We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, amazing view !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mpata Safari Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mpata Safari Club
C14 | Keekorok, Kenya (Masai Mara Reserve), Maasai Mara National Reserve 58402-00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, amazing view !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This lodge was not my first preference since I had read a lot about Mara Serena and wanted to book there but no rooms were available. Having visited Masai Mara and also visited Mara Serena, I will still recommend Serena because of its location and premises.
This lodge can be a good alternate to Serena. The lodge is located outside the park near the Mara Triangle area and about 10 - 12 kms from the Masai Mara park gate, 9kms of which is the road up the hill. The distance is both a advantage and a disadvantage. The advanatge is the amazing view from the lodge on top of the hill from where one can see the mara river. The disadvantage is the travel time to the park, almost 20 mins more than if one was staying near the park gate.
Coming to the plus of the lodge. food is good, the accommodation in the form of cottages is very spacious and the amazingly manicured landscape of the lodge with some very exotic plants is very unique to the lodge. The service is very good, both by the relationship executive and the restaurant staff. Power is turned off in the lodge from 11pm - 5am in the night and torches are provided for the night, the lodges way of conserving energy.
A jacuzzi is built in from of the lodges giving an amazing view of the mara river down below but we did not use it since it is operational only from 5pm - 11pm and at that time in August it was usually cold for us.
Overall a good lodge to stay in Masai Mara, majorly visited by japanese tourists.

Room Tip: Cottages with Jacuzzi are more spacious with better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hants UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I totally agree with previous reviewers who have commented on the time wasted repeatedly driving the rough road to and from the Mara reserve gate (30 min, so 2hrs a day of you do 2 game drives). Food OK - pretentiously described but not accurately - lost its way somehow. We have stayed at many other safari lodges, tented camps, bandas etc, and this had the worst food, together with the least atmosphere. The view is amazing, but that's there anyway. The building, decor and furnishings are totally out of keeping with the environment and there was a strong feeling for us that we left Africa at the door when we went inside. Would not recommend to anyone unless, as was the case for us, it is the only place which can offer a room at 36 hrs notice!
Local staff are the only 5* feature.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family and I, including 2 kids aged 5 and 2, stayed at Mpata at the end of July for 2 nights. This is the 5th time I had been to the Mara and stayed at a variety of lodges over the years. My overall impression of Mpata was favourable with one exception which I will get to later. The rooms were good, I wouldn’t say there were exceptional based on the other lodges. They certainly weren’t as good as the rooms at the Mara Serena for example. We were in a suite which had a Jacuzzi but the power is off from 1030am-430pm and that’s they only time you are in the lodge due to game drives, so we didn’t really get an opportunity to sample it. The service in general was very good and the guest relation managers were very responsive to any need that you may have. They had a nice touch in that they placed hot water bottles in your bed on cold nights, and the nights can get cold in the Mara. The food was good, I wouldn’t say it was exceptional, but definitely good.

My only beef with the lodge, which I communicated to the guest relations, was the pressure they placed on their drivers to return to the lodge by 9am for breakfast. Their breakfast hours are 8am-930am and so they got everyone back to the lodge by 9am. I suggested to them that because of their location, which is 30 minutes outside the park on the rockiest road in the Mara, they really should extend their breakfast hours to 1030am. This leaves people more time to have a decent game drive in the morning. They leave at 6am but by the time you are in the park, its 630-635, and then they head out by 830am to get you back by 9am. So your game drive in the park is less than 2 hours. This results in the drivers/spotters tending to keep to areas close to the lodge and also not wanting to keep you there to observe game, and instead opt to have a “spot and shoot” (picture) mode. In my opinion, I am at the Mara, not for the photos, but to observe wildlife and to spend some time staring at a herd of elephants and noting how they interact. That’s the fun. Pictures are great, but I can get them from postcards as well. If you compare the hours to lodges or camps in the park, they would leave at 615-630am and return at 915-930am. The difference being, all 3 hours are in the park and you are likely to see a kill for example just around the corner from the lodge. So at Mpata your game drives are actually 1 hour shorter. Same with the evening- the park closes at 6pm, but if you are in a lodge in the park, then you drive to the lodge between 6pm and 630/645pm and are likely to see a hunt as I have. That doesn’t happen at Mpata.

All in all it was a good experience, but the game drives could have been so much better and longer. Management did see the issue, but not sure if they will do anything about it. If I was to do it again, I wouldn’t return to Mpata until they had fixed the issue because somewhere like Serena provides much better opportunities for seeing game at dawn and dusk when most of the action happens.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

When we first started going to the Mara for the week we used to split camps and we visited this camp for 4 days about six times.

It was designed by one of the best architects in Japan and is perched on a hilltop with super views of the Mara reserve.

It sits high on the edge of the Oloololo escarpment.

It has been voted 'the Best Safari lodges in Kenya' by the Kenyan Association of Travel Agents.

On our first visit we were lucky to be allocated a suite - thanks to our tour operator Ferdinand Mwangwa of Beach Air Tours and Safaris.

Our suite was right at the end of the first row of suites and cottages and had a lounge with bathroom off - mini bar - large bedroom - dressing room and twin bathroom and best of all an outdoor Jacuzzi

The suite is curved and has glass from top to bottom in every room with superb views.

There was decking at the Jacuzzi and also out the lounge door which was well furnished with exquisite furniture.

We had a superb driver and managed to see several crossings from the other side of the river and plenty game.

As it is quite high up we did however leave at 6am in the morning for the early morning game drive and returned at 9am.

The club does only two game drives each day morning and afternoon but we did as usual and took a packed lunch to stay out all day.

The first and last day it was good to relax in the jacuzzi and on the sun decks but even the water heated up quickly with the strong sun.

As usual a gift shop where I headed off to and hubby to the suite!!

Food was excellent and all meals prepared was Nouvelle Cuisine by Kiyomi Mikuni one of the world's greatest chefs.

The menu changed every day and breakfast was wholesome and again a variety of food.

There was entertainment in the evening - masai dancers - guitarists and various others.

The sunken Rock Bar gives a sensational view of the Mara River

There is also a sundowner bar.

We would like to return again but find once we are ensconced at the Mara Safari Club it is the hassle of packing up etc but we shall one day if not just to see our excellent driver whom we still keep in touch with.

The first time we visited we actually did a nature walk and also visited a Masai village.

Again we could not fault anything - rooms clean - friendly staff and the dining room super with glass all around to see the spectacular views.

Asante to all and to Stanley who had eyes like a hawk!!!!

Room Tip: Try to obtain a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I stayed there for a weekend safari during a business trip - excellent place in terms of service, architecture and room comfort, food and safari experience. I got a great deal by booking through Genet Tours in Nairobi - contact Jane Karanja at +254-722-875835. I called Friday morning and was on the plane to Masai Mara in the afternoon, nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We stayed in this lodgeš for three days with our friends (6 people). The lodge is not situated in the park but it is on the top of the cliff and the view over the valley is spectacular.
If you go there book the rooms with the view. It has glass wall towards the valley and you will experience absolutely amazing view. Also there is no problem with the distance from the park (30 min drive) because all the game drives are longer than in other lodges. Staff is very helpful and food is very good. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed at this lodge while on a safari in July 2007 but I just noticed that I never finished reviewing the lodges for that trip. Our experience here was very brief- one night. We were upgraded here after we had booked and paid for the safari and only stayed for one night-a $200 increase in price. We had a fabulous safari but until now had stayed in mid-priced lodges, all of which were very nice. We arrived at about six P. M. after a long day and left the next morning after breakfast. The lodge has a magnificent setting on a hill over the Masai Mari. The entire lodge is extremely modernistic in design- lots of concrete-almost looks industrial. The reception area looks out over the Masai Mara through several stories of glass. The individual accomodations are all separate cabins with all glass fronts which overlook the Masai Mara. The room and bathroom were definitely more luxurious than places where we had been staying-the sheets had to be those multiple thread sheets you read about- very nice. Dinner that night and breakfast were excellent- no buffets-individual service and dinner was gourmet. We didn't go on game drives from here but as others have noted the road to this lodge is probably the worst road we were on in Kenya- a very slow experience and we wondered if guests would get sick of it, especially if they went back and forth twice a day for morning and evening safaris. The pool and grounds were magnificent. The service was superior but of course that was the case everywhere in Kenya.

  • Liked — Views/luxury room
  • Disliked — Access road
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mpata Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpata Safari Club

Address: C14 | Keekorok, Kenya (Masai Mara Reserve), Maasai Mara National Reserve 58402-00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mpata Safari Club is perched right on top of the Oloololo escarpment in the world's famous Masai Mara. The Club is endowed with a breathtaking view of the panoramic Masai Mara and the Mara river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mpata Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mpata Safari Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mpata Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mpata Safari Club to your Saves list