We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bush camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok (Talek River) | Maasai Mara National Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Wonderful bush camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Rekero for three nights in March and boy was I blown away. Unlike some of the other camps I stayed it, Rekero is a true bush camp with tents sandwiched by thick riverine forest thickets. The most special feature to me were the nightly visits by elephants and the snorting of hippo. During one night the elephants were feeding off the trees just next door to my bathroom with a single trumpet and a strewn branch lying on the path leading to the mess area as proof the next morning. Excellent personal service and great ambiance!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
92
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is one of the best camps in East Africa. We spent three nights here in February and it was an absolutely wonderful experience. The location, tents,food, safari, and people all first class. The young couple running this place have got it all right. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed at this camp for 5 days while part of a "Muench Workshops" photography workshop. Of the 3 places we stayed this was my favorite. The staff was amazing, the food fresh and SO GOOD. The tents paradise - each very private and overlooking the Mara river. After dark a Maasai will guide you to and from your tent with a spear in one hand and a flashlight in the other. Our clothes were washed and returned daily and tea was always served at 4:00pm. They were very good at waking us up at the requested time for morning shoots with tea or coffee delivered to our tent. The drivers were all "silver" in their vast training and education. Gold is next and the highest degree. They even know the Latin names of every bird and animal you will see. I can't imagine better accommodations for an authentic upper scale safari.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband, two children and I have just returned from a magical 3 day safari in the Masai Mara. We stayed at Rekero Camp and we cannot recommend this place enough. We have travelled extensively in luxury hotels but this was a unique experience for us. We arrived and were greeted by the Rekero team, headed by the charming couple Clea and Conway as well as Mariana. Our tents were beautifully appointed, with taste and comfort at the front of the agenda. The food was wonderful and the team went out of their way to accommodate my 11 and 8 year olds limited culinary curiosity... We spent three days out with our guide Daniel, who was simply amazing. He showed us some fantastic wildlife and was very skilled at finding a variety of animals. If you want a memorable safari where amazing wildlife sightings, great comfort and fantastic food all come together, along with a lovely family feel, then this is it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently stayed at Rekero camp with my client and we really enjoyed our stay. this was our 2nd stay stay in less than a year, and we are coming back again soon. We really like the location. It gave us opportunity to take stunning photographs of lions, leopard and cheetahs among other animals. the staff are very friendly and helpful. The host, ensured everything went well with our stay, and surely it was made a whole difference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schliengen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited Rekero for the second time in January2013 after a 3 year gap and found it as good as we remembered it.
The hosts are delightful (Mariana and also Dudu who we remembered from last time and who was filling in for the holidaying Resident Managers). All the staff were attentive and helpful and the guiding was very professional and friendly.
The camp has a perfect situation on the river bank with enough shade to make it pleasant on hot days. The tents have wonderful views and are comfortable and well equipped. Food was very good and varied also the bush breakfasts.
We saw several lion prides, some with small cubs, cheetah one of which sat on our vehicle roof for 15-20 minutes, with her son, scanning the area for prey, leopard and of course elephant, warthogs, mongoose, bat-eared fox, in fact everything we could have wished for.
I should mention that we are 71 and 80 and can only recommend Rekero for a delightful and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our family have been guests at Rekero on many occasions over the years. Susy and I have been coming here for many years and brought our entire family in 2005 and 2009 because we reckoned that the only way to experience the Mara was to be based here with the best guides.

Our most recent visit was just the two of us in September 2012 when we were hosted by Clea and Con. Never met them before but they were fantastic.

The joint owners Gerard and Rainee were also in camp and they were the perfect hosts. We have known them for years and they are wonderful people who epitomise what their camps are all about. Incidentally Rainee is also a brilliant artist and her paintings are supremely realistic

Their Senior Guide Dickson came over from their sister camp Naibosho ( you really must go there -- we did and it was fantastic ) and guided us for our stay before we went on to Naibosho.

Rekero and it's environs are stunning and never let you down. We have been to over 120 camps over 12 years and reckon this is in our top 5 in Africa and No 1 in Kenya

Please don't take my word for it just check it out yourself and for independant advice try our travel agents Aardvark Safaris UK who we have used for many years

Just to let you know -- we dont work for them -- have no financial interest -- its just that
they have been amazing with advice and booking over the last 12 years

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
15.5 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#25 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#53 of 131 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: C14, Keekorok (Talek River) | Maasai Mara National Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rekero overlooks an ancient animal river crossing point in the Masai Mara. A front row seat to witness the spectacular annual migration awaits you.Rekero has a long and proud history in the Mara that lends to it a depth of character and low-key authenticity that is the hallmark of this luxury tented camp. Rekero is enfolded in wilderness, the camp nestles under huge deciduous trees, hippos grunt in the pools below the mess deck, the fragrance of wild sage floats on the air and guests can often watch the migration crossing the Talek River just 50 meters from the camp lawn. Warm, hospitable and intimate, with a guiding team widely recognised as being the best in Kenya, Rekero offers an unsurpassed Masai Mara safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.