We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing accomomdations, luxury tenting, first class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Mara Safari Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Abbotsford, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing accomomdations, luxury tenting, first class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First time to Africa and first time on a Safari and everything surpassed our expectations! We decided on the Fairmont Mara Safari Club because I get an excellent travel industry rate at Fairmont's across the world and when I found out that Fairmont had a Safari club in the Masai mara it was a no brainer! Travelled with my husband and 3 boys (17,15,12) We took Safari Link to our air strip from Wilson Airport and we were greeted with cold towels by Fairmont Staff and a welcome drink right beside the air strip! We felt like celebrities! On our short drive to the Club we lucked out and stumbled upon 3 lions who had just filled their bellies with Zebra. What an amazing start to our trip of a lifetime!

Check in was a breeze and we were guided to our luxury tents (34 & 35) I had my reservations about sleeping in a "tent' as I am used to 5 star accomodations and I have to say the luxury tents were so beautiful and the only thing that felt like you were in a tent was the canvas walls surrounding your beautiful 4 poster bed, tiled floor and 5 star bathroom including bathrobes, rain head shower, regular toilet, sink, tons of outlets, blow dryer, coffee maker, mini fridge and all the regular ammenties you get at a Fairmont. Everything was spotless and the fact that you were in a tent with all of these 5 star ammenties is an experience you can't get just anywhere! We LOVED laying in our bed listening to the hippo's, birds and wildlife surrounding us. The river below us is filled with hippos and monkeys were swinging from the trees! It felt like a dream or a movie scene and we were plopped right in the middle! Every morning we were woken up with a friendly "Jambo!" and hot brewed coffee and biscuits to start our day! Our boys received hot chocolate or coffee whatever they had requested. Each night our beds had plaid covered hot water bottles in them, keeping our beds toasty warm when we crawled in after a long day on a Safari.

The food was amazing!! The selections and quality were some of the best we have ever experienced, The chef was very talented and he even took special requests and prepared our favorite "butter chicken" dish just for us one night! There was plenty of fresh fruits, salads, drinks, desserts and mostly "a la carte" meals. Lunch was served outside and 2 of the days they served a buffet with all of the dishes served in clay pots on stands. Everything we tried was outstanding.

We booked our Safari's and transfers through Adventure Wildcats Safaris instead of going with the Fairmont Safari's. We were very pleased with Adventure Wildcats. Our guide Peter was very knowledgable about every animal and bird we came across and we loved the flexibility to decide when and where we wanted to go out on our Safari's. Also we had a private vehicle which I would highly recommend! I received excellent service with Hamadi Njoroge (founder of African Wildcats Adventure Safari's) and he made sure his staff was there to greet us at the airport or transfer to our hotel to and from the airports. I would highly recomend this tour company if you are looking for a private, personal service experience. We saw 4 out of the Big 5. Leopards are not easy to find in the area we were in and this would be my only hesitation in staying in the same area again, as we were told that other areas of Masai Mara had more animals and more of the big 5. Our friends were staying at the Mara Sarova Camp (different area of the Masai mara and they saw 100's of elephants and all of the Big 5 in one day and we saw approx. 20 elephants and only 4 of the big 5 during out stay. There is a bit of a trade off though as we saw tons of Buffalo and they saw very few. Our accomodations were 5 star all the way and I got the feeling that the Mara Sarova was maybe a 3-4 star feel.

All in all, our experience at the Faimront Mara Safari club was amazing beyond description. It was a once in a lifetime kind of trip for our family and we were blown away by this place! It was a dream come true and the accomodations, food, service and Safari were first class in every way. We will never forget this trip!

Room Tip: we stayed in tent 34 & 35. Mostly quiet except for the odd hippo belching at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Abbotsford,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the amazing experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club!

We are glad that we surpassed your expectations on your first ever Safari in Africa and that you and your family had a great time enjoying especially our luxury tents with 5* ammenities, warm and engaging staff, amazing food with great selection, talented staff and great game drive experience all culminating into a trip of a life time!

Thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel next time you visit Africa.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    41
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
104
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Chose this Safari Camp due to Tripadvisor as i was intent on a "special" birthday trip for my wife and we were overwhelmed by the welcome and courtesy of the camps staff.Kenya is a special place for this type of celebration!Our Waiter Lexson was just superb and the room/tent butler Dalton and then Limar was also exemplary in making sure we were up at 05.30 with a hot drink and looking after our needs during our 3 day stay,of which virtually all the time is on safari in that 700 square miles of the Maasai Mara.
Initially we flew the enjoyable 2 and 1/2 hours from Diani Beach to Ngerende airstrip and was met by our guide Ashford Kamau and Guest Receptionist Miriam in the Toyota Land Cruiser.It seems second nature for these Kenyans to make you feel special and very humbling that is!
I have to agree with the recent review by " dingull", (we met on some of the safaris during her last few days),our guide "Ashford" was so keen to make sure we saw that elusive Leopard to finish the BIG 5 that one or two safaris did become extended.However,he certainly made up for it when my wife was introduced to "Queen Elizabeth & Koffi Annan" a pair of 5 year old Rhino's!! Oh, Queen Elizabeth is pregnant,(really!!)
The service could not be faulted,meals were excellent and Lexson was very cunning when the Management surprised us both with a celebration for not only my wifes birthday but also our 42nd wedding anniversary and a special thanks is in order for Nicholas (the chef).
Thank you everyone. (Asante Sana)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Botley,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara!

We are very pleased to learn that you had memorable moments on your anniversary at the Hotel enjoying especially the warm, friendly and helpful staff, excellent meals, great game drive experience as well as personalized guest services.

We will certainly pass on the encouraging feedback to our staff

Thank you for your great feedback and we welcome you back to our Hotel during your next visit to the Maasai Mara. Karibu tena! ( welcome back)

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I took my 90yr old mother out here again. If it not was for the consideration and help of all the staff it would have been very difficult for her. However they pushed her around in the Lodge's wheelchair, and she was able to go on two game drives most days.
Our tent was perfect, and kept immaculate by our room boy Geoffrey. All of the waiters could not do enough to make our meals better, and the chefs.... well, if I say I gained weight due to overeating - enough said! There is a wide variety of foods, from African, Eastern, European and Vegetarian to suit all tastes, however they are only too willing to cater for specific guests (they produced a meal within 30 mins for a party of chinese guests who wanted something familiar).
Ashford, our driver is incredible (as are all the drivers really) and found us the BIG 5 several times during our 2 week stay.
And not forgetting all the behind the scene people, who keep the vehicles in excellent condition, and grounds beautiful.
Thank you everyone, this is not my first visit by far, and definitely not my last! Can't wait to return, hopefully in October for the Migration :)

Room Tip: All tents are excellent, however if you have a walking problem ask for a tent nearest to the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Dingull,

Thank you very much for taking time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont Mara Safari Club.

We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about our perfect tent, good food and varieties of culinary options, beautiful gardens and personalised services from our staff. We are glad that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were here for 4 nights during safari in Masai Mara. We had a fabulous experience. All the ' rooms' were luxury tents, with 4 poster beds and good bathrooms amenities. The tents had no doors, but zips. It was extremely comfortable and tranquil. The tents overlooked the Masai river, and so the hippos would wake us up in the mornings. The power would be out in the very early mornings, so that they save energy, but we were so exhausted from the safari drives anyway to notice.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Always so happy and hospitable. They really took the time to get to know their guests. The food was amazing. All the meals were a la carte , with different menus daily. Also- they also catered any meals according to the guests likes and dislikes. If I am to go to Masai Mara again, the Fairmont is where I would stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoffrey O, Rooms Division Manager at Fairmont Mara Safari Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Karthika,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay at Mara Safari Club

We are glad that you had a fabulous stay experience with us; enjoyed several aspects of the hotel especially our luxury and comfortable tents, friendly and helpful staff, great food as well as our personalized services by treating each and every guest as a unique individual.

Thank you for your great fedback and we welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to Maasai Mara.

Kind Regards,

Geoffrey Ouma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sungapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent 3 nighst at Fairmaont inJuly 2012 and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. It was our first experience of a safari in Africa - and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the tented accomodation. The service was excellent and staff and management very attentive to your needs. The best part was hearing the hippos grunt at night - as the location is just at the banks of the Mara River. Food and service was great... especially attended to our kids - 9 & 7 years old.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

we stayed in the Fairmont in January .the camp is really great , the tents are very nice and very clean . it was a great experience for us to stay in a tent by the river . the staff was very friendly and food was excellent specially the steak ( avoid sea food as it is not fresh ) . it was mosquito free . you can hear the sound of hippos and baboons at night . take care that there is no electricity from midnight till i guess 4 a.m . as for the game drive they were 2 per day and 2 hours each which is not enough as the Fairmont park is not located in the center of Masai Mara so spotting the big 5 was a bit difficult but we were lucky to see them ( we only saw a leopard once) . put in mind that the game drives and safaris are a game of luck . the pool is very small but nice . overall it was a great experience . but if you are into wildlife try another camp located in the center of Masai Mara

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights while on photo safari in Masai Mara National Reserve. After taking a charter flight from Nairobi to the local air strip, we were picked up by hotel vehicles (Landcruisers) and taken to the lodge area. Treated to a nice refreshing drink and towels to freshen up. Were given an orientation of the grounds, lodge, etc. and left to enjoy the view of the Mara River that borders the resort.

There are so many things to like about the resort, it is hard to describe them all but here are some highlights:

1) Incredible Staff - from the guides, to the hotel and restaurant staff, everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a great time and every possible need/want/desire was met.

2) Great Lodge and Camp Tents - The lodge is expansive and offers several pleasant surprises you would not expect from a safari lodge such as WiFi in the main lodge, great bar, excellent pool, and some of the best food I have had in Kenya. Walled tents are very nice and showers and other touches make them well appointed.

3) Wake up service with fresh coffee or tea and cookies delivered to your tent. This made starting the early safari days at 5 AM much more pleasant with our "ansante sana" wake up call.

4) Safe - with a 8 foot electric fence and full time staff at the closed gate, I felt very safe at night even though you could hear the animals.

5) Location on the edge of the Reserve - In about 5 minutes you can be on the reserve and seeing various animals (although several were outside the reserve near the camp as well). If you are going for the wildebeest migration (July-August) this is a great spot to start from. Great birding and hippo views from the decks of the lodge.

I have nothing negative to say but here are a few things to keep in mind.

1) Not Cheap - this place is a first class operation and very safe, so you should expect to pay a bit more for this level of service and quality in the bush.

2) If you are hardcore outdoor photographer and are here to get pictures not just lounge at the lodge, a two game drives a day plan may not be the best plan for you. Because the wildlife (wildebeests) were migrating further from the lodge each day, we ended up paying our driver extra for a all day drive to go deeper in the reserve and neighboring park and had the lodge staff pack us a sack breakfast and lunch (which they were happy to do and were excellent! - don't for get a cooler with a few Tuskers to finish off your day with ;-). There are other camps further into the reserve such as Governors Camp but do not think they compare with the Fairmont.

That's really all I can say.

Room Tip: Most tents are by the river but not necessarily on the river (all are high above the river and safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Mara Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mara Safari Club

Address: C14, Keekorok | P.O. Box 58581, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Mara Safari Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont Mara Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Fairmont Mara Safari Hotel
Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Masai Mara National Reserve
Masai Mara National Reserve Fairmont
Fairmont Mara Safari Club Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Mara Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.