We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Kilima Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilima Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kilima Camp to your Saves list
Kilima Camp
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience at Kilima Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent five days at the end of October 2013 as part of a family group of 9, ages ranging from 7 to 79 years and we all enjoyed an experience of a lifetime. No two days were the same and saw some amazing wildlife every day. Everything about Kilima camp is good with an incredible setting overlooking the Masai Mara. All the staff were friendly and very helpful - they accommodated the needs of a large family group very comfortably and with a smile. Security is taken care of by Masai warriors and trained guards; not that this seemed to be a problem, but reassuring nonetheless.
The game drives were wonderful, some days as an all-day drive (including a picnic in the park), others as a dawn drive, followed by a leisurely late breakfast and an afternoon drive until dusk. The game drives were in fantastic spacious and comfortable specially adapted all-terrain vehicles with open sides - Probably the best game drive vehicles we saw anywhere in the park. Martin, our guide, was excellent - he had an amazing skill at spotting animals that were mere dots in the horizon that we only saw when we were very close. Martin, like the other drivers, was a very careful driver, attentive, patient and knowledgeable. He took care to position the vehicle for the best views and photos, without being intrusive to the animals.
We stayed in the deluxe tents, which were just like the photos on their website; very spacious and well serviced (with a very welcome hot water bottle in our beds, for those chilly evenings!) The restaurant and bar area are in a central open-plan lodge with incredible views over the Masai Mara - perfect for a sundowner after a great game drive. A great experience for all the family; thank you Kilima Camp for everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    32
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
99
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Everything about Kilima was outstanding. The staff were all very welcoming, the service they provided was probably the best we have ever experienced. The 'tent' was very comfortable with an amazing view over the Mara. We started off in a new classic to which had hot water and electrical points. Much to our surprise, we were asked if we would like to upgrade after our first night. We were one of only two couples and I guess they thought why leave the luxury tents empty if no one is using them. Needless to say the luxury tent was even better than the new classic. The food was superb and varied. Our safari guide, Martin, was the cherry on the cake. I know that a lot of what you see is down to luck but I am sure that martins experience and knowledge helped enormously. He was also very friendly and listened to our requests. I think that Kilima should advertise the fact that they don't get Mosquitos due to being so high up. This was a real bonus for me since I usually get covered in bites. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: I think some of the standard rooms have solar heated showers so if you did want a shower in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went to the Mara just at the end of the low season so it wasnt too busy. I live in kenya and usually go camping but decided to go for a nice trip instead and it was so nice!

Beds were amazing, the hot water bottles - wow, just wow! Food was great and with kind staff, esp camp manager (cant remember his name, pole!) but he was so great. really proud of his camp.

Saw a leopard outside the camp when we arrived too, amazing!

i think the place was made by its friendliness and dedication to detail.

We went to the big hotel in the park (serena) and i just thought to myself 'who would want to stay here over someone as nice as Kilima!' it was big, impersonable and had health and safety stickers everywhere!

I reccomend it 100% (in fact, hoping to book again soon!!)

Katharine

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited Kilima Camp for 3 days in August 2013 - all I can say that it was amazing! The welcome and hospitality were first class from the moment we stepped off the plane until the moment we stepped back on to leave. The people were all very welcoming and did everything possible to make the stay the best possible. The food was outstanding, a fantastic wine list and comfortable surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble. Felt very safe and secure with security guards and Masai warriors patrolling all night to make sure you don't get surprised by the animals! There were zebras and baboons wandering by all the times, zebras right by the tent at night, but totally safe. Peter our safari guide was excellent, well trained, very experienced and looked after us brilliantly.
I can't recommend Kilima Camp highly enough. We were a family of 8 (from 11 years to 49 years) and it was perfect for all of us. There was a fantastic open 8 seater land rover with high and excellent views on safari, when most other people we saw were in small enclosed people carriers.
We saw lots of wildlife and the wildebeest crossing - amazing!
Thank you to Kilima Camp, and everyone there - special mention for Tom, Paul and Peter.
We look forward to our next visit!
The Randalls

Room Tip: they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I must admit that the camp is beautifully located on the hills overlooking the famous Mara river, that's to start. It is very well kept, the new tents are elegant and comfortable, the service is mostly on its best (we were warmly welcomed by the camp manager, Monica, and at night we had a hot water bottle waiting for us in the bed, that was nice).

What we didn't like, was that we had no hot water in our tent - and this is kind of crazy when you think about the significant sum you're paying per night! Of course the manager said sorry about their solar panels that didn't work that day, but in my opinion a camp that is pretending to be a luxury one MUST have a backup solution.

Other thing we didn't appreciate - we ordered a small bottle of wine for dinner and we were very clear about the size, there was no room for a misunderstanding. As they didn't have the small ones they brought a regular bottle (without asking us whether we accept it) and the waiter was about to open it and serve us. That was not really classy!

The overall experience was fine, but I wouldn't say that it was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Kilima for three nights at the end of July. The camp enjoys a unique location, a few miles from the national park, on the top of an escarpment overlooking the Mara, with breathtaking views of the river and surrounding savannah. Dawn and sunset were particularly spectacular, though the views were attractive at all times. The camp is very well run, neatly laid out and clean. Personable, helpful staff for whom nothing seems to be too much trouble - even an unreliable computer connexion. The tents are large and well proportioned - our first experience of 'glamping'. Food, including the picnic lunches, was fine and always carefully presented. The game drives were beyond our expectation - saw everything and more than we had imagined; lots of (positive) heart-stopping moments, including rhino and calf passing within a few feet, a lioness and cub close enough to hear the cub mewing and the lioness panting, 'trekking' with wildebeast and zebras, and being surrounded by elephants and giraffes ... and much, much more. Probably invidious to mention any one individual, but our guide was Martin who seemed able to conjure one spectacular moment after another - cannot commend him (or Kilima for that matter) too highly. An experience of a lifetime. Colin & Beth.

Room Tip: Ask for Martin as your game guide/driver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in Kilima for our 2nd stay in this camp in two years and we have to say the magie is on! The atmosphere of Kilima camp is as nowhere else (and we have done a few). The view over the Mara and the Mara river is breathtaking, the fire place, the bar and the restaurant create such a warm and friendly atmosphere. The food is of extremely good quality and the service is personalised with a particular attention to details and that what makes it really different from other places. We stayed in a deluxe tent which is decorated with local artworks and gives a very romantic feeling. Our guide and driver Martin is one of the best guides in Mara and thanks to him in one day we saw, among the "usual suspects" of Mara, lions, cheetahs and even a leopard after a patient track with all the useful explanations about the wildlife while we were searching for predators.
Thanks to all Kilima staff for making our stay a memorable one. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
19.2 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#76 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#26 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilima Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Camp is a small and intimate eco-friendly tented camp with a stunning view over the Mara rive and the Masai Mara Reserve.Like all our standard tents, our two new Deluxe tents benefit from fantastic and unspoiled views!We offer excellent game viewing in the Mara Triangle with our 4x4 vehicle and our qualified and experienced guides. Being this close to nature , with panoramic views of the Masai Mara, we guarantee you that you will see amazing wildlife ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kilima Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kilima Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilima Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.