We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'An Eco camp with real Ecotourism experience'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Porini Mara Camp to your Saves list
Porini Mara Camp
Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Thika Valley, Central, Kenya
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“'An Eco camp with real Ecotourism experience'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

...as we embarked on the treacherous journey to the Maasai Mara i had varied thoughts on i thought having being to more than 60 Eco-camps in Kenya this was going to be just like any other experience; however, i was proved wrong..!! the camp is located in a private Ol Kinyei Conservancy - a partnership between 144 local private landowners and the facility. It has a comprehensive Environmental policy committed to environmental conservation through responsible and sustainable tourism, local community benefits and resources management. The policy is implemented through the environmental management system covering water, energy, occupational health and safety, and waste management.The Camp is constructed with a low impact to the natural environment. It is an active partner in Mara-Naboisho Lion Project - a research project established in collaboration with the International Research Institute (ILRI), the Kenya Wildlife Service (KWS) and Danish Zoological Society (DSZ) to collar lions for ecological monitoring.
It has rigorous solid waste management system. Waste separation is done at source; waste bins are colour coded and labeled. Organic waste is composted in a well sealed pit within the compound whereas plastics, glass and metallic waste is transported to Nairobi for recycling.
It has invested in solar energy for lighting and running its refrigerators. Cooking for guests is done using LPG gas. Charcoal and firewood used for staff and the oven are sourced from sustainable sources of production at Kakuzi Limited. The water up take for the facility is metered at the main outlets and daily monitoring done. Water conservation is promoted through guest and staff sensitization, use of water efficient dual cistern toilet system, drip irrigation on the charcoal fridge and use of ‘safari showers’ - 20 litres refillable buckets showers at the guest tents. It has a well established health and safety system and an elaborate corporate social responsibility (CSR) and supports education and health initiatives not forgeting employment of more than 90% of its employees from the local Maasai. Basically, the camp crowns my2012 Eco Camps experience.!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
125
29
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

i will preface this by saying if you want a hot shower at will, temperature control in your room, electricity, etc. this is not the place for you. these are not luxurious tents, but clean and comfortable. what makes the porini camps so special is the experience. you will literally be next to the wildlife, being guided by knowledgeable, friendly masai, with no one around you, esp on the conservancy. once you get into the mara, more crowded and much more touristy. i wouldn't hesitate to tell anyone to come to the porini camps, but be forewarned about the rustic nature of the camps. solar power means just that. a safari shower is a 5 gallon bucket shower with water carried to your tent by one of the masai workers. food was great and the staff beyond friendly. once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary, Jersey, Channel Islands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at Porini Mara camp (Ol Kinyei Conservancy) and it was absolutely fantastic!! This was my third visit to this camp, and definitely my best ever safari experience over the past 30 years.
The staff gave an unbelievably high quality service, and nothing was ever too much trouble.
Food was varied and prepared and presented to a very high standard, as good as you get in any 'hotel' in Africa .......(I have travelled all over Africa, so I know!!). And the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in!
My safari guides (Stanley & Geoffrey) were fabulous, and their wildlife spotting skills were out of this world!! One example was when we were ambling along in the conservancy one morning, and Geoffrey suddenly said "Cheetah, to the right". We looked, and couldn't see anything. He said "see that bush about 100 metres over there, to the left there's a little wagging tail". Sure enough, when we got closer, there was a cheetah secreted in the thicket, with four gorgeous little cubs about three months old. We spent the next hour or so with them, and of course because it is a private game conservancy, we were the only vehicle in the area, so these five wonderful creatures were not hounded by countless mini-buses as they would have been in the neighbouring Masai Game Reserve ....... this is one of the best things about going to Ol Kinyei - the game is yours and yours alone, and there’s nothing better than just sitting there watching them being a family, and all the interaction that goes on.
Thank you to everyone involved with Porini Mara …… I’ll be back soon!

Room Tip: There are 6 luxury tents in the camp, and I've stayed in Nos. 3, 4 and 5 over the years. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I recently spent two nights at Porini Mara and had a fantastic time. Saw lots of wildlife including cheetah, lion, giraffe etc on the conservancy. The Maasai guides were excellent trackers and very good company. Being able to take walks, enjoy sundowners and view wildlife from a comfortable, open 4x4 was fantastic. You could see the envy of those driving around in minivans when we showed up in the Masai Mara Reserve. The quality of the food was excellent as was the service at camp. Very clean, spacious, comfortable tents.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed in several 5* lodges but never in a tented camp. What a difference canvas makes. You hear every little noise, you are so close to nature and the wildlife. The camp and the staff are excellent. They really go the extra mile for the guests. The tents are luxurious, and kept very clean & tidy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We first stayed at Pornini Mara Camp in January 2012 and enjoyed it so much we went again in November 2012 and brought friends with us! We all had a wonderful time, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The tents are large with everything you could wish for, the food is good, both when eating at the camp and when we took a picnic on a full day safari. The drivers and guides are extremely knowledgable, they know not just about all the animals and but also all the birds, trees and flowers. They are also very flexible, letting you decide what time you would like your game drive and also trying to find a particular animal you would most like to see. Gamewatchers also arranged our balloon ride followed by a champagne breakfast in the Masaai Mara Game Reserve which was amazing. Well done to all the staff who organise and work with Porini Mara Camp, we will definitely be returning again next year!

Room Tip: All tents are excellently positioned around the camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here, and our only complaint was that it was not enough! The location is wonderful, being the only camp in this Conservancy, and the tents are very comfortable, and well positioned for views and a degree of privacy.
The camp is staffed my Masai, who are quiet and reserved, but very efficient. They also served the coldest Tusker beers of our entire trip to Kenya! The food was plentiful, of good quality, although there was no choice of main course (not a complaint, as I amsure they would have provided another option if we had wanted) and meals were taken around a large communal table with the other guests.
Stars of the stay for us were Jimmy, our guide/driver, and Marima the spotter. They were simply wonderful, and helped us see everything we could have wanted (except the elusive leopard), Highlight was spending over an hour (without other vehicles) watching a female cheetah with 4 small cubs - priceless! There is a huge amount of game in the Conservancy, and any fears we had about staying outside the National Parks were completely unfounded.
We will return, health and wealth permitting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Porini Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porini Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.