We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Mara trip couldn't have been better!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilima Camp

Save Saved
You added Kilima Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilima Camp
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Mara trip couldn't have been better!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Kilima Camp for three nights in January 2014. The first thing to say is WOW..!!..Arriving at Kichwa Tembo airstrip at stepping of into the wonderful warmth of the Mara plains we were greeted by our lodges driver and cold drinks (to be paid for ;-/) a short intro game drive saw us at the camp high on the escarpment above the Ololooloo park gate. At 1700m ASL it meant that the temperatures were cooler resulting great nights sleep (except when the Zebra herds were using the tent to scratch themselves...amazing) and no Mozzies..!!..The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful, with my girlfriend especially liking returning to hot water bottles in bed every night..!!.. the food was amazing, despite a set menu, culinary tastes and dietary requirements were considered at every turn. We stayed in one of their new classic tents which despite a little more space are almost identical to the deluxe with hot running water, shower and flushing toilets....game a drive were an privilege to be part of, passing herds of Elephant watching Cheetah, stalk and kill with experienced drivers and guides the big five were all seen here...Could not recommend more..!!..will be back...Flying is a must and so is their sunset baths in the spa..!!

Room Tip: Classic perfect for most people, just as good as any deluxe we saw and priced better as well. At 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    27
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
82
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with the family. We stayed in a family deluxe tent. The tents are VERY spacious and tastefully decorated. The veranda was also beautiful and perfect for relaxing in the morning and in between game drives. You have a beautiful view of the Mara.

The staff at the lodge is amazing. Very accommodating and very friendly, the food is also really good with nice variety.

The camp is about 20 minutes drive from the gate to the park but we even saw giraffes and zebra's roaming around in the camp itself.

Perfect stay!

Room Tip: If you can, spend the extra money to get a deluxe tent. They're just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, best staff I have ever stayed with. Paul made sure we were happy and James always found all of the greatest animal sites. All of the staff was always on hand for any needs. We were even escorted back to our tents every evening. The deluxe tent we stayed in rivaled any five star hotel. The chef prepared very tasty dishes and even vegetarian meals for a couple of our party. I would highly recommend them to anyone!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Kilima Camps seems a bit at odds with itself. when did you last stay in a canvas tent with a glass wall? This very smart camp offers a variety of tent lodgings and the ones we saw (a regular and a luxury) were both quite wonderful although they are so well equipped (many electrical outlets, bedside lamps, dual sink bathrooms) that one thinks more of a luxury hotel suite than a "tent". The service is outstanding and Paul, the manager, is very attentive to guest needs ('tho the place was not crowded when we were there and perhaps it was not so difficult for him to see to our needs in a low season).
The views from the escarpment on which Kilima Camp sits are astounding and the service could not be better. We found the domed plate covers at dinner a bit much (a piece of chicken doesn't ordinarily merit that treatment in our view) but all in all the food was good and well-presented.
This is a first-class national camp lodging and deserves the high ratings it already has.

Room Tip: Mamba, which is farthest from the dining/reception area, is a wonderful luxury tent and affords one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were a group of seven ranging from my 6 year old daughter to my 76 year old mother. Non English speaking parents in law and the dreaded Kenya cowboy!!
The staff managed to memorize our names after the first introduction and were able to give us two fantastic nights with exceptional service. I don't believe that there could be a more difficult group than ours. Kudos to Paul the Barman and our Driver Martin. Fantastic value for money.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Upon arrival with my girlfriend at the local private airstrip within the Mara, we were very warmly welcomed by Martin who turned out to be our gamedriver for the rest of our stay at Kilima Camp. The short drive up the hill, being welcomed by the elephants, giraffes and other animals on the way served as introduction for this Disney like experience. The Kilima team welcomed us with a nice drink (I thought they drugged us up when seeing the incredible view !!). We were escorted by a safety guard to tent number 1, called Simba to complete the story. The tent is incredibly beautiful and has an amazing view over the Mara Triangle (believe me, the view is more incredible than the pictures on the website). Anyone would love the experience of hearing lions and elephants throughout the night, its part of the experience at Kilima. Martin, our game driver is probably the most respected guide around in the park so if you can please ask for him. He has a lot of knowledge, will wake up at 5.30am for a drive if you want him to. He has great humour and last but not least, the man can probably spot a fly in a mosquitoes mouth from a mile away. He made the game drives so worthwhile! The rest of the team at the camp are amazing as well, from Vestus the safety guard (always there to explain things about animals and vegetation / even if that involves teasing my girlfriend with chameleons (well done Vestus, she deserved it)), the Masai guards (special thanks to Joshua for the amazing nature walk) to the amazing chef (with special meal preparations for my girlfriend). Oh yeah, food is very good as well, great chef.

In the end, leaving Kilima Camp was like the ending of the Lion King, sad but happy to see that it goes on.

All in all, the team, location and the game drives made this experience absolutely unforgettable, probably the best place you could choose for an amazing and more intimate visit to the Mara. We absolutely loved it!!!

Room Tip: Simba, room number 1. The best standard tent in the Camp, but really looks like a deluxe. The room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Landed on a airstrip made of red soil , late morning and had a range rover from Kilima waiting to receive us. The great thing about masai mara is that you get down from the aircraft and look around and you see exotic animals like the zebra, antelopes and the giraffe all around. Almost surreal!! Kilima camp is vey well located and you can see a large stretch of the masai mara from your room and the lounge. Amazing staff - professional yet friendly, watchful yet non intrusive . The tents were really nice too. We stayed in the classic tent , which pretty much had all the amenities one would look for but what a setting and what ambience !! But the best part were the game drives - really good driver cum guide - very knowledgable and made sure that we saw animals in amazing setting - a lion on a tree, 3 cheetahs together, lioness with cubs and I can go on.I am thinking of going back to watch the migration next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilima Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilima Camp 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Camp is a small and intimate eco-friendly tented camp with a stunning view over the Mara rive and the Masai Mara Reserve.Like all our standard tents, our two new Deluxe tents benefit from fantastic and unspoiled views!We offer excellent game viewing in the Mara Triangle with our 4x4 vehicle and our qualified and experienced guides. Being this close to nature , with panoramic views of the Masai Mara, we guarantee you that you will see amazing wildlife ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kilima Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kilima Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilima Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.