We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home that is Mara Sarova Game Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
mombasa, kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home away from home that is Mara Sarova Game Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our 6th visit to this camp was met with the same hospitality as with the previous trips. Ken our driver received us with a cold glass of passion juice.Then he took us for a 3 hour game drive and had the pleasure to see the king of the jungle with 3 females and 8 cubs.What a start to our 5 day trip. The team led by manager Francis F. @ B.manager Mike cook Gilbert barman Daqlous and the restof the staff were impeccable in their service and made sure that all our needs were met. Once again bravo and well done Saravo group you make us proud. We will be back you can be assured of that !

Room Tip: Club rooms are the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    150
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
213
222
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family (me, husband, 8 year old daughter and father) recently stayed at the Sarova Mara Game Camp for 2 nights as the first stop on our 7 day safari and it was first class all the way. We got the "family" tent, which is 2 tents inside a large cabin which was spacious and had everything we needed (flashlight, mosquito ring, bottled water etc).
The food was excellent, lots of variety including Indian vegetarian and some African dishes which were nice to try. My daughter loved the tilapia.
The service was outstanding, and we felt very spoiled. There were so many nice things, such as how staff went into the tents in the evening and put down the mosquito nets and put a hot water bottle in the bed, to having a special birthday cake for my dad, complete with sparkler, which they presented in a group singing "Jambo Bwana" at dinner on our first night. All this little touches made it so memorable for all of us.

The pool was well-kept, and the grounds were lovely and rustic, with tiny dik diks roaming around.There is a nice organic garden on the property as well.

We went on a tour of a nearby Maasai village which was interesting and helps support their community.

Of course the Maasai Mara is a fabulous game reserve, and we were lucky enough to catch the Big Five but the Sarova Mara camp just took things to the next level. 5 stars from us!

Room Tip: Some of the cabins are quite far away from the main building which can be a bit of a walk, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having visited competitor resorts, I must say that this was a fabulous experience! From the ambience and theme of the lodge, to the staff, to the food - everything was exceptional. The lodge has done everything possible to ensure utmost comfort of guests especially if one feels hesitant about the idea of having to stay in tented camps - hot water bottles, torches, candles etc are at your disposal! In fact this is the place to be for a complete your bush experience!

On a similar note, on of the chefs knows as Gilbert was very friendly as he went an extra mile to ensure the food served was excellent. Douglas of the bar was also great as he took the initiative to rectify mistakes made by trainees in cocktail orders! Both gentleman are very talented indeed in their areas of speciality.

I would not hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After a very long and rough drive in from Nairobi (but exciting) this was like an oasis just stunning.
We stayed in the 5 star tents with king size beds and ensuites . Every morning and evening we were greeted by a family of dikdiks so cute. At night we were entertained by the Masai people and the food was Devine. Loved the sarova lodge chain of hotels they are all stunning. All your washing is done which is great when away for a few months like we were.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong it is perfect. Unless you are older or have an injury of some sort request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sarova Mara provided a luxurious retreat within the Masa Mara where we could relax in style between game drives. It offered a pool area complete with bar service, special evening valentine"s dinner in the gardens, a buffet restaurant with lots of variety, beautiful grounds and luxurious tented camps complete with king beds, mosquito netting and beautiful tile bathrooms with large walk in showers. The tented camps all had decks for lounging with many having views overlooking the Mara. Staff was very friendly and service was good. an on site travel rep was available to book excursions from hot air ballooning to masai village visits or walking safaris. all in all a wonderful place to spend several days. The area is renowned for having sitings of all of the Big 5. This was delivered and then some as we saw rhinos mating on valentines day, a hyena pack steal an old lions fresh kill and both a cheetah and a lion pride feasting on their kill. All in all an amazing experience in a phenomenal location. The one negative was the lack of fitness facilities for workouts when not on game drives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is awesome!
The safari portion is incredible with great drivers/guides, and really cool open top landrover jeeps. They have a few options for when you go out on safari too.
The hotel is incredible - the lobby is really cool, great gift shop, great pool area and wi-fi that you pay for. The food there is incredible!! It's buffet style but it's all so incredibly good with tons of different styles of food to choose from.
The tent-rooms are amazing. It's a luxury hotel room inside a tent basically. Really comfortable beds, great linens, great shower with hot water and good water pressure. Totally beautiful grounds too.
You will hear the wildlife at night which can be really loud at times, and they shut the power off at midnight and it's so dark you can't see your hand in front of your face - but it's all part of the incredible experience - and they leave flashlights in the room for you too as well as mosquito nets around the beds. I definitely recommend this place for both safari and staying overnight.
There's a nearby airstrip you can fly into too which saves some of the drive time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds west yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

the tented sarova mara game camp is exquisite in all aspects amid the masai mara first class hospitality very comfortable beds and beautifully placed amid the trees dont be put off bythe term tented it only refers to the front of the bungalow, the food excellent and the staff brilliant the floor shows are very good with real maasai warriors dancing.have travelled the world and this will take some beating. would recommend without reservation at all

Room Tip: travelled with family relations and would stay in any of the bungalows allocated they are all superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our property and for choosing it to be your lodge of choice during your trip to the Masai Mara. It is indeed a great pleasure when we receive such a review and recommendation from our guests. We at Sarova Hotels strive to provide all our valued guests with refreshing African hospitality.
Am happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the Masai dance performance within the lodge. This is also part of our efforts to work with the communities we operate in. Some of the dancers who performed superbly for you are also part of our work force and all come from the community living next to Masai Mara Game Reserve.
We look forward to hosting you once again at Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maasai Mara National Reserve
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
6.5 mi away
Porini Mara Camp
Porini Mara Camp
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
31.2 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
17.3 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.