We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Governor's Camp
Save
You added Governor's Camp to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Governors Camp and have loved every minute of it.
Having read previous reviews about tent 37 we requested to stay in that tent. It is the last tent along and has fantastic views over the African Plains. We sat on our balcony watching elephants, zebras, buffalos, giraffes and baboons walk by. At night on one occasion we woke up to the sound of hippos munching on the grass outside the tent and on our last night we woke to the sound of elephants stripping the leaves off the trees at the back and side of the tent and then when they had finished eating a baby elephant lay down and went to sleep at the side of the tent and we listened to the rhythmic sound of her breathing. An experience not to be forgotten!
The tents are clean, the shower excellent considering where you are and the bed very comfortable. It was a treat at night to get into bed and warm your feet on your hot water bottle!
Again, after reading reviews about Solomon we had requested him as our guide and it was the best decision to make. He made the whole trip worthwhile. He is a lovely friendly man who appears to have a great love of wildlife. His knowledge is exceptional, he goes out of his way to ensure you see as much as possible and his 'spotting' is amazing, how he knew that a black dot on the horizon was a rhino we'll never know! We enjoyed listening to him tell us about his experiences working with the Big Cat Diary team and felt privileged to see Honeys boys and the Marsh Pride, including Notches sons.
We did a bush walk and thoroughly enjoyed it. A lovely breakfast at the end in a lovely setting. A big thank you to Colin and Harrison.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    57
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
130
305
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We spent 3 days in Governors Camp.
It was my second time in Kenya. First time I discovered Amboseli and Tsavo West. But Masai Mara is a special place. I discovered some other places and National parcs in South-Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe. But if I could spend just one day in Africa, I would go to Masai Mara - Governors Camp.
The camp is wonderful integrated in the wilderness. The Safaris are just amazing, no comparison to anything I have seen so far. The number of animals is just unbelievable.
The service is extraordinary. It is amazing how the staff can be so friendly to everyone. Everybody makes you feel special.The food is very good.
I took the chance to get engaged with my girlfriend, as there might be not many better places in the world to ask this specific question.
Thanks a lot to the manager Phillip and his wife, who supported me fantastic, when I took the decision.
I will come back. This is one of the very special places you have to experience in your life!
Gido + Viola

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

As much as I had read and researched to try and expect what a safari would be like, nothing prepared me for our stay at Governor's in October this year. We obviously had an idea that it was going to be good having read a lot of reviews, but nothing beats your own experiences so we had an open mind. The moment we stepped from the plane and were met by a member of staff and driven the short distance to the camp we were under the spell. In my excitement at seeing two Cheetahs on a termite hill by the track my sun glasses fell out of the Landrover. My first instinct was to just get out, run back and pick them up until I remembered exactly where we were!! However, there was not one moment when we felt in any danger, even though these beautiful animals are free to roam wherever they please. We were so lucky to be given Dominic as our driver for our 4 day stay. We were even more fortunate that we had him all to ourselves for the entire time. He was just amazing and meeting him went a long way to making this adventure so perfect. The camp itself is fabulous. I am not naturally a camping sort of girl but this is not camping as I have ever known it. Showers, plenty of hot water, the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and the most wonderful location. My husband and I were celebrating a special wedding anniversary and the staff really made a fuss of us. We have never felt so privilaged and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We have recently returned from Governors camp and it was wonderful. We took our two teenage daughters age 18 and 17 who loved every minute of it. The airstrip is approximately 2 minutes from the camp entrance but we hadn't checked in when our driver spotted a pride of lions lying in the sun. Incredible. Our driver for the stay was Moses who was very knowledgeable and knew where the leopard might be or the cheetah with her cubs. The balloon ride was stunning but be prepared for a bumpy landing!! The tents are basic but you are in the middle of the african bush! The food is good but not exceptional. The hot water bottle is a nice touch in the evening along with early morning tea and biscuits. A magical holiday with many happy memories.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed in Governor's Camp for three nights travelling with our daughter and son-in- law who live in Kenya. It was an exceptional holiday, the game reserve, the accommodation (overlooking the river) was magical. On the first safari we saw lions, wilderbeast, giraffe etc . Would certainly recommend our guide and driver Maini, he was very knowledgeable but fun with it. We had a landrover to ourselves and that meant we could stop and start as we wanted for photgraphy etc. Ask for him and they try to oblige.

The meals at Governors camp were good quality and varied and the evenings in the tented dining room and beforehand having a drink around a fire or in the bar were really memorable. The odd hippo walking by!!

Sleeping under canvas (albeit with a lovely ensuite etc!) was marvellous -the noises and movement outside were interesting but having the security of guards was reassuring.

We had probably the most interesting and enjoyable holiday we have ever had in this idyllic place.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Having read Trip Adviser we did have some reservations , having been there we have no reservations about recommending Governors to anyone.
It really was the holiday of a lifetime in fact it was a life experience completely different than any other holiday we have had , it was as if we stepped into another world for the 4 nights we were there.
What everyone says about the game dives,the staff,the food,the tents,the location are all true because it is no single thing but everything taken together which make a stay at Governors such a special event.
We shared our vehicle with a couple who had been on safari several times in South Africa also Tsv East and West and they found the Masai Mara and Governors to be far superior in every way particularly in the amount and variety of the game.We will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Brilliant, brilliant,brilliant. Great, great visit. Fantastic drives, fantastic tent, fantastic food.

My husband and I (in our early 30s) stayed at Governors for 2 nights in Sept. We had a fabulous tent. We ate wonderful food. We saw cheetahs and lions and elephants and wildebeest and zebras. We spent our 2nd night with 4 masai warriors outside our tent as we had a mother elephant and her calf chomping their way through the hedge row but it wasnt frightening. We had a great guide and great jeeps. We just cannot recommend this camp enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Governor's Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.