We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay in the heart of game drives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Camp

Save Saved
You added Fig Tree Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fig Tree Camp
C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“3 night stay in the heart of game drives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place. We loved the location and the facilities. We stayed in a luxury tent that comfortably accommodated my wife, 14 year old son and me with a queen and a full bed. In the heart of the bush - electricity is on generators, wifi is slow, hot water is from coal fitted booklets - and at pre set regulated times but reliable. The service is friendly and fantastic. The food is good with enough options for vegetarians and they offer flexibility to pack picnic boxes if you want to leave for a day long game drive. The balloon ride over the masai stays right at the hotel which is a big plus. The bar is very cozy. We enjoyed the masai culture presentation and the masai dances & songs too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    73
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
94
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son and I stayed in the tented accommodation at Fig Tree Camp and had a wonderful Mara experience. The accommodation was very fitting for such an amazing setting and it was a thrill to lie in bed and listen to the call of the wildebeasts and monkeys across the bridge. The food services were wonderful and a variety to suit all tastes and desires. Staff were efficient and helpful. The pool was a perfect way to relax after a game drive. I absolutely recommend staying here--just moments away from the thrill of the animals and a perfect place to get away from it all.
Nixon was informative and friendly and helped us understand Maasi culture.

Room Tip: Choose a tented cabin on the river's edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a special place and found it all very enjoyable. The only issue we had was the Wifi, it was very slow and really impossible to use in a timely manner. However, we stayed and two other lodges and found them to be exactly the same! We would diffinatly recommend and would certainly return!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I spent 3 nights here with a GAdventures safari tour. I really enjoyed the facilities - the rooms were great (set along the river which was beautiful), the lobby and bar was nice too. The Security staff and wait staff were very nice. However, meal times were the worst. The food was not good at all, even basic potatoes were not well done. They also often ran out of food and when I would go to the buffet there were only scraps to be had. The buffet was congested and the dining area was often crowded and noisy (not intimate or relaxing at all). In fact, one night there were children playing hide and go seek throughout the room with flashlights and even when they were shining them in guests eyes no one on staff asked them to sit down (shocking given that our driver wasn't allowed to sit at our table, but these kids were allowed to ruin our meal). I did not enjoy a single meal there and even though the location and rooms were lovely, I would not stay at Fig Tree again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our week long safari. The location is perfect and we had thousand and thousands of Wilderbeest on our doorstep but that's probably where the positives end. Extremely slow wifi. No locks on the tents. Hardly any space to move around in the tent. And food was worst here out of 4 places we stayed. My husband got food poisoning which put a damper on an excellent safari. Next time, I'll stay at a sopa lodge. We found they were the best ones out of all the ones we stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The first time for me to stay at Fig Tree Camp Masai Mara, but not the last. The staff at the place were very kind and very professional. The tents were very wonderful, and not a single thing to complain about. The safariguide Paul, was exceptional, very professional, and fulfilled every request of seeing my favorite animals. I will deffinately come back as soon as its possible for me. A very great experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

What an amazing experience! We stayed in a tent right on the river. Monkeys entertained us on our porch and right outside the camp was the wildebeest migration of millions! So cool to hear the animals all around us! A wonderful place to stay,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fig Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fig Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fig Tree Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig Tree Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.