We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cried when we left” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fig Tree Camp to your Saves list
Fig Tree Camp
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cried when we left”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Fig Tree Camp is a haven of tranquillity and nature of which I doubt I will ever find an equivalent. Nestled in the middle of the Maasai Mara, it is not only an excellent location in the grand scheme of things but it has an amazing U-Bend river locale; ensuring that every tent overlooks the river Talek.

The Fig Tree Camp offers superlative tents, which provide a little luxury but still don't take away from the feeling of sleeping outside with the zipper acting as a gateway between the sanctuary of your bed and the hippos, crocodiles, zebras, hornbills, parrots and colobus- all outside :)

Food and service at the camp is second to none. Meals are all freshly prepared and unlike many beachside hotels the food is seasoned and flavoured well. Pineapple crumble being a treat like nothing I had ever had before! Our waiter Joseph was extreme attentive and a credit to the camp. Each night there is a toasty camp fire and on one of the nights was traditional maasai dancing/jumping, which was fantastic. How they act as DJ, music creator and dancers simultaneously without the technological wonders we have was astonishing.

The overall experience at this camp was undoubtedly enhanced by both our game driver - Sami - and the amazing game drives we had. We saw everything except from Rhino and the feeling of seeing two cheetah brothers, a family of lions and a leopard up a tree with a kill will stay with me forever. Sami was knowledgeable, friendly and a joy to be around - we looked forward to the game drives with him to the point that we were genuinely sad to say good bye to him when we left. A stand out example of him being the epitome of ace is that he arranged for us to have a long game drive with a "bush" breakfast on the last day. Meaning that whilst we ate our breakfast on the banks of the Talek river, Hippos, Giraffes, Egyptian Geese were all in plain sight.

Mada Hotels has a huge asset in Sami and he is certainly one of the reasons I will be visiting Fig Tree Camp again soon.

As well as the game drives, we had a hot air balloon flight and absolutely loved it! I cannot put into words the awesome feeling of floating along at sunrise over the Maasai Mara, with no sound other than the animals below. To then have the surreal experience of landing in the midst of all of nature and having a full English breakfast washed down with champagne cocktails; it was simply mind blowing.

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and even though we were already on holiday in Diani, we felt as though this was an inception style holiday within a holiday - it really is that good!

John & Claire McMahon

Room Tip: T19 is ace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john090780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Svedala, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was the final lodge on our week long safari, and once again we weren't disappointed. The rooms (or "tents") were spacious and clean and the food was good. We had a room overlooking the river, where is was cozy to sit when the sun set and just look out over the river.

The game drives in Masai Mara were the best of our trip. Plenty of lions, a cheetah, hippos, large birds of prey and much, much more.

The only negative was that on one occation our room cleaners didn't replace the lock for our tent, so it was open for anyone to enter. Nothing happened though, and as I understood it not all tents had locks at all.

The camp is quite large, so to some rooms there's a long walk from the restaurant to your room, and to the cars. We had such a room, but it didn't bother us much.

Room Tip: If you have problems walking longer distances, ask for a room close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Arrived to a refreshing drink and refreshing towel wipes. The place is set in beautiful grounds and environment. Comfortable and friendly accommodation. Excellent food and service. Dishes are cooked fresh and the staff were all very friendly. The tents were very comfortable and we celebrated my boyfriends 30th birthday there. The game drives from fig tree were also good and the guide very knowledgeable and keen to show us many animals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimdanvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our Safari's were incredible! We traveled to the camp with friends from England and stayed 3 days/2 nights. Masai Warrior William, our guide, and Daniel, our driver, made sure we had a great experience. We watched a pair of hunting cheetahs and saw a rhino with her baby.

We could have stayed in their "N" tents (the best level), but opted for their standard rooms. Our tent rooms overlooking the river were quite luxurious and we sat on our balcony and watched crocs and hippos in the water. On the opposite bank was a tree with a colony of beautiful yellow weaver birds, weaving their hanging nests from the grasses they harvested.

The staff was very courteous, the beds comfortable, the safari's unforgettable, but the food made the experience much less enjoyable than it should have been. The quality was good, but the only way you could get a hot meal was if you chose something that was cooked on the spot. Everything else was either luke warm or cold, even the soups and gravies! Potatoes were tough and rubbery as if they had been in the fridge overnight and then reheated. We speculated that perhaps it was a cultural belief that we were unaware of, or perhaps they were cooking everything over a candle. In only 3 days I found myself eating only the salads and deserts, rather than have another unenjoyable meal, and it takes a lot to spoil my appetite!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river. The "N" tents are about 50% larger than the regular t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dv_buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked fig tree camp because Mara Serena, Keerobok which were our choice was full. The only good thing about this camp was that first day we checked in at 4, got late for lunch, informed them and they kept the entire buffet on for us. That was like really good as we had missed breakfast also that day and were supper hungry after long 6 hours on Masai roads. But that's about it. Rest of the 2 nights were disappointing. First of all it is built in such a way that walk from van to room is like a km. We had tents on talek river and walk is pretty long. We went for game drive then at 4:30 pm, and there was not many animals in the area. 2 hrs were not enough to go far off. Then for dinner variety was just about average. The good thing was this was only camp we stayed at had a vegetarian live counter. But variety was limited. Once I went at live counter and chef told me he will get me noodles on the table. But they never arrived. Then there was no one to escort us to the room in the night and light was very dim. Next day we took packed lunch and went for full day game drive. Variety at dinner was much less as what we got at other camps/lodges.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kavitachoudhary89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent 2 nights in a luxurious tent overlooking the river where we had a hippo outside our tent in the evening the Safari was fantastic we had a Masai Warrior Thomas as our guide and Dan was our driver we had an early morning balloon ride over the Masai Mara ending in a champagne breakfast and experience never to be forgotten we had three 3 course meals a day and would highly recommend this resort to everyone

Room Tip: Take plenty of Mosquito Repellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We took a tent for our 3 night stay which was the right choice, the accommodation was adequate, and although they describe them as tents they have stone built bathrooms and solid roofs, however this misses the point, the view from our tent verandah across the river was stunning.

The downside is you don't have much time to look at the view with 3 safari's a day. We missed the migration by a couple of weeks however there was still plenty of activity out on the Masai Mara. We saw most of the headline animals in very close proximity and in numbers. As others have discussed the choice of vehicles at Fig Tree is better given the wide open sides and open top enabling you to swing a couple of camera lenses to your hearts content. One tip i would pass on is that the tiny Cessna you may take from your hub airport out to the Masai can only handle limited luggage, up to 15 kilo's, so if Fig Tree is part of a longer trip as ours was ensure you can split your luggage and leave some with your tour company or stop-over hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StegLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#96 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#70 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#83 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#59 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Fig Tree Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Fig Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fig Tree Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing