We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Cottar's safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottar's 1920's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottar's 1920's Camp
Save
You added Cottar's 1920's Camp to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Olderkesi Private Reserve | P.O. Box 44191 Nairobi Kenya, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Cottar's safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was truly a once in a lifetime experience and the entire staff at Cottar's made sure my experience was flawless. Everything was over the top - the rooms in the main lodge, the food, the guides and spotters, the sundowners with bitings, and of course, the real reason for the trip, the daily excursions to see the beautiful animals up close and personal - first rate all the way. I would go back in a heartbeat.
Ed Smith
Houston, Texas

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge - all 5 rooms were very large, with nice cross ventilation, comfortable beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920's Camp, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Ed S, thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your safari to cottars! karibu sana for another visit! Cheers, calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
83
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Cottar's Camp more than exceeded our expectations. It was a trip and experience of a lifetime! Scenery is spectacular, saw all of the wildlife with the exception of the wildebeests (who were on migration) and the rhinos. It was truly amazing. And our guides, especially the one I was with the most, G. G., knew and explained all about the animals so vividly. The food was delicious, most of it fresh and picked right from their gardens prepared expertly and served equally as well. Best of all were the people at Cottar's - friendly, warm, always smiling, eager to fulfill every expectation - who made the trip exceptional. Highly recommend Cottar's. BTW, we were a party of 10 and all stayed at the Cottar's Homestead. This was one of my favorite vacations.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the second floor and had a balcony with a terrific view; also close to the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920's Camp, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Billie B , we appreciate your wonderful post on your trip to cottars, and for particularly pointing out the fantastic staff at camp! They are a special team, and we are very honored to have them all with us! Also your comments about staying in the house.. Thank you...Next time you come out, our new big swimming pool at the house will be ready! Cheers, calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at Cottars for 6 nights in January as part of the first week of our honeymoon. We had the honeymoon tent - which was a tent in the loosest sense of the word! It was huge with a four poster bed, armchairs, dining table for two, separate bathroom area with flushing toilet and hot shower - glamping at its very best! We had a lovely tent porter called Isaac, who would wake us up each morning for the game drives by bringing us coffee.
The game drives were sensational - our guide Ken and spotter Salash we outstanding - we saw the big 5 in the first two days of our trip - plus so many more animals including giraffe, elephants, cheetahs, zebras, baboons, crocodiles, snakes etc. And we managed to get within touching distance of them all - which is utterly brilliant if you're a keen photographer! It was low season so there was basically no one else around - we had the Mara to ourselves! Every morning a breakfast would be packed in to the back of the jeep and we'd eat by the river or under a tree with stunning views - absolute bliss. One morning Cottars prepared an original 1920s breakfast for us in a beautiful clearing in a forest area - we sat at a table with linen table cloth and served pancakes, eggs, bacon, cereal and tea and coffee - utterly brilliant! Lunch and dinner are both of a high standard and really tasty.
On our last day we went on a walking safari to a waterfall where we swam and caught catfish on fishing lines made out of sticks and twine! Lots of fun and interesting to get a different safari perspective on foot.
There is also the option to have massages and hot canvas baths outside your tents - we did both and can highly recommend them!
The only slight gripe we had was the communication error about paying for alcoholic drinks - which we were offered readily for 2 days, only to be told half way through the stay that actually we had to pay for them. The management had been having some teething problems with new policies and they hadn't been fed through properly to various booking agencies - however the management sorted it out for us and in the end we didn't pay - but I would suggest checking with your booking agency before you go.
Overall I would definitely recommend this camp - it was an amazing start to our honeymoon and we made memories that will be with us forever.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920's Camp, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
JV, fantastic feedback, thank you.. Your observations on wifi not working and drinks being under a new policy are taken on board and perfectly valid.. Wi if we are now sorting out with a new internet provider which will hopefully be in place by end of march..We have indeed got two drinks options for our guests whereby you can book your stay with drinks included in the price (as before), or you can have an option whereby drinks you consume are noted down every day and you simply pay for them at the end of your stay. This may save you money - or not depending on your drink flow rate! Either way, management are fully on top of it now and such confusions around charging for drinks should not reoccur ! Thanks again for your support and let us know when you head back to cottars! calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

3rd visit to Kenya and the 3rd time at Cottars. We feel like family as most of the staff were there when we visited the first time 3 years ago.

We saw all the big 5 in our first 3 days including leopards (3 sightings), a black rhino, uncountable elephants and buffalo and numerous lions (20 in one morning)! Even had 2 baby lions wrestling in the grass while mum and dad tucked into a buffalo.

The tents are excellent, clean and plenty of hot water for showers. The views across the Mara and Serengeti were amazing from our tent.

GG, our guide, organised everything from meals to our daily schedule around what we wanted to
do. This place is world class. Go!

Room Tip: If you want the best views of the Serengeti and Mara the smaller tents are better than the family on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920's Camp, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Donsnut, fantastically enthusiastic post..Thank you, your loyalty and repeat visits mean a lot to us! Let us know before you come for your 4 th ! Calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Looking for that 'Out of Africa' vibe with perfect tents and furnishings right out of a Ralph Lauren commercial...with great food and nice people...oh and the chance to see an insane amount of animals including ALL but a rhino? Cottar's is the place. I would HIGHLY recommend it. The scenery is incredible and the guides show you the best of all possible animals. They made this one of my favorite vacations ever. Worth every penny.

Tip - opt for more of the veggie entrees at lunch and dinner-=they're really good. They also make a perfect gin & tonic. On your way out, splurge and charter a plane. The runway is 5 minutes and you get your own pilot!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from main tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920's Camp, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Jamesk, thank you so much for your support! Calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is by far the best wildlife camp i have covered in Africa (including South Africa, Tanzania, Kenya).
The luxury tents are superb. They offer you the perfect mix between living in the wild and ample luxury.

Room Tip: You won't go wrong if you choose this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920's Camp, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you prateekBhargava for your extremely positive post about your trip to cottars, especially considering your wide experience traveling in Africa! We are feel very honored.

Calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

In September we spent 3 nights at Cottars.We are fairly seasoned travellers but the experience of being at Cottars was world class.The game, the food, the staff , the guides and the Cottar family all combine beautifully to create a very rare experience where we felt we were in a completely different era.Everything was very understated and authentic which genuinely created an experience for us and not just a tour.I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvincottar, Owner at Cottar's 1920's Camp, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Sallyann, ache oling! Your support means the world to all of us in the cottar family ( which includes our wonderful staff!) calvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cottar's 1920's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottar's 1920's Camp

Address: Olderkesi Private Reserve | P.O. Box 44191 Nairobi Kenya, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cottar's 1920's Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottar Safari tradition began in 1919. Nearly 90 years on, we continue to provide an unparalleled safari experience to discerning clients in Africa. Extending an era of luxury and quality, we return to the original spirit and essence of "safari", reminiscent of a golden era; an era of romance, professional guiding, adventure and elegance. Situated in the Masai Mara, in an untouched exclusive concession bordering the Serengeti and Loliondo reserves, the area guarantees privacy and an abundance of wildlife. The camp accommodates up to 28 guests in authentic white canvas tents, which are spacious and luxuriously furnished. The Cottar's Homestead is a private villa with 5 en suite bedrooms, amazing views and private chef and guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottar`s Camp 1920`s Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Cottar's 1920's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottar's 1920's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.