We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First time here and just loved it. We upgraded on arrival to one of the luxury tents overlooking the camp and were not disappointed. made such a difference and the extra cost was worth it. The peace and tranquility were almost overwhelming.
The tents themselves were just lovely. When we stayed the temperatures dropped a bit at night and it was quite cold. the best thing ever one night was walking back to the tent in the evening after dinner and finding three hot water bottles had been placed in our bed! What a lovely touch that was, and so needed :)
All staff were lovely and friendly, and always at great pains, especially in the restaurant, to explain all the daily dishes to you. Must admit, I am quite used to going to hotels where the buffet dinners are huge and high quality with loads of choice. Although there was not as much choice here as I have been used to we always found at least one or two items each night that we absolutely loved, and always went back for more.
The hotel is perfectly located for the game drives, I think we did six in our four day stay. The early morning drives were my favourite, and actually really romantic. Luckily just me and my fiance and driver. It was very special and we have memories that we will always cherish from here.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can! Negotiate with the reception for a better deal, we did and it worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    128
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
176
198
22
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mombasa, kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our 6th visit to this camp was met with the same hospitality as with the previous trips. Ken our driver received us with a cold glass of passion juice.Then he took us for a 3 hour game drive and had the pleasure to see the king of the jungle with 3 females and 8 cubs.What a start to our 5 day trip. The team led by manager Francis F. @ B.manager Mike cook Gilbert barman Daqlous and the restof the staff were impeccable in their service and made sure that all our needs were met. Once again bravo and well done Saravo group you make us proud. We will be back you can be assured of that !

Room Tip: Club rooms are the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family (me, husband, 8 year old daughter and father) recently stayed at the Sarova Mara Game Camp for 2 nights as the first stop on our 7 day safari and it was first class all the way. We got the "family" tent, which is 2 tents inside a large cabin which was spacious and had everything we needed (flashlight, mosquito ring, bottled water etc).
The food was excellent, lots of variety including Indian vegetarian and some African dishes which were nice to try. My daughter loved the tilapia.
The service was outstanding, and we felt very spoiled. There were so many nice things, such as how staff went into the tents in the evening and put down the mosquito nets and put a hot water bottle in the bed, to having a special birthday cake for my dad, complete with sparkler, which they presented in a group singing "Jambo Bwana" at dinner on our first night. All this little touches made it so memorable for all of us.

The pool was well-kept, and the grounds were lovely and rustic, with tiny dik diks roaming around.There is a nice organic garden on the property as well.

We went on a tour of a nearby Maasai village which was interesting and helps support their community.

Of course the Maasai Mara is a fabulous game reserve, and we were lucky enough to catch the Big Five but the Sarova Mara camp just took things to the next level. 5 stars from us!

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are quite far away from the main building which can be a bit of a walk, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having visited competitor resorts, I must say that this was a fabulous experience! From the ambience and theme of the lodge, to the staff, to the food - everything was exceptional. The lodge has done everything possible to ensure utmost comfort of guests especially if one feels hesitant about the idea of having to stay in tented camps - hot water bottles, torches, candles etc are at your disposal! In fact this is the place to be for a complete your bush experience!

On a similar note, on of the chefs knows as Gilbert was very friendly as he went an extra mile to ensure the food served was excellent. Douglas of the bar was also great as he took the initiative to rectify mistakes made by trainees in cocktail orders! Both gentleman are very talented indeed in their areas of speciality.

I would not hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After a very long and rough drive in from Nairobi (but exciting) this was like an oasis just stunning.
We stayed in the 5 star tents with king size beds and ensuites . Every morning and evening we were greeted by a family of dikdiks so cute. At night we were entertained by the Masai people and the food was Devine. Loved the sarova lodge chain of hotels they are all stunning. All your washing is done which is great when away for a few months like we were.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong it is perfect. Unless you are older or have an injury of some sort request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sarova Mara provided a luxurious retreat within the Masa Mara where we could relax in style between game drives. It offered a pool area complete with bar service, special evening valentine"s dinner in the gardens, a buffet restaurant with lots of variety, beautiful grounds and luxurious tented camps complete with king beds, mosquito netting and beautiful tile bathrooms with large walk in showers. The tented camps all had decks for lounging with many having views overlooking the Mara. Staff was very friendly and service was good. an on site travel rep was available to book excursions from hot air ballooning to masai village visits or walking safaris. all in all a wonderful place to spend several days. The area is renowned for having sitings of all of the Big 5. This was delivered and then some as we saw rhinos mating on valentines day, a hyena pack steal an old lions fresh kill and both a cheetah and a lion pride feasting on their kill. All in all an amazing experience in a phenomenal location. The one negative was the lack of fitness facilities for workouts when not on game drives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is awesome!
The safari portion is incredible with great drivers/guides, and really cool open top landrover jeeps. They have a few options for when you go out on safari too.
The hotel is incredible - the lobby is really cool, great gift shop, great pool area and wi-fi that you pay for. The food there is incredible!! It's buffet style but it's all so incredibly good with tons of different styles of food to choose from.
The tent-rooms are amazing. It's a luxury hotel room inside a tent basically. Really comfortable beds, great linens, great shower with hot water and good water pressure. Totally beautiful grounds too.
You will hear the wildlife at night which can be really loud at times, and they shut the power off at midnight and it's so dark you can't see your hand in front of your face - but it's all part of the incredible experience - and they leave flashlights in the room for you too as well as mosquito nets around the beds. I definitely recommend this place for both safari and staying overnight.
There's a nearby airstrip you can fly into too which saves some of the drive time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing quite captures the true spirit of East Africa, like a safari in Kenya’s richest game reserve, the Maasai Mara. Sarova Mara Game Camp offers front seats to nature’s most breathtaking show - the wildebeest migration. The endless plains of East Africa are the setting for the world’s greatest wildlife spectacle where, from the vast Serengeti plains to the champagne colored hills of Kenya’s Maasai Mara, over 1.4 million wildebeest and 200,000 zebra and gazelle, relentlessly tracked by Africa’s great predators, migrate in a clockwise fashion over 1,800 miles each year in search of rain ripened grass. Sarova Mara Game Camp is well positioned to enjoy this unique phenomenon. The rolling plains around the Camp are teeming with wildebeest, gazelles and zebras, during the migration months and the Camp is situated right in the center of their migration path. Sarova Mara Game Camp is also the ideal choice for those seeking a richer experience of Maasai Mara that goes much beyond just game drives. By virtue of its location and layout, the Camp offers an unparalleled plethora of activities and experiences from luxury tented living to bird-watching, mini golf, sport fishing and a unique insight into the Maasai culture at the adjoining Maasai village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.