it is not fenced off so animals are free to roam about.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    18
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
40
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Excellent food, excellent service and excellent accomodation! Just so beautiful place that no words can describe. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011 via mobile

Luxury living without fencing or running water - à very nice place

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I had the chance to go to Mara Siria for a couple of days and the entire experience was nothing less that what I was told and expected!

The location of the camp is just great with a view second to none! Sun rises and sun sets are incredible as the staff working inside the camp.

Perhaps the food was not as good as the rest of the camp but we are not complaining either on this respect!

I definitely recommend others to spend 2/3 nights at Mara Siria to have an authentic experience of the Mara and the Maasai culture.

Rgds,

WLSA

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Recently returned from a stay at the Mara Siria. I like quiet small places and sought this out after realising that so many lodges and camps on the Mara catered for very large numbers of people whilst this only had a dozen tents/rooms. It turned out to be perfect for me - quiet, great atmosphere and wonderful views of the Mara. The tents are excellent - simple but beautiful and roomy; well spaced so you feel on your own at your tent.
Staff were excellent - Joel and his team provided good quitely efficient camp management, Moses was a font of knowledge both on local customs and the flora around the camp. Frances our driver enhanced my personal experience with his knowledge of bird life.
I really liked the atmosphere and despite others comments I did find that I could wander around on my own with my binoculars, although for longer walks they did insist that you take a member of staff with you.
The only drawback for me was that despite being off season there was a fair number of vehicles in the reserve. I think that this is a result of Kenya's success with tourism and particularly the Mara, and there are many camps and lodges around this part of the Mara. However we did see an amazing amount of wildlife. Seeing the wildebeest migration I am sure is spectacular but for me it was good to be there off season and relatively quieter.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Just got back from a trip to Mara Siria with my two young sons (age 6 and 8), their teenaged cousins (15 and 16) and my aunt and uncle. All four generations found the trip to be astounding. The location is breathtaking--sitting on the bench at the edge of the camp, looking down onto the Mara from the top of the escarpment, I felt like the whole world was laid out before me. The gentle staff were extremely considerate and good-natured, and our Masai guide Moses, who took us on a two-hour hike down into the valley, was a font of knowledge about local plants and animals. Our driver, John, was an experienced professional who took us on game drives where we saw lions, elephants, giraffes, hippos, hyenas, ostriches, vultures, buffalo, warthogs, gazelles, and a cheetah, all up close and personal. The tents were clean and comfortable, the food was expertly prepared, and the grounds of the camp are thoughtfully tended without feeling over-manicured. I can't imagine a better place to experience the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Mara Siria offers unparalleled views over the Masai Mara for breakfast, but there are aspects of the camp that offer room for improvement. As other reviewers have mentioned, the regime at the camp expects clients to follow a fairly rigid schedule. It's not the sort of place where you can stroll down for a sundowner, or wander about with a camera.

In part, this is due to the boneheadedness of previous guests who have managed to wander clean out of the camp's boundaries to find themselves face to face with elephants but it would perhaps be nice if there was a more relaxed atmosphere in camp.

The food is good, without being exceptional, but again it's worth remembering that you're a long way out in the bush. The opportunity for watching wildlife from the camp itself is limited as there's no adjacent watering hole. A baby eland frequents the site but that's about it.

I'd recommend the camp but were I travelling again, I'd personally look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Only one of the large tents has a view of theMara
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Siria Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Siria Camp

Address: C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Siria is a specially designed luxury tented bush camp for those travellers who want to experience a true wildlife safari off the beaten track. Mara Siria Camp reverts to the original spirit and to the true meaning of “Safari” by offering individual services and private atmosphere.The camp's location on top of the Siria Escarpment offers an unique and stunning view into the plains of the Maasai Mara Triangle and at the Mara River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Siria Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Siria Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Siria Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.