We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all around excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Governor's Camp
Save Saved
You added Governor's Camp to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“all around excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

customer service, food, organization, safari drives, accommodation, setting, etc.... was superb. guide was professional and excellent driver and spotter going all out to find the animals, though wasn't very talkative to educate visitors.

Room Tip: argh there's no fitness center but it won't remove my star rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for posting your review of Governors Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    53
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
125
287
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in Governor's Camp for 3 days and 2 nights and that is about the right time to do everything.
The reception was very warm, we were all greeted with a fruit juice and told about the basic rules of an open (not fenced) camp in the Mara - do not feed the animals and do not walk alone at night!
We were then taken to our tents - all of them overlooking the Mara river (and hippos and crocs) and prepared for the afternoon game drive. The camp assigns one jeep/one driver to each tent, and the jeeps go out 3 times a day: 6h30, 11h30 and 15h30, with breaks for breakfast and lunch and then until the sun goes down.
The meals are all great - there's not a huge choice but everything is extremely tasty (do not pass on the soups, they're great) and they cater for vegetarians as well. Meals are served in common areas except for the morning coffee - served in your tent at a time of your choosing - and if you want you can have breakfast (and I think lunch as well) outside, during the safari, so you can just keep driving and not come back to the camp until night.

Most important about the camp: you can see ALL the animals nearby, including leopards, cheetah and rhino. If you come during migration, the crossing spot of the wildebeests is not far away and the camp can organise hot air baloon rides so you can see everything from above. They can also organise a visit to a Masai village, which is quite interesting - be prepared for some singing and dancing, and bring some money to the Masai market!

Also very important is how nice, warm and attentive all the staff is. There is never a water bottle or soap missing in the tents, they come looking for you if you're late for a meal, the guards are always just nearby when you want to come out of the tent at night and they even leave hot water bottles in your bed before you go to sleep - that was a very pleasant surprise! Also, our jeep driver was amazing - Phillip had a great eye for leopards, knew the names of all the birds and even lizards (not to mention everything else), introduced the lions to us by name and explained every detail about the animals behavior - all of this without being annoying or too thorough, just the perfect guide!

Basically, we couldn't recommend Governor's Camp any higher than we do. If and when we come back for a safari we will most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Mara River, so any room will be a good option. The camp is not fenced, so ani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the review and for recommending Governors Camp. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the safari so much and hope to welcome you back again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadmayne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I loved every minute. Top class service, unrivalled location. The safari tour was beyond my expectations and we saw every animal except rhino, within 24 hours. Tents were great. Food and staff fantastic. Truly a magical place. Would without doubt recommend to anyone.
I went with my husband and 4 young children. Perfect for all of us.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the safari and hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The choice to take my family to Governors Camp, for our once in a lifetime Safari trip, was based on agent advice and trip advisor comments. What a superb choice it was – this camp and its staff, far exceeded our expectations and truly made this a trip to remember. We travelled in April, with 3 children (14,12,10).There is much to say, so I will categorise it :

Travel – we flew in by Governors air (13 seated single prop plane) from Wilson Nairobi – a small domestic airfield about 45-60 mins from the main airport. This was a fantastic experience in itself and to land on the Governors airstrip 45 mins later, watching the animals scatter, was a great start to the experience. A 5 min jeep ride to camp and the adventure really begins.

Safari – Get ready for those early starts, 6am wake up with tea / coffee / hot chocolate. This is delivered, with a smile, by your tent host. Peter was ours, and made those early starts easy with a cheerful “Jambo” each morning. Then to the comfortable 4 wheel jeep and our guide, Sopia. I think all visitors to Governors feel their guide is the best – they are wrong! Sopia was just brilliant and is the best! The knowledge of this man, and his ability to spot animals in the bush, miles away on the plain, or see an ‘event’ to drive to, were extraordinary. His quiet, polite and always smiling mannerisms, made him feel like an old friend within the first day. He took us for 3 drives a day (6.30-9.00, 10.30-12.00 and 3.30 – 6.00). We saw everything. People always ask about the Big 5 – well there is so much more to see. We saw the 5 as well as dozens of other beautiful, interesting and rare animals. We learnt a huge amount about these animals and birds, as well as about the Masai Mara and its people. We visited a Masai village, did the traditional dances and haggled with the ladies for pendants and gifts at the end. We visited the Mara Rianda school and were greeted like royalty. This remains one of the highlights of the trip for me and the family. The Balloon safari is also a must and although expensive, worth every penny to witness the sunrise and the animals from above. Finishing with a ‘gala breakfast’ on the banks of the Mara river, before a 2 hour safari drive home. Peter, our pilot, was brilliant, entertaining and knowledgeable all in one.
Relaxing in the jeep, driving over the Masai, looking for and discovering all the animals, will stay with me forever. A special thank you to Sopia, for making this a more amazing trip than we were ever expecting.

Accommodation – We had tents 31 and 32 with views of the plains. They were perfect. Comfortable beds (turned down and furnished with a hot water bottle each night by Peter), hot water, flushing toilets – glamping at its best. Free daily laundry means you can pack very light . Food was plentiful and of a very good quality. Full hot and cold breakfast buffet can be taken in camp after the first game drive or a picnic breakfast eaten off a rug on the bonnet of the jeep was a real treat. Lunch was 3 courses and dinner the same. The food was remarkable considering the distances it must travel to get there. You are assigned a table, a drinks waiter (Daniel) and a food waiter (Kirui) who pander to your every need. Special mention to them as nothing was ever too much trouble.

Staff – this is no doubt one of the things that stood out for me. Every single member of staff behaved way above and beyond what you would expect. I have mentioned Sopia, Peter, Kirui and Daniel. However all the staff clearly love their jobs and greet you with a beaming “Jambo” at every opportunity. Also included is Michael at the gate, the security guards who walk with you around the camp when its dark, and of course the general manager Peter, who is full of stories of Africa, the school and the camp and is genuinely delighted to meet you off your jeep and hear of your day’s excitement.

Negatives – None really. I can’t fault this place. Don't expect a peaceful nights sleep – you are in an unfenced camp and armed security roam all night to prevent any problems with encroaching wildlife – however , sound travels, and apart for the bush babies in the trees, the elephants that wander through, the hippos in the Mara river (50m away) sound like they are next to you in bed when they snort and ‘moo’. You get used to it and its adds to the feeling of truly being in the middle of nowhere.

Thank you to all the above and others whose names I did not catch. We will never forget this trip and I have absolutely no doubt, we will be back one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your Governors safari we are so happy to hear that you felt it was a "superb choice" and that the camp and staff, far exceeded your expectations and truly made this a trip to remember. We hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Wow what an amazing safari I have just returned from thanks to all at Governors Camp. It was truly spectacular. Great team, lovely food, amazing animals, highly knowledgable guides and an overall amazing time. I cannot recommend this place highly enough! My sleep quality lower score is only due to the lovely elephant snoring and chomping outside my tent and not because of the facilities but the animals generally come near the tents at night and they can be rather noisy which is lovely to hear but might stop you sleeping so well!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, its great you think the camp is truly spectacular. We hoe you have caught up on lost elephant sleep and hope to welcome you back again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed in Governors camp for 4 days in Feb and it exceeded most of my expectations.

The idea was to live close to nature and it was like a safari dream come true. The tents were neat & cosy with all the basics taken care of. I stayed in a tent facing vast lands and loved watching animals grazing and cool breeze throughout the sunny day... The morning and evening game drives were fantastic. the driver ( James & Moses) were not just seasoned drivers but also very well versed with the requirements and needs of :tourists" .The food was good and the service was very nice. I was fortunate enough to see the cheetah's hunt .. all thanks to the great drivers ...I would not just recommend it but also would like to go back to governors sometime in near future.

Room Tip: out of the tow locations, try and get a room away from the main camp area ( if you are looking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for posting your review of Governors Camp, we are delighted to hear that the safari exceeded your expectations and that you were able to see a cheetah hunt. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed in Governors camp for 3 nights in September and it exceeded all of our expectations! The tents were cosy and provided you with all your basics. We stayed in a tent facing the plains and it was beautiful watching the buffaloes grazing during the day. The food was great and the service was fabulous (a big thanks to Patrick and Wilson). Our game drives were out of this world and we had the best driver possible (Moses). We saw the all big 5 and so many more amazing animals. I would go back to governors in a flash!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Governor's Camp, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of Governors Camp, we are very happy to hear that the camp exceeded all your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Governor's Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' Camp nestles on the banks of the Mara River in the heart of the most prolific game viewing area of the Masai Mara. One of only a handful of camps located within the Masai Mara Game Reserve the setting is magical. Half of the tents overlook the rolling grasslands of Africa, with views of elephant, zebra and gazelle; the rest are tucked away in the forest lining the banks of the Mara River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Governor`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors Camp
Governor's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.