We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay in the heart of game drives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fig Tree Camp to your Saves list
Fig Tree Camp
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“3 night stay in the heart of game drives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place. We loved the location and the facilities. We stayed in a luxury tent that comfortably accommodated my wife, 14 year old son and me with a queen and a full bed. In the heart of the bush - electricity is on generators, wifi is slow, hot water is from coal fitted booklets - and at pre set regulated times but reliable. The service is friendly and fantastic. The food is good with enough options for vegetarians and they offer flexibility to pack picnic boxes if you want to leave for a day long game drive. The balloon ride over the masai stays right at the hotel which is a big plus. The bar is very cozy. We enjoyed the masai culture presentation and the masai dances & songs too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadhavK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son and I stayed in the tented accommodation at Fig Tree Camp and had a wonderful Mara experience. The accommodation was very fitting for such an amazing setting and it was a thrill to lie in bed and listen to the call of the wildebeasts and monkeys across the bridge. The food services were wonderful and a variety to suit all tastes and desires. Staff were efficient and helpful. The pool was a perfect way to relax after a game drive. I absolutely recommend staying here--just moments away from the thrill of the animals and a perfect place to get away from it all.
Nixon was informative and friendly and helped us understand Maasi culture.

Room Tip: Choose a tented cabin on the river's edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 591Mordens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a special place and found it all very enjoyable. The only issue we had was the Wifi, it was very slow and really impossible to use in a timely manner. However, we stayed and two other lodges and found them to be exactly the same! We would diffinatly recommend and would certainly return!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I spent 3 nights here with a GAdventures safari tour. I really enjoyed the facilities - the rooms were great (set along the river which was beautiful), the lobby and bar was nice too. The Security staff and wait staff were very nice. However, meal times were the worst. The food was not good at all, even basic potatoes were not well done. They also often ran out of food and when I would go to the buffet there were only scraps to be had. The buffet was congested and the dining area was often crowded and noisy (not intimate or relaxing at all). In fact, one night there were children playing hide and go seek throughout the room with flashlights and even when they were shining them in guests eyes no one on staff asked them to sit down (shocking given that our driver wasn't allowed to sit at our table, but these kids were allowed to ruin our meal). I did not enjoy a single meal there and even though the location and rooms were lovely, I would not stay at Fig Tree again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our week long safari. The location is perfect and we had thousand and thousands of Wilderbeest on our doorstep but that's probably where the positives end. Extremely slow wifi. No locks on the tents. Hardly any space to move around in the tent. And food was worst here out of 4 places we stayed. My husband got food poisoning which put a damper on an excellent safari. Next time, I'll stay at a sopa lodge. We found they were the best ones out of all the ones we stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sushy_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The first time for me to stay at Fig Tree Camp Masai Mara, but not the last. The staff at the place were very kind and very professional. The tents were very wonderful, and not a single thing to complain about. The safariguide Paul, was exceptional, very professional, and fulfilled every request of seeing my favorite animals. I will deffinately come back as soon as its possible for me. A very great experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piafuglsanghald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What an amazing experience! We stayed in a tent right on the river. Monkeys entertained us on our porch and right outside the camp was the wildebeest migration of millions! So cool to hear the animals all around us! A wonderful place to stay,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cm1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#70 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#59 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#96 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#15 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Fig Tree Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fig Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fig Tree Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing