We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PERFECT BASE FOR A SAFARI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT BASE FOR A SAFARI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was a return trip to the Sarova Mara Game Camp and the property continues to impress. The camp is located right in the Massai Mara. It is a tented camp, but don't let that concern you. The tents are well constructed and VERY comfortable. They are built over cement foundations and come well appointed with very comfortable furnishings and extremely comfortable bedding. The bathrooms are phenomenal! There are times when you will forget that you are in the middle of one of the most famous game reserves in the world! We felt spoiled and secure throughout our stay. They thought of everything to insure a wonderful stay....from bottles of water in the tent to a hot water bottle between the sheets when you retire in the evening.
The meals are served buffet style. There was always plenty of variety at each food service. We always found items that were tasty and enjoyable. We were especially pleased to see that they tried to incorporate several local dishes into the menu cycle. The breads are made fresh and some of the local breads are made in the ovens right in front of you!
The charm of this property, however, is the staff. From the moment you arrive at the main gate, you will be impressed with the level of attention and the professionalism of the people taking care of you. Throughout the property and throughout the day, we were always greeted warmly by the people that we met. The manager, Anthony, greeted us in the morning to see how our stay was going. The guards at night would walk us to our tent and make sure that all was well. You saw the same wait staff at all the meal services and they would be eager to ask you about your day. A particular shout out to Daniel and Mathew who made our stay an enjoyable one!
The one down side that we experienced was the weak WiFi service we had in the out lying tents. We were farther from the main lodge and our service was sporadic. Having more consistent service would have been beneficial since we were communicating with the folks at home via VIBER and the internet. But, again, we were in the middle of the Massai Mara, so the fact that we had a connection at all was a bonus!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sarova Mara Game Camp. I would stay there again on my next journey to Kenya and would recommend it to others who have a desire to experience a game safari in comfort and style. Asante Sana to the people of Sarova Mara Game Park for a wonderful experience and a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tent 58and 60. These tents are larger and bit better appointed, but are further away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to have our return clientelle at Sarova Mara. Thank you for your continued support. Your candid review is very motivating to the team as we strive to build on service excellence.

We are working on the areas you have pin pointed as requiring improvement and we are sure that you will appreciate the difference in your next visit.

Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    131
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
182
207
23
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed here 2 nights as part of a Globus tour. When we arrived at the camp, it was during one of their power outages to conserve energy. It delayed our check in, but not a big deal.

My tent was down the path from the main building. It was spacious and well appointed. The sleeping area is in a tent and then the tent extends to a permanent section where the bathroom is. The floor was VERY slippery and I found it was much safer to wear shoes at all times in the tent. I did note that I had to ask for bug spray as there was none in the room to spray the zipper with and bugs had gotten into the room. I also noted that they never replenished the bottled water in my room during my stay. On the second night, I discovered that they my tent was in between 2 families. They did not use the path and would walk on the woods side of my tent and even congregate there. I had zero privacy and had to keep the windows zipped when in the tent to temper the noise. I also paid for the internet and it never worked. The front desk immediately removed the charge from my reservation when I told them though.

The restaurant is impressive decoration wise, but I was disappointed in the offerings. The pasta was overcooked and I didn't find there to be much variety unless you enjoy food drenched in sauce. Others commented that the meat was tough and overcooked. The boxed lunch left much to be desired as well.

Overall, I enjoyed the tent experience itself, but the noisy family and other hiccups left much to be desired at this camp.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. Your feedback is of value to us as we strive to improve in all aspects.

We have taken note on the areas that we did not meet your expectations with every intention to make improvements.

We do hope to host you once again in the near future and assure you of service excellence.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

マサイマラに4泊する際に宿泊しました。最高のロッジです。今までこんなに素敵だと思った宿泊はありません。
まずスタッフの対応が最高です。マサイマラにはアバーディアから空路で向かったのですが、途中機体トラブルがあり11時着く予定が結局着いたのは15時過ぎ。ランチは航空会社の配慮等で頂くことができましたし、それはそれでいい経験だったと思うのですが、チェックインの際に本当に申し訳なかったと謝っていただいて、逆に恐縮でした。苗字が多少長いので発音しにくそうで、「○○○○と発音するよ」と教えてあげたら、すれ違う度に修正した発音で呼びかけてくれました。
また、Muhammadというスタッフには本当にお世話になりました。気さくに話しかけてくれ、私たちがハネムーンで来ているということも伝える前から知っていました。そして最高のハネムーンにしようと本当に努力してくれました。ある日サファリから帰ってきて朝食を食べようとレストランに向かおうとしたら、庭に案内されました。そして特別に庭での朝食を用意してくれていたことには感激でした。
また、最終日に特別ディナーを申し込んだのですが、料理の手配からワインまで直接シェフを呼んで話をしてくれました。別のスタッフに勧められて一旦申し込んでいたワインが比較的高いものだったのですが、夕食の際にMuhammadが来て、「このワインは確かに美味しいけど、今までの好みを聞いていると(もう少し安い)こちらのワインのほうが食事の内容にも合うと思う」とわざわざ薦めに来てくれました。素敵な対応で本当に主人と感激しました。
その他のスタッフたちみんな素敵で、レストランでは今日は何を見たの?とか昨日はこのオムレツ食べてたけど今日も同じ味付けでいい?とか細かいところまで覚えてくれていて本当に居心地が良かったです。ドライバーのPeterもいつも親切で質問したときにはとても丁寧に答えてくれました。
食事に関しては三食ともビュッフェ形式です。どれも美味しく日本人にも食べやすいものも多かったです。バレンタインデーにはspecial dinnerが用意されました。
最後に部屋はテントロッジですが、今回はハネムーンということもあり、一番奥のしっかりした建物でした(壁の一部が布でしたが、ドア等は普通の建物と同様のもの)。お部屋は素敵でベッドは天蓋付、毎日清掃が入り水が補充されました。シャワーも全く問題ありませんでした。一番端の部屋はプライベート感満載です。2日目くらいに象が部屋からすぐのところに来ていて間近で見れました(もちろん柵がありますが)。
本当に最高の経験ができました。また絶対再訪したいと思います!

We stayed this hotel for 4 nights. It was best hotel I've ever stayed!
Staffs were really kind and friendly. They remember our name and called correct pronunciation(Japanese's name is sometime difficurt to pronunce) when we met.
Especially we really thanks to Muhammad. He made our honeymoon stay special. One day, he prepared special outside breckfast for us. Another day, he talked with chef for our special dinner and choice the wine(we alredy decided wine but high price, he choice the better one with reasonable price!).
We really enjoyed our stay. We wanna go back this hotel soon!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay four nights with us. We are humbled by your kind feedback and encouraged to do even better.

We hope to host you yet again in the near future.

Karibu Mara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We came there as a couple last week and had a very nice three days at Sarova, and the staff could not have been nicer.
Please say thanks in particular to Simon, Mathew, and Daglous for excellent and friendly service.
I hope we may come back some time.
I would recommend this place to everyone that wants to go to the mara.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sarova Mara Game Camp for your stay in the Maasai Mara. Thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation. The team is greatly encouraged by your warm review and we do look forward to having you back.

Asante sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsavo National Park- Voi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a great time in Sarova Mara tented lodge with my clients from Japan during the month of May 2014.The super friendly stuff at the lodge handled every details of regarding our accommodation in a very professional manner. Carol at the front office received us in such manner that we forgot we had a long tiring drive from Nairobi . The first impression was quite important for my clients. Carol at restaurant , the No 1 best employee of the lodge welcomed us in the restaurant and gave us right to pick the spot of our table in the restaurant, I and my clients felt greatly honored and I would like to say a big thank you Carol at the restaurant . Food excellent buffet , with all choices from non vegetarian to full vegetarian were all included .
As for the accommodation we had the club tents, the best way to experience Sarova Mara tented lodge. The room manager Mr. Stephen Keriga humbly escorted us to our tents and made sure that we lacked nothing. Mr. Stephen Keriga who is fluent in Japanese is quite experienced in handling guests. Finally I will not forget the welcoming Masai Morans at the lodge entrance. Very friendly and naturally welcoming .
I

Room Tip: The club tents are the best and tent No 70 has excellent view of the Masai Mara
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your candid feedback. We feel greatly honored to have made positive contribution to you and your clients. We have shared your feedback with the team including those that you have named personally and it has made them proud of what they do as it is such encouraging reviews that drives the team to raise the bar.

Karibu tena Sarova Mara!

Asante sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a trip to remember, the camp is amazingly nice and everything available including the wi-fi to keep in touch with family and friends, the safari was great, I've seen 4 of the big 5. Food is good and international, the personnel is friendly and talkative.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you and more so that our services lived up to your expectations. We truly value your feedback as we put all our efforts to achieve excellence!

We look forward to hosting you yet again.

Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We visited in 2011 April. Love the accommodation luxury tented camps excellent. Very family friendly lodge with lots of activities. Food excellent buffet. Location is good as well, we saw all the big fives and the cats.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest,

We were honored to host you last year. We are pleased to note that we did live up to your expectations. It will be great to host you once again now a year down the line as we have worked towards improving our service detail over the months.

We highly appreciate your feedback and take this opportunity to welcome you back to Sarova Mara.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.