We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa

Save Saved
You added Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok (Talek River) | Maasai Mara National Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Rekero for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! The camp is luxurious yet feels natural and blends in beautifully with its surroundings. Its position on the Talek River meant incredible views from our tent and lunch area and evenings spent listening for hippos and other animals. The staff were very welcoming and made us feel at home, from Clea, Conway, and Mariana's hosting to the night watchmen's morning reports on what animals had been in camp overnight. And the game viewing was spectacular! Our guide, Sammy, was fantastic-- patient, knowledgeable, and fun to be with. He helped us spot the Big 5 plus many more in our first 24 hours at the camp. Highlights included a cheetah killing a thompson's gazelle, baby elephants, watching a large pool of hippos while having sundowners, and seeing the beginning of the Great Migration on the Tanzanian border. We can't say enough good things about Rekero and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
56
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cascade, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Excellent from beginning to end! My two grown children and daughter-in-law joined me for the vacation of a lifetime in Kenya. Rekero Camp opened its arms to us and we lost our hearts to it. We saw "the big 5",of course. The guide, Sammy, took the time and energy to explain the animals' idiosyncrasies and taught us to anticipate their behavior so by the end of three days we were becoming adept at spotting. Clea, Conway, Mariana and all of the staff welcomed us with warmth, great food (can I get the recipe for "coronation chicken"?) ,and genuine interest in our enjoyment and wellbeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a tent camp that sits on a river with luxury appointments...for a tent. The staff go out of their way to make it special. Our guide Dan, who is newer, was enthusiastic and talented. He put us on the wildlife repeatedly includes 2 different leopards. He positioned our vehicle directly in the path of the animals which afforded us with great views and camera shots.

We were in tent 8. Both tent 8 and 9 are VERY near hippos who make the loudest noises at night. Lots of luck sleeping thru that! Bring your own binoculars (good ones at least 10x50 as most lodges...even the expensive ones...don't have them for you and the guides are not as good as what you can afford.

Spend big on binocs and a camera ($500 cannon is a good choice) and you won't need much else. Don't over pack...every high end lodge does your laundry same day! That said you will likely shower 2-3 times each day...lest you smell like what you're taking pictures of!

Room Tip: buy GREAT binoculars...after all you went to SEE things
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It has been said many times that Africa will steal your heart. It sounds like a common place but it is just a simple fact. Rekero camp is a hidden treasure on Earth, a place one must try, a bucket list item for sure. I visited with my 3 children ages 3,10 and 12. It is perfectly safe and better yet the experience equals to an entire year in school! We had been received with kindness and attention, our needs catered for to the utmost extent. The tents are a dream to stay in, and the night time experience to listening to nature all around us paralleled by nothing. Our guides Martin and Risa were the best in the Universe. We were sad and in tears when we had to leave, and started planning our return within minutes... The Excellent five start rating does not really do justice to how great this place really is.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate a minute. Book this place to have the experience of your life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Rekero for three nights in March and boy was I blown away. Unlike some of the other camps I stayed it, Rekero is a true bush camp with tents sandwiched by thick riverine forest thickets. The most special feature to me were the nightly visits by elephants and the snorting of hippo. During one night the elephants were feeding off the trees just next door to my bathroom with a single trumpet and a strewn branch lying on the path leading to the mess area as proof the next morning. Excellent personal service and great ambiance!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is one of the best camps in East Africa. We spent three nights here in February and it was an absolutely wonderful experience. The location, tents,food, safari, and people all first class. The young couple running this place have got it all right. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at this camp for 5 days while part of a "Muench Workshops" photography workshop. Of the 3 places we stayed this was my favorite. The staff was amazing, the food fresh and SO GOOD. The tents paradise - each very private and overlooking the Mara river. After dark a Maasai will guide you to and from your tent with a spear in one hand and a flashlight in the other. Our clothes were washed and returned daily and tea was always served at 4:00pm. They were very good at waking us up at the requested time for morning shoots with tea or coffee delivered to our tent. The drivers were all "silver" in their vast training and education. Gold is next and the highest degree. They even know the Latin names of every bird and animal you will see. I can't imagine better accommodations for an authentic upper scale safari.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa

Also Known As:
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: C14, Keekorok (Talek River) | Maasai Mara National Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rekero overlooks an ancient animal river crossing point in the Masai Mara. A front row seat to witness the spectacular annual migration awaits you.Rekero has a long and proud history in the Mara that lends to it a depth of character and low-key authenticity that is the hallmark of this luxury tented camp. Rekero is enfolded in wilderness, the camp nestles under huge deciduous trees, hippos grunt in the pools below the mess deck, the fragrance of wild sage floats on the air and guests can often watch the migration crossing the Talek River just 50 meters from the camp lawn. Warm, hospitable and intimate, with a guiding team widely recognised as being the best in Kenya, Rekero offers an unsurpassed Masai Mara safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.