We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place can not be beat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Save Saved
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Monrovia, Liberia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This place can not be beat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed in Mid-April. Excellent reception, very clean facility, well staffed. Even have in-house doctor. Standard room was extremely comfortable. Everything you need is in the room. Food was buffet style and much of it cooked to order. Nice pool. Generators go off between 2400 and 0400. Flash-light and candles in room. Would stay there again without a doubt. Highly recommended. No need to look elsewhere during your safari.

Room Tip: Rooms near main lodge will be a little noisier due to generator and events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    126
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
173
192
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while doing game drives they the Mara. I am not a camper, but was able to survive in these tents!! King sized bed, running water and hot water bottles at night made me a happy camper!! There are no doors or locks just tent zippers. We had no problems with this at all. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was the best!! Best bread pudding for dessert! We saw a lot of animals while game driving and even got stuck in the mud super close to a herd of elephants. We even visited the Maasai village while staying here. That was an Experience I will never forget and I would recommend it. Just wear some closed toe shoes you will walk thru mud and cow dung. You will learn a lot from them and how different we live.
We loved coming back at night and sitting by the fire pit while drinking a Tusker or two. This was the busiest place we stayed, but it was still quiet and very enjoyable.

Just beware this is about 39km down the bumpiest road ever!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very professional hotell, used to groups. Food and restaurant was very good and the "tent" luxourious! The best part was naturally outside the hotell area. We saw leopard, lions, buffalos, both white and black rhinos, chakals, hyeenas, elefants and my favorites - giraffas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Make sure you get a club tent. Well worth the money. You can sit on your porch and watch the animals.

The other tents just do not cut it.

We visited kenya on a lion world tour package. Wonderful pricing. Super value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did stay here 3 nights with our children (8 and 10 yo) this to have a perfect closing of our great safari with Africa Veterans Safaris. Helpful and friendly staff and a great location. The connected family tents are just perfect ! During breakfast, lunch and dinner everybody was very attentive and helpfull ! Very happy that we had this very positive experiene !

Room Tip: Connected family tents are perfect when travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First time here and just loved it. We upgraded on arrival to one of the luxury tents overlooking the camp and were not disappointed. made such a difference and the extra cost was worth it. The peace and tranquility were almost overwhelming.
The tents themselves were just lovely. When we stayed the temperatures dropped a bit at night and it was quite cold. the best thing ever one night was walking back to the tent in the evening after dinner and finding three hot water bottles had been placed in our bed! What a lovely touch that was, and so needed :)
All staff were lovely and friendly, and always at great pains, especially in the restaurant, to explain all the daily dishes to you. Must admit, I am quite used to going to hotels where the buffet dinners are huge and high quality with loads of choice. Although there was not as much choice here as I have been used to we always found at least one or two items each night that we absolutely loved, and always went back for more.
The hotel is perfectly located for the game drives, I think we did six in our four day stay. The early morning drives were my favourite, and actually really romantic. Luckily just me and my fiance and driver. It was very special and we have memories that we will always cherish from here.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can! Negotiate with the reception for a better deal, we did and it worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombasa, kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our 6th visit to this camp was met with the same hospitality as with the previous trips. Ken our driver received us with a cold glass of passion juice.Then he took us for a 3 hour game drive and had the pleasure to see the king of the jungle with 3 females and 8 cubs.What a start to our 5 day trip. The team led by manager Francis F. @ B.manager Mike cook Gilbert barman Daqlous and the restof the staff were impeccable in their service and made sure that all our needs were met. Once again bravo and well done Saravo group you make us proud. We will be back you can be assured of that !

Room Tip: Club rooms are the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing quite captures the true spirit of East Africa, like a safari in Kenya’s richest game reserve, the Maasai Mara. Sarova Mara Game Camp offers front seats to nature’s most breathtaking show - the wildebeest migration. The endless plains of East Africa are the setting for the world’s greatest wildlife spectacle where, from the vast Serengeti plains to the champagne colored hills of Kenya’s Maasai Mara, over 1.4 million wildebeest and 200,000 zebra and gazelle, relentlessly tracked by Africa’s great predators, migrate in a clockwise fashion over 1,800 miles each year in search of rain ripened grass. Sarova Mara Game Camp is well positioned to enjoy this unique phenomenon. The rolling plains around the Camp are teeming with wildebeest, gazelles and zebras, during the migration months and the Camp is situated right in the center of their migration path. Sarova Mara Game Camp is also the ideal choice for those seeking a richer experience of Maasai Mara that goes much beyond just game drives. By virtue of its location and layout, the Camp offers an unparalleled plethora of activities and experiences from luxury tented living to bird-watching, mini golf, sport fishing and a unique insight into the Maasai culture at the adjoining Maasai village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.