We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further-Gamewatchers is top notch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Porini Mara Camp to your Saves list
Porini Mara Camp
Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Charlottesville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Look no further-Gamewatchers is top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

My family of four, consisting of two 72 year old parents, myself and my sister who has been in the travel business for twenty years had the best travel experience of our lives with Gamewatchers Safaris. Absolutely every detail is attended to and the service is exceptional. We visited all four Porini Camps and the guides, drivers, camp managers, stewards and other staff are terrific in every one. The game is abundant and the people are unbelievable friendly and knowledgeable. Open sided vehicles are the best for game watching and photography and having Maasai guides on their own lands is a richly rewarding experience. Gamewatchers fully deserves its outstanding reputation. Book now!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
125
29
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

This is the height of comfort and personal attention on a safari. Amazing guides. Personal service. Comfortable "tents" with indoor toilets and showers. Superb food. If you are looking for a safari experience that doesn't involve large hotels or camps and crowds of tourists this is the place. Ecologically friendly and the most hospitable staff imaginable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

What a great welcome we received from the manager David and his team. The camp is in a superb location - wildlife actually in the camp. The tents are spacious and well appointed - the safari showers are great fun! Excellent food, knowledgeable guides who went to great lengths to show us game both in the concervancy and the National Park - the drives were never cut short, we stayed out as long as we liked.

This was our sixteenth time on safari in Africa and by this time we know what is good and what is not - this is good! The concept of the Porini camps is what atracted us to them on this visit to Kenya - this idea should be copied in other areas!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klawhorn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

I'm really not exaggerating with the title of this review. The partner I was with was my mother, and we both came out of this trip feeling extremely lucky and fulfilled. You really get a unique experience at this particular destination because while this valley is speckled with camps and safari reserves, this is the only camp on the Ol Kinyei Conservancy, so you and the others at the camp are the only people on the entire conservancy, and it is huge! In our time at the camp, there were only 2 other guests so we were the only car on the entire thing. The nearby national park is crowded with cars and the animals are used to the presence of humans, but on the conservancy you really feel that you are seeing the animals in their natural environment (and there are TONS of them, including a local lion pride, enormous giraffe herd and very elusive wild hippo). The staff at the this camp were genuinely friendly and 100% accommodating and hospitable. Not a single desire went unattended, and I was more comfortable in the middle of the Mara in our tent than in our room at the Stanley in Nairobi. The truly amazing thing about this camp is that it is operated entirely by local Maasai tribesman, with the exceptions of the camp Manager David and the extremely knowledgeable and very well educated guide Jon. Much of the profits from the camp go straight to the local Maasai villages, whose residents donated the land for the conservancy and relocated their families in order to establish this camp. To top it all off, the food that is included in the price was consistently fresh, local, and expertly prepared. I could go on and on and on about the Mara Porini and never really capture what an amazing experience it was. I fully intend on going back, and have even considered it as a possible wedding or honeymoon destination for the future. If you can I would HIGHLY suggest doing the balloon ride as well, it was the most breathtaking and awe inspiring hour and a half of my life.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

So many times when you travel you are just a bit antsy before you get to your final destination. Well I can tell you guys and gals thinking about such a trip, that Mara Porini Camp is the best around for many reasons.
All inclusive is the best reason. No hidden fees!
But the best is the Massi staff and the wonderful first class accommodations.
You cannot get closer to the animals for that first class photo!
Jake you are the best!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

My visit to Mara Porini, the fourth of their properties I visited last week, had me almost run out of superlatives. Gameviewing was absolutely spectacular, and my guide homed in on a lion kill in progress, with all the added drama of a bunch of hyenas tyring to chase the two lionesses and three cubs away, including 'calling for help'. As more hyenas arrived so did the two males of the pride - no contest thereafter.
The family squabble over who gets the best pieces was also settled then, when the males, after dishing out some slaps to the cubs and females, took their fill.
When returning to the site during the night game drive, family unity however was restored and all 7 lions enjoyed a rest after filling their bellies.
My bird guides for the walking safari were on top of their game too, interpreted and explained whatever we came across, leaving me in awe. After decades in Eastern Africa, this was one of the best safaris ever, and I did not miss the fake Victorian furniture and unnecessary 'luxuries' of other places at all, the luxury here was in the oneness with nature, the absolute peace and quiet and a staff so dedicated that it was almost unreal in this day and age. Top marks, without hesitation.
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang H. Thome, Kampala, Uganda

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I can't recommend this camp enough - it captures exactly what any discerning visitor is looking for whether it's your first time to the Maasai Mara or your 100th.

On one night game drive we tracked 15 lions going for a kill over a four hour period...phenomenal. The next evening on another night drive we came across a leopard feeding in a tree who was soon joined by 11 hyenas and about 8 lions all within 20 meters from us. We stayed out until 2am watching the spectacle unfold as they fought over the scraps - truly the single most memorable experience!

The food at the camp was delicious and everyone sits together in the evening sharing stories of the past day and making friends with travelers from around the world...a real timeless experience that could have taken place a hundred years ago around the same camp fire. There are more ornate camps in the Mara but for the REAL adventure nothing beats Mara Porini and its superb team.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Porini Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porini Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.