We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a taste of African Hospitality, Fig Tree is a place to be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fig Tree Camp to your Saves list
Fig Tree Camp
C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Eldoret, Rift Valley, Kenya
1 review
“Want a taste of African Hospitality, Fig Tree is a place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have been to Fig Tree and would go there a 100times if I get an opportunity. The staff provided exemplery service within the lodge and iits north-central location make it ideal for game drives. I can choose to go south in the morning and travel north in the afternoon

Room Tip: Pay extra for Ng'aboli luxury tent and enjoy a spacious and luxurious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    86
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
52
105
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The place is ok but nothing special at all. I paid $440 a night and was not so happy. I was in other camps and this one was the least favorite. You do not feel like you are in Africa so much. Big dinning table and very touristy. Tons of Asians.

Also, I had a private driver called Salim Santy. He was really bad. He was talking on his mobile phone all the time. Didn't look for animals and didnt see much, Wanted to come back to the camp early and leave late. I was asking for much more and he just didnt do it. Very bad driver/guide.

Do not take Salim

Room Tip: if anything take the T rooms but i would not recommend,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family just returned from a safari in Kenya. One of our hotels was Fig Tree Camp.
Pros: It was clean and the staff helpful and friendly. The bathroom was full service and clean
Cons: We had stayed in other tented camps which had better appointments. Our tent had decent beds with netting, but tent canvas was everywhere - even on the floors. (The others had wooden or tile floors). At night every bit of light was blocked out. Many might light this, but I got the feeling of being boxed in -- total blackness -- which was uncomfortable and I overcame by changing the tent flaps.

Mada -- the chain that owns Fig Tree really has to step up its food service. All means were buffet style and accommodated Indian and Asian tastes more than American/European. Much of the food was inedible. The barbecued meats were tough. The best of the lot were the stir fried offerings. They were of Chinese take-out quality and contained a large amount of oil. On top of that -- too many flies were buzzing around at breakfast and lunch.

The location is good for game drives and I cannot say if there are better tent/lodge choices in this area. But of all six places that my party stayed on our safari, this is the one that we liked the least. Our guide agreed that it was his least favorite as well.

Room Tip: Not so much a room choice, but be prepared that the food choices are not that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a safari tour with Collette. The best part is the view from the porch of the tent overlooking a river. Saw a crocodile, baboons playing on the banks near the water and the resident hippos.

The tent itself was very small. It had two beds but there was no room to move around in the tent, had to squeeze past the bed and the suitcase rack. There was hot water enough for me but I never turned on the cold so for some it was not hot enough.

Food was mediocre and often lukewarm instead of hot. Although there was some variety on the buffet nothing was particularly appealing. One thing that I had for breakfast one day was idli. That was very good.

On checkout they did not have all our charges, missed internet and laundry. Internet is 500 shillings per connection. They require that they type the password in on your device.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here in Aug 2013.
Could have been better on the following fronts :
1. It rained during our first night there, our room was far from the dining area, there were no umbrellas in the room, and the support staff took around 30 min to arrange for umbrellas.
2. This was the only place during our entire 11 day Kenya tour where wifi was not complimentary, which did not make sense because wifi was accessible only from the main area and not the tents.
3. The tents were cramped, with insufficient lighting. We banged a few times into our bags as we we had to go deep inside the tents to switch on the lights.
4. Food - it was just basic stuff. The meat was chewy and hard. The picnic lunch soggy. The combination of items didn't make sense. On one of the days, pretty much every salad had onions in it :)

The good :
1. Location of tents - facing the talek river, saw a warthog there
2. Wildebeest and zebra right outside the gates
3. Lush surroundings
4. Restaurant staff was welcoming and polite

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place. We loved the location and the facilities. We stayed in a luxury tent that comfortably accommodated my wife, 14 year old son and me with a queen and a full bed. In the heart of the bush - electricity is on generators, wifi is slow, hot water is from coal fitted booklets - and at pre set regulated times but reliable. The service is friendly and fantastic. The food is good with enough options for vegetarians and they offer flexibility to pack picnic boxes if you want to leave for a day long game drive. The balloon ride over the masai stays right at the hotel which is a big plus. The bar is very cozy. We enjoyed the masai culture presentation and the masai dances & songs too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son and I stayed in the tented accommodation at Fig Tree Camp and had a wonderful Mara experience. The accommodation was very fitting for such an amazing setting and it was a thrill to lie in bed and listen to the call of the wildebeasts and monkeys across the bridge. The food services were wonderful and a variety to suit all tastes and desires. Staff were efficient and helpful. The pool was a perfect way to relax after a game drive. I absolutely recommend staying here--just moments away from the thrill of the animals and a perfect place to get away from it all.
Nixon was informative and friendly and helped us understand Maasi culture.

Room Tip: Choose a tented cabin on the river's edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fig Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fig Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fig Tree Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig Tree Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.