We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porini camps simply natural and naturally simple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Porini Mara Camp to your Saves list
Porini Mara Camp
Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Porini camps simply natural and naturally simple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Surrounding by nature you will receive warm welcome with cold eucslyptus flavored towels , smiling and more than nice staff,

Then a hot shower and a cold TUSKER beer!!! and excellent food.

One can never forget the time spending there. Simply natural and naturally simple

Room Tip: Weather was very nice at the time of our stay and we did not have any problem. Suggest it’s a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
125
29
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Porini Mara Camp and Gamewatchers Safaris was, by far, the most amazing experience of my life. I came here to tripadvisor for help booking our trip, having never been on a safari before, and saw this place at the top of the list. I worked with Caroline in the setup and booking process, and she couldn't be more helpful, even with my endless questions about the safari.

On arrival in Nairobi, we met up with Ben from Gamewatchers and he escorted us to our hotel, then on to the airstrip the following morning. After only a one hour flight to the Mara, we were immediately introduced to our guides, Jeffrey and Tipa, who would be our personal safari guides for our entire 4 day stay. Incredibly nice and humble, they had a vast amount of knowledge of the area and the animals, and were able to spot everything and answer every question we had without hesitation. We felt very safe with them. Just on the drive from the airstrip to the camp, we had already seen dozens of wildebeest and zebras, warthogs, giraffes, gazelles, antelopes.. such an abundance of wildlife. And to think I was worried because they say march is the "off season".. On arrival at camp, we met Harry, the charismatic manager, and the entire staff of locals who took care of our luggage and made us drinks. Fantastic, hard working staff who always had smiles on their faces.

The camp itself is very comfortable. The tents are spotless and very cozy, and the bathroom was much more "western" than I had expected for a safari camp, which was great. The bucket showers were hard to get used to.. but part of the experience. It's pretty nerve-wrecking going to sleep each night in a camp that's just out there in the open, surrounded by lions and hippos.. the noises we heard at night were frightening and amazing at the same time. What an experience.

THE FOOD - oh my goodness. Better than most stuff I eat at home. Fried chicken, cucumber salads, cous cous, pork chops, steaks, asparagus, butternut squash soup, bacon and eggs, etc. That chef was incredible. They seem to cater to every need out there, as well.. I can't forget to mention all the soft drinks and booze you can drink, too, haha.

There's so much more to say about this experience.. from visiting a private school full of kids singing to us, to being driven around Nairobi and getting licked by giraffes and petting baby elephants, to being completely surrounded by a pride of roaring lions thinking we were gonna get eaten, to the little things like going to sleep at night cuddling with a hot water bottle... This was the trip of a lifetime. Thank you Jeffrey, Tipa, Harry, Ben, Caroline, and the amazing camp staff. I'll find a way to get back there someday.

-Ricky

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were booked into the Porini Lion camp, so were somewhat surprised to be delivered to the Porini Mara instead. But what a great mix-up - we loved this camp, came right up to our expectations of a Porini camp (having stayed at the Porini Amboseli). It blended into the surrounding nature, with animals whining, snorting and calling all night we really were in the wild. The camp staff ensured we were safe at all times, accompanying us to and from our tents at night, with whistles and torches in the tent just in case we had unwelcome visitors. The food was brilliant, given the small kitchen tent and the remoteness of the camp. Fresh fruit, vegetables, salads, all beautifully presented. Our guides Shadrack and Marima were great, the camp manager Jimmy always took time to sit with us and have a chat. The conservancy gave us the feeling we were the only ones there (unlike the Mara, which although stunning, grated after a while when there were dozens of jeeps jostling for photos of the 2 cheetahs or lions). Well worth staying here to get that bush feeling, vast empty spaces with just animals and enjoy the night drives - a whole new experience. The eco credentials of the camp (solar energy, safari buckets) are an extra boon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Porini camps: Rhino, Mara, Lion, and Nairobi.
 
We went during the slow season and so the tent camps were mostly empty. Even the lovely Lion Camp was mostly empty. The camps are all comfortable. The beds are comfortable. The service was consistent and timely. Might I say impeccably timely. The game drives were really great. The guides and the drivers are excellent. They know how to find game and have deep knowledge of the animals and habitat. The relationship between the Maasai and the tent camp operator seems to be win-win. The conservancies provide privacy and the fact that all the employees are Maasai, provides added value in the form of culture and their knowledge of the lands and wild life. Most, if not all, the guides are trained at a school in the Maasai Mara. We got to visit a Maasai village. At lion camp, the guides have named all the prides and nearly every cat. They have intimate knowledge of the stories of the cats. It’s really quite impressive. We enjoyed our 13 day Safari at 5 different locations. This was our first experience in Tent camps. I would have been curious to have experience a more occupied camp.
 
 Annie & Paul - Raiche

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've just returned from this paradise to a snowy SE England - the contrast couldn't be greater. Yesterday morning we were walking with our guides looking at the wealth of wildlife around us and soaking up the marvellous scenery in 32 degrees and today it's back to reality! Our guides were wonderfully knowledgeable and the drivers very skilful. We saw animals galore including lions and a black rhino! Everybody at the camp did their best to make us welcome and to look after us and our 'tents' were bliss. I went to sleep on the first night to the sounds of a hippo splashing in the nearby river. I should love to return. Thank you to all at the camp.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Porini Mara Camp.
To be the only guests at the camp for two days were just a unic experience.
Great accomadation with excellent food.
Our guides Wilson and Mariema took so good care of us and showed us absolute everything.
Amazing.
Steve w Gamewatchers Safari had helped us with all arrangements and everything turned out to be BETTER then we ever thought it could be.
Thank You all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and we're terrified that no other place to stay will ever live up to this. The game driving and closeness to park are fantastic assets but what truly blew us away was the friendliness of the staff and the comfort of the tents. All of the guest walked around in a kind of joyous daze ... who needed all of the great provided drinks when you are just so relaxed?!? Highly recommended and would suggest that you save up to come here rather than settle for anywhere else. Also has great social and environmental features to help us feel like we're contributing more than we're taking away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Porini Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porini Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.