We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5*+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“5*+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This game reserve is great with lots of animals, the food is good quality with a very good choice, the staff are great and very friendly and polite , rooms are terrific, it would be hard to find better , A* for all

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience in the Mara on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure hosting you here. I am pleased that you enjoyed our food at the Isokon Restaurant. We hope that we will get another opportunity to be of service to you here in at Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Once again Karibu Sana!
Kind regards,
Msengeti Francis, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    129
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
180
205
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent place, unfortunately we had just two days for Masai Mara so our stay in Sarova Mara was just one night. Staff was extremely friendly and hopeful. Masai warriors dance was just nice. Mosquito replant was provided in the tent, very useful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased to note that you found our staff extremely friendly and helpful. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great and do feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.
Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.
Kind regards,
Msengeti Francis, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights, as a part of our first safari in Kenya. I really liked the hotel, our tent was well equiped, with a fully functioning bathroom, a spacious double bed and a terrace. The location of the hotel is great as well, as it's inside of the park and you get get to the animals fairly quick. You find everything you need on the premises, including a restaurant, a swimmingpool and a bar. Wifi is available, but they do charge you for it. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Nikelin,
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are ecstatic to note that we were able to make your first Safari in Kenya that much more memorable by providing you with our unique brand of Refreshing African Hospitality. Sarova Mara Game Camp is conveniently places just inside the park immediately after the main gate into Maasai Mara Game reserve making it ideal where you are able to do your game drives immediately you arrive in the Mara and yet not be too far from the lodge.
Welcome once again when you do your next safari to the Mara, and do feel free to contact us to make your stay even more memorable.
Kind regards,
Msengeti Francis, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very comfortable tent but with fully equipped shower, toilet and handbasin. Was in a great location. In the mara so animals appeared almost the minute you exited the gates.

We were informed it was all inclusive but this did not include soft drinks or alcohol so make sure you have provisions to pay for these.There was always a large choice to food available as it was buffet service and meal times were very convenient.
Word of advice - take some small change with you as everyone expects a tip.

Trip booked through http://www.explorerkenya.com/ who were fab and we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Adeline,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on your stay with us.
Am happy that you found our tents comfortable and well appointed. I have also noted with concern the issue on drinks which I will be sharing with our partners to ensure clients are comprehensively informed prior to arrival at the lodge. We value such feedback as it helps us be able to provide excellent service to make your stay enjoyable.
I welcome you once again to Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Kind regards,
Msengeti Francis, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sarova Mara Game Camp and it was absolutely fantastic! The accommodation was amazing, the service incredible, and everything else – the food, the atmosphere, the facilities etc. – were brilliant. We were lucky enough to stay in a Club Tent, which I’d highly recommend.

We’d like to say a huge thank you to Simon (Bar Manager) and his team for the wonderful private dinner, and to the rest of the crew for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Go for the Club Tent! Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Jeremy,
It’s a great pleasure to read your review of your stay with us at Sarova Mara Game Camp!
I have shared your comments with the team at the Bar who provided you with the private deck dinner during your stay and they are pleased that it was memorable to you and your wife. On your return we hope that we will be able to take you for the sun downer cocktails out in the bush as you watch the sun set over the Mara plains sipping on a cold one!
Karibu (Welcome) once again to the Mara and do feel free to contact us directly to make your next trip most memorable.
Kind regards,
Msengeti Francis, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I booked for a national park and coastal resort holiday in wonderful Kenya and this was done via John Ndegwa at Aramati Safaris in Nairobi (Note to readers that John and his team are fantastic and went out of their way to organise from start to finish our holiday and made it extra special. The organisation from the greeting at Nairobi Airoprt to Masai Mara to Mombassa beach resort and back to take off at Nairobi was excellent).

The Savora Mara Game Camp was brilliant in all respects...tent was great, staff were friendly, pleasant and efficient. Thank you and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on your stay in Sarova Mara Game Camp.
It was our pleasure hosting you here and in Kenya. We hope that you will return soon to enjoy our Refreshing African Hospitality once again.
Welcome back!

Kind regards,
Msengeti Francis
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Well what can i say about the overall experience...It was a wonderful experience to visit the Maasai Mara game camp and stayed at the Sarova mara hotel...Living in a tent (#28) in jungle was a unique yet enjoyable experience and on top of it hotel was good enough to support it...Though this time i came on a business visit and took off to see the Maasai life but next time definitely i will bring my family along with me to see things more closely and in detail to enjoy it to fullest...Hats off to Sarova for maintaining such a property in the Jungle...Keep it up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sadiq S,
It is a pleasure reading your review of our camp! We are happy we were able to give you a wonderful experience and we look forward to hosting your family when you bring them over. Kindly get in touch on sarova.mara@sarovahotels.com for us to be able to enhance and personalize your family’s stay with us.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing quite captures the true spirit of East Africa, like a safari in Kenya’s richest game reserve, the Maasai Mara. Sarova Mara Game Camp offers front seats to nature’s most breathtaking show - the wildebeest migration. The endless plains of East Africa are the setting for the world’s greatest wildlife spectacle where, from the vast Serengeti plains to the champagne colored hills of Kenya’s Maasai Mara, over 1.4 million wildebeest and 200,000 zebra and gazelle, relentlessly tracked by Africa’s great predators, migrate in a clockwise fashion over 1,800 miles each year in search of rain ripened grass. Sarova Mara Game Camp is well positioned to enjoy this unique phenomenon. The rolling plains around the Camp are teeming with wildebeest, gazelles and zebras, during the migration months and the Camp is situated right in the center of their migration path. Sarova Mara Game Camp is also the ideal choice for those seeking a richer experience of Maasai Mara that goes much beyond just game drives. By virtue of its location and layout, the Camp offers an unparalleled plethora of activities and experiences from luxury tented living to bird-watching, mini golf, sport fishing and a unique insight into the Maasai culture at the adjoining Maasai village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.