We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch hippopotamus and crocodiles while having your dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Simba Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Simba Lodge
Save
You added Mara Simba Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Watch hippopotamus and crocodiles while having your dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of a package with the excellent naturalworldtoursafaris

Pros

Helpful staff
Reasonably priced gifts shop
Yummy food
Huge rooms ultra clean
Beautiful views

Cons

Wifi not working during our stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    73
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
52
100
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay in this charming unpretentious lodge. The log cabins were roomy, clean and overlooked the Talek River. There was a real homely feel to the place with the staff ever attentive without being too much so. There was plenty of room to stroll around in if you felt the need and lots of different species of bird for the keen bird-watcher.

Watching the Hippos in the river from the dining room was an absolute delight as were the Mongooses and Genets.

I would highly recommend this lodge for a comfortable stay amongst the wildlife.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a little way away from the main area but the walk is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

the rooms were lovely - separate logcabins with monkeys impala and fabulous birdlife by our balconys, we ate under starlight and candlelight watching the hippo family and weaver colony. Food was excellent and we would love to return. Our safari holiday was booked with Virgin and we had a driver to ourselves and expolored Lake Nakuru and Navaisha as well as big game

Room Tip: all overlook the river the generator swiches off between about 2 and 5am so you have a torch - its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

i had stayed at the mara simba lodge in 2007 and we had a great stay, so we decided to go back in dec 2012, and we again we had a really excellent stay, the staff was great and so were the rooms. highly recommend this lodge to anyone wishing to go on safari

Room Tip: they were all great rooms, we had multiple rooms and they were all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Mara Simba Lodge

Good food.

Very nice staff.

Clean rooms.

Wifi only works in reception/restaurant area. Antennas by rooms, but not functional. Very expensive access charges. The Serena lodges I've been at have free wifi.

Lastly, no smoke detectors installed in rooms. Very dangerous, all it takes is one forgotten cigarette. Bring your own smoke detector or stay someplace else.


  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were 2 families with 2 kids + 1 infant visiting Masai Mara and stayed here for 2 nights in early November 2012. Right from our arrival after a 250 km road trip from Nairobi, we were delighted with the prompt attention and service we received from the staff. The check in process was fast and efficient, timings for breakfast, lunch, dinner and tea was explained nicely, porters took all luggage to the room. We were also told that we were the only guests on the first day and a lot many guests were expected the next day (who did arrive). However inspite of this even though the buffet was not laid out on first day, we were told of all food choices & varieties available and lunch was served at the deck overlooking the river where we did see wildlife (hippo, crocodile, baboons, mongoose etc). Food service was prompt and staff was very attentive and courteous, food was nice. The hotel premises itself is very scenic right in the middle of the forest and is very clean and well maintained. The rooms are spacious, neat clean, with good supply of hot and cold water. There are a number of building blocks (all wooden) and each block has 6 rooms, 4 on ground floor and 2 on first floor with balconies. The good part was the 2 rooms on first floor had an interconnecting door which was opened, so the kids could shuttle between rooms (great for families). There were also tents type accommodations available - looked good from outside. What we liked about the location of this hotel was that most of the common wildlife you see in Masai Mara are within 1-2 kms from this lodge (maybe 100 metres from the park entrance makeshift gate itself) once you enter Masai Mara. We saw cheetah at close quarters, also lots of giraffe, zebra, gazelles, deer etc pretty close to this lodge. To summarize, accommodation is good, food is good, service is good and is situated very close to wildlife. Also the gift shop is well equipped at fair prices (not too much premium) otherwise you have to end up to bargain hard outside. The entire staff greets you with a "Jambo" (Hi, how do you do in Swahili) and a big friendly smile :-) We learnt to do the same.

Room Tip: Think all rooms face the river ..but there are trees which block view. However you get a good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This lodge is stunning and offers unparalleled views of the park. They also have nice seating areas where you can enjoy their delicious cocktails or a glass of Amarula and check out the local wildlife. Rooms were clean and the hotel is very secure. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Simba Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok (Masai Mara Reserve) | Talek River, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Class:3 star — Mara Simba Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Mara Simba Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Simba Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Simba Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.