We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarova Mara Game Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sarova Mara Game Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Before we booked the trip, I was not sure what to excpect in the middle of the Maasai Mara National Park. The Sarova Camp far exceeded our expectations. The staff, the facilities, the luxury tent that was more like a luxury cottage, the food at the restaurant, the swimming pool, the gardens. I would highly recommend this paradise in the middle of the wilderness. Thank you Sarova for making our trip most pleasurable.

Room Tip: We got tents(cottage) #1 and #2. They were the closest and there was no concerns with noise and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure reading your review above. Thank you for taking time to review your stay in Sarova Mara Game Camp. I am happy to note that you found our facility and service meeting your expectations. We trust that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.
Karibu tena to Kenya and to Sarova Mara!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    144
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
200
214
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wow! This was the first time I had been to Africa and on a safari and I can’t think of a single thing that could have been better.

I was blown away by the comfort and hospitality endured while ‘camping’ at the Sarova Mara. The staff were so friendly and kind and every one of them participated in creating the joyous atmosphere felt the whole time we were there. There was always ‘jambo’ and a smile and they went above and beyond to ensure the stay was a happy one. We even got to experience the dancing and singing celebrating a birthday for a guest – real fun!

My partner and I stayed in one of the club tents which were very luxurious. I have been lucky enough to stay in some five star hotels the world over and the sarova mara was right up with the best – a pleasant surprise from what you might expect for the heart of the wilderness in Africa.

I am a bit of a wuss when it comes to the idea of camping but I felt safe and comfortable sleeping among the bush babies and dick dicks heard from outside.

Our beds were well presented and cosy. The bathrooms were indeed that – a large shower, double breasted sink and separate toilet room all at the back of the tent kept clean, tidy and bug free!

Everything was thought of by the staff, even being up at 6am for game drives was made a treat with warm cake and hot chocolate before setting off.

The food was magnificent, so much to choose from and something different all of the five days we were there. A buffet style, all the food tasted fresh and there was never nothing to choose from even for the fussiest of eaters. Fresh pasta could be cooked upon request depending on your preferences and my sweet tooth was in heaven with the variety of deserts.

I had a real luxurious and heartfelt experience staying at the sarova mara and it was a trip I will never forget.

Thank you to all those at the Sarvoa Mara for making our stay as amazing as it was.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Mara Game Camp. We appreciate your feedback and it is is great you selected Sarova Mara for your preferred lodge during your safari. I am glad to read that you found the staff to be friendly, the food great and even found time to join in the "Birthday Train"! We all here are very pleased that you shared your experiences with others through this review.
We look forward to hosting you the next time you are on Safari.
Regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were booked into Sarova Mara by Go Kenya Tours and Safaris. What a wonderful, beautiful spot. We were fortunate to stay in the large tented "suite". Much more than we anticipated.
The grounds are beautiful. The restaurant quite good. The strolling singer/guitarist an added treat.
Thank you for a lovely stay. I would highly recommend this spot

Room Tip: be aware that some suites/tents are quite a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and the high rating you have given us.
We are glad that you found our facility to meet your satisfaction. Thank you also for recommending our lodge to your friends and we trust that we will see you soon with them so that we can have another opportunity to serve you.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is quite the spot. After a long day on "the road from hell" to get to Mara, this is like an oasis. Our "tent" was beautiful. I would recommend spending the extra money to stay in club tents as it just adds to the sense of quite and luxury. The dining is buffet style and my only negative comment about the whole experience was the desserts were sort of blah, but the meat was actually so chewy and tough that we couldn't eat it. Suggest you order it at least "medium". But hey there were lot's of other selections to choose from. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. As another reviewer mentioned the DikDiks were so fun see wondering around. This really is a must stay location in the Mara bush.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to post this review after your stay with us. It was an honor to have been able to provide you with our brand of refreshing African hospitality. I have also noted the comment on tough meat and we are looking closely into it with the chef to ensure that next time you visit us the meat will be to perfection.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed three nights at this game camp and thought our previous camp experience couldn't be topped, but it was. The individual tents were stunning and the game drives amazing. We saw all the big 5 plus thousands of animals grazing and hunting. All of the staff are very capable and helpful, but our driver Edward had 20/10 vision combined with incredible knowledge about the animals. It was a delight to go on the drives with him. Moreen in the restaurant was a particular delight and will be long remembered. The camp is large (75 tents) but in the end the numbers didn't deter from a great experience. We stayed in a tent that was farthest from the reception/restaurant area and loved the isolation.
John and Kathy

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear John and Kathy,
We are truly humbled by your review and your 5 star scoring of the experience you had here at Sarova Mara Game Camp. Thank you for the special mention of Edward, Maureen and we have shared your feedback with the team to continue uplifting their service standards.
We look forward to hosting you once again.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our family of 2 adults an 2 kids aged 5 and 3 stayed at the mara sarova for 5 nights in may 2013..

Beautiful property, nice tents with hot packs tucked into our beds at night, greatbuffets with western, indian and local food, which we thoroughly enjoyed...
The staff were so friendly and ready to please the guests...One of the ladies at the restaurant even did my daughter's hair, african style plaits...a superb experience of .african hospitality ...
We had game drives twice a day...the lodge is well located... In fact lions can be spotted a couple of kms away from the lodge...
A child friendly place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
its a great pleasure reading your review of our camp on TripAdvisor. Am glad that you and your family enjoyed the stay here at Sarova Mara Game Camp and your Safari was most rewarding with animal sitings close to the camp. I am particularly pleased to note that you felt our staff provided excellent hospitality. Here at Sarova Mara Game Camp we strive to ensure all our guests including and especially the young ones have a most memorable stay while with us.
We look forward to providing our unique brand of Refreshing African Hospitality during your next visit to the Mara.
Kind Regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Fondo de les Neus, Spain
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I say any day you see a DikDik is a good day and here they come to the tent to say " Have a good one " !
The camp is a great stay in the over crowded Mara.The welcome is genuine and the whole experience a satisfying one. The tents are a wee bit small but well situated and a pleasant walk to the main block. The food is well presented and served by enthusiastic and talented chefs , Big John ( both in character and professionalism ) is a real gem and made real efforts to please every one.The staff in general from Front Office via Housekeeping to Service guys and gals were excellent and always smiling --- try looking after people day after day and keep smiling , it is not easy !!!
And there were the DikDiks !!

Room Tip: Some tents are a bit far but the walk can be worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our camp on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be ever smiling. I have passed your praise to Chef John who is glad that his services and food met your satisfaction.
We (all staff and the dik diks...) look forward to your next visit!
Karibu Sana

Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.