We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Camp

Save Saved
You added Fig Tree Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fig Tree Camp
C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Svedala, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really nice lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was the final lodge on our week long safari, and once again we weren't disappointed. The rooms (or "tents") were spacious and clean and the food was good. We had a room overlooking the river, where is was cozy to sit when the sun set and just look out over the river.

The game drives in Masai Mara were the best of our trip. Plenty of lions, a cheetah, hippos, large birds of prey and much, much more.

The only negative was that on one occation our room cleaners didn't replace the lock for our tent, so it was open for anyone to enter. Nothing happened though, and as I understood it not all tents had locks at all.

The camp is quite large, so to some rooms there's a long walk from the restaurant to your room, and to the cars. We had such a room, but it didn't bother us much.

Room Tip: If you have problems walking longer distances, ask for a room close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    73
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
94
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Arrived to a refreshing drink and refreshing towel wipes. The place is set in beautiful grounds and environment. Comfortable and friendly accommodation. Excellent food and service. Dishes are cooked fresh and the staff were all very friendly. The tents were very comfortable and we celebrated my boyfriends 30th birthday there. The game drives from fig tree were also good and the guide very knowledgeable and keen to show us many animals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our Safari's were incredible! We traveled to the camp with friends from England and stayed 3 days/2 nights. Masai Warrior William, our guide, and Daniel, our driver, made sure we had a great experience. We watched a pair of hunting cheetahs and saw a rhino with her baby.

We could have stayed in their "N" tents (the best level), but opted for their standard rooms. Our tent rooms overlooking the river were quite luxurious and we sat on our balcony and watched crocs and hippos in the water. On the opposite bank was a tree with a colony of beautiful yellow weaver birds, weaving their hanging nests from the grasses they harvested.

The staff was very courteous, the beds comfortable, the safari's unforgettable, but the food made the experience much less enjoyable than it should have been. The quality was good, but the only way you could get a hot meal was if you chose something that was cooked on the spot. Everything else was either luke warm or cold, even the soups and gravies! Potatoes were tough and rubbery as if they had been in the fridge overnight and then reheated. We speculated that perhaps it was a cultural belief that we were unaware of, or perhaps they were cooking everything over a candle. In only 3 days I found myself eating only the salads and deserts, rather than have another unenjoyable meal, and it takes a lot to spoil my appetite!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river. The "N" tents are about 50% larger than the regular t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked fig tree camp because Mara Serena, Keerobok which were our choice was full. The only good thing about this camp was that first day we checked in at 4, got late for lunch, informed them and they kept the entire buffet on for us. That was like really good as we had missed breakfast also that day and were supper hungry after long 6 hours on Masai roads. But that's about it. Rest of the 2 nights were disappointing. First of all it is built in such a way that walk from van to room is like a km. We had tents on talek river and walk is pretty long. We went for game drive then at 4:30 pm, and there was not many animals in the area. 2 hrs were not enough to go far off. Then for dinner variety was just about average. The good thing was this was only camp we stayed at had a vegetarian live counter. But variety was limited. Once I went at live counter and chef told me he will get me noodles on the table. But they never arrived. Then there was no one to escort us to the room in the night and light was very dim. Next day we took packed lunch and went for full day game drive. Variety at dinner was much less as what we got at other camps/lodges.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent 2 nights in a luxurious tent overlooking the river where we had a hippo outside our tent in the evening the Safari was fantastic we had a Masai Warrior Thomas as our guide and Dan was our driver we had an early morning balloon ride over the Masai Mara ending in a champagne breakfast and experience never to be forgotten we had three 3 course meals a day and would highly recommend this resort to everyone

Room Tip: Take plenty of Mosquito Repellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We took a tent for our 3 night stay which was the right choice, the accommodation was adequate, and although they describe them as tents they have stone built bathrooms and solid roofs, however this misses the point, the view from our tent verandah across the river was stunning.

The downside is you don't have much time to look at the view with 3 safari's a day. We missed the migration by a couple of weeks however there was still plenty of activity out on the Masai Mara. We saw most of the headline animals in very close proximity and in numbers. As others have discussed the choice of vehicles at Fig Tree is better given the wide open sides and open top enabling you to swing a couple of camera lenses to your hearts content. One tip i would pass on is that the tiny Cessna you may take from your hub airport out to the Masai can only handle limited luggage, up to 15 kilo's, so if Fig Tree is part of a longer trip as ours was ensure you can split your luggage and leave some with your tour company or stop-over hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Fig Tree for 5 days during a self drive safari in October 2012. We had contacted Edna at the head office to reserve a tent overlooking the river, she was as good as her word and had arranged with the camp the necessary details. We found the tent was fine, clean and well furnished. Ample hot water, with a nice "back up" lantern for when the electricity was off. Most nights we heard lion and hyena in the distance, and a hippo close by in the river ! Food was plentiful and with reasonable choice at the buffet style lay out. All the staff, from the waiters to the guy who looked after our tent, were friendly and helpful.
We'd definitely stay again. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay a real pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fig Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek river area, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fig Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fig Tree Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig Tree Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.