We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siana Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Siana Springs to your Saves list
Siana Springs
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok, Kenya (Talek River, Masai Mara Reserve), Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
bewdley worcs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I have visited the mara three times before and enjoy staying in camps I throughly loved my time in Siana Springs. The staff were attentive and friendly the tents large and clean the food very good . and the added attraction for me was the wildlife, Bush Bucks,Tree Hyrax, Colobus and Vervet Monkeys& Bush Babies . It is however around 25mins form the actual mara reserve which i already knew but it really did,nt make a difference. My guide Jackson was great and we went on a couple of bush meals in the Mara which was exciting and different . I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    33
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
43
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

During a 2 week safari in March, 2009, I stayed at this tented camp. Although it is a little older than the other camps I stayed at, the facilities were great, the beds were the most comfortable of the entire trip, food was good and the service was excellent. They also have a nice gift shop available. You will see wildlife walking about the grounds and the flowers are beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, west lothian
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed at Siana Springs in May 2009 and what a spectacular place it is...
The tented accomodation was absolutely fantastic, the place is so tranquil, with bushbuck wandering around the property and the variety of monkeys in the trees!
All the staff were so friendly and helpful, the food was first class, with a menu to die for..
A gold star for the chefs...
We went on safari from early morning to early evening, what an out of this world
experience we had. Our driver Patrick was excellent, an absolute mind of information.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Siana Springs is just absolutely wonderful!

The game drives started early in the morning and finished late at night. We felt that after a while everyone would get bored, but in fact the game drives were so unpredictable that most of us became hooked! Our driver, Gerald, was very sociable and good company to my colleagues and myself. The food was really good... lots of variety. The Masai dance given by the local residents was fascinating. Learning about the ways of Masai people and the history of Kenya was really interesting.

The one person that made this experience unforgettable was Ola-JJ; the host Masai. I thoroughly enjoyed his company as did my colleagues.. We really miss him =) I was just wondering whether or not to put up the silly photos of him brushing his teeth... if by any chance he finds them, he'll know exactly who's responsible and then I'm trouble. lol

I will be re-visiting Siana Springs in October 2010... and look forward to it!

I recommend Siana Springs Intrepid to ALL!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

I went to Siana Springs as a lone female and I just loved it! They made me feel very welcome and comfortable.

The accommodation was great, but I chose to move to a tent with a newer canopy, as the orginal one was the old style with less Mosquito netting, so less light. They moved me the next day and so everything was fine (it would be worth checking that you have a tent with a new style canopy).

The food was fantastic!!!!! Not one bad meal and I stayed well throughout my stay. The staff were very helpful, accommodating and sincere. My driver - David - was wonderful and we got the 'big 5' in only 2.5 days!

The only draw back is that it is about 20 mins out of The Mara Reserve itself and the road is bad! The Mara isn't fenced so the animals can move freely, but I never saw anything of interest until we got in to the actual reserve, so the journey was long especially after being out all day. The only thing that compensates are the Maasai Villages along the way, but the novelty does wear off, I have to be honest. Also, the vehicles are basic Land Rovers, so a very hard ride, not great if you have a back condition for example.

I saw another 2 Lodges when there, and Siana was by far the most authentic, as the others were SO! commercialised and too big. Siana is intimate and made me feel like I was truly on Safari.

  • Liked — Actually being in a luxury Tent and hearing the nature around you, not being in a Hotel room.
  • Disliked — Being cold at night as in a Tent. But the lovely hot water bottle each night helped!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siana Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siana Springs

Address: C14, Keekorok, Kenya (Talek River, Masai Mara Reserve), Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Siana Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Siana Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siana Springs Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Siana Springs Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siana Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.