We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best of the bunch of sarova hotels stayed at whilst on safari in kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
leeds west yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the best of the bunch of sarova hotels stayed at whilst on safari in kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

the tented sarova mara game camp is exquisite in all aspects amid the masai mara first class hospitality very comfortable beds and beautifully placed amid the trees dont be put off bythe term tented it only refers to the front of the bungalow, the food excellent and the staff brilliant the floor shows are very good with real maasai warriors dancing.have travelled the world and this will take some beating. would recommend without reservation at all

Room Tip: travelled with family relations and would stay in any of the bungalows allocated they are all superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our property and for choosing it to be your lodge of choice during your trip to the Masai Mara. It is indeed a great pleasure when we receive such a review and recommendation from our guests. We at Sarova Hotels strive to provide all our valued guests with refreshing African hospitality.
Am happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the Masai dance performance within the lodge. This is also part of our efforts to work with the communities we operate in. Some of the dancers who performed superbly for you are also part of our work force and all come from the community living next to Masai Mara Game Reserve.
We look forward to hosting you once again at Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    129
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
180
205
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Sarova Mara Tented Camp is beautiful, a place to enjoy and relax. The tents are beautifully decorated and fully serviced. My sister and I had a wonderful time. We went for morning and evening game drives, danced with Maasai warriors, swam and walked around the camp. The food is absolutely delicious, staff members are warm, friendly and very efficient. Everything was far beyond our expectations. Simply superb!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our camp. It was a pleasure hosting you and your sister during your trip to the Maasai Mara. I note that you found our staff to be warm friendly and efficient and I have shared your comments with them.
Thank you once again for patronizing our lodge and we look forward to hosting you once again at Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is fantastic. Your greeted as soon as you get out of your vehicle with a wet cloth to wash your hands with. As soon as you walk across the bridge to reception your instructed to go to the bar and have a drink while they check you in. Your bags are carried to your tent and you are given a tour of your tent and how everything works. Elecricity is turned off from midnight to 4am. We chose a club tent which is by far as good as a 4 star hotel. Patio, walk in shower, comfortable beds with mosquito netting, dressing area, robes, slippers, mini bar, desk, turn down service and much more. No keys to your room, only zippers or doors on club tents. Property has electic fence, very safe. Food superb. Game drives twice a day with your driver guide, the most eciting part of all. The staff was superb. I highly recommend Sarova Mara! My only suggestion is to smooth the road going into camp, very rough.

Room Tip: Club Tent #65 is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It is indeed a great pleasure to read your comments on the different aspects of our service and your experience here. We pride ourselves in providing Refreshing African Hospitality to all our guests.
I have shared your review with my team and they are absolutely delighted that you found their services superb.
I would also like to thank you for pointing out the road into the lodge. Indeed it is quite rough and we are working with the local authorities to ensure that it is repaired as soon as possible.
Thank you once again for your review and comments. We look forward to hosting you once again at Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A luxury hotel! Very good service, by far the best of Kenya.
They also have a Masai guy in reception who speaks English and Spanish, is called Koitumet Saitoti, For a Spanish-speaking person like me was a real pleasure to know i Saitoti, good disposition, friendly and luxurious attention.
The best hotel in Kenya!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure that I read your comments. We are glad that you found our service to be very good and the lodge luxurious. Saitoti our Spanish speaking receptionist comes from the local Masai community (from the village right next to the park gates actually!) I am proud that he was of service to you.
I trust that we will patronize our property in the future and give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

the sarova Mara Game Camp is an experience to cherish, their tented rooms are fabulous and are as close to nature as it can get.

The food was superb and the game drives simply exciting. The staff goes out of their way to serve you and ensure your comfortable.

The buffet meals were delicious and quite a fabulous spread including indian dishes and even indian vegetarian meals like simple dal and rice were a delight.

Their deserts are unforgettable and you can just not stop at one :)

a must stay property while in the Mara.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Jambo! It is a pleasure to read your review about your experience in the Camp. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed every bit of your stay right from the accommodation in the Tents, food and the Safaris.
At Sarova Hotels we pride ourselves in providing a culinary experience of the different cultures in Kenya i.e our Best of Kenya. Indian food has formed part of the Kenyan culinary offer since the formative years of the country due to trade between India and the Kenyan coast. The Indian cuisine provided in Kenya has added a touch of the local flavors to give it its own unique and wonderful taste. We hope in your next trip to Kenya we would be able to tantalize your taste buds further with our offer!
I have shared your compliments with my staff and am glad that you enjoyed our refreshing hospitality.
It will be a great honor to host you again during your next trip to the Masai Mara.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights in January and enjoyed it very much. Our tent had a comfortable king size bed, netting, and was very roomy. Similar to the other resorts, all meals were served buffet style. There was a wide variety of food and it was extremely good. Both soup and salads were “live prepared”. This meant someone would create them the way you liked - a very nice touch. The young lady who prepared the soup was a delight. Except for one exceptionally rude waiter at night, the staff was friendly if not terribly outgoing.

Electricity was turned off mid afternoon and late at night which was common in the tented camps. The tents had a hair dryer and a burner to get rid of insects. For such a nice place it was strange to have thin and somewhat worn towels. The young man who serviced our room (Tent 7) was very friendly and attentive.

Nice pool area, gift shop, bar, and lounge area.

Please note that the last 500 meters on the road to the resort were some of the roughest on our trip. The ride alone will give you a massage.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend the Mara Sarova to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing our camp; it was indeed a pleasure serving you.
I have noted that you liked our buffet more so the live salad section which is an idea to ensure that all guests get salads prepared as per their preference. I have shared your compliments with Yvonne the lady that prepared the soup and the room attendant.
Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the sloppy service that you received from the waiter in the restaurant, this has already been addressed conclusively and corrective action taken. I would like to assure you that is definitely not our standard of service.
I am glad that you found our tents, pool, gift shop, bar and lounge area to be good and made your stay comfortable.
Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to offer you our refreshing African hospitality during your next Safari in the Maasai Mara.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very strategically located tented accomodation in middle of Masai Mara safari in kenya. if you are looking to catch a natural habitat of animals then this is a place to go. Although staff is nice and friendly but they donot reply promptly to e mails. It is recommended to book your accomodation well in advance with safari van.

Room Tip: Try to get room closer to reception / dining hall as tents are bit away and if it is raining you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read your review about our camp; It was a pleasure hosting you.
I would like to personally apologize for the slowness in replying to your mail communication. This is being looked into to improve our speed of response to our valued customer’s requests.
I look forward to hosting you once again at Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing quite captures the true spirit of East Africa, like a safari in Kenya’s richest game reserve, the Maasai Mara. Sarova Mara Game Camp offers front seats to nature’s most breathtaking show - the wildebeest migration. The endless plains of East Africa are the setting for the world’s greatest wildlife spectacle where, from the vast Serengeti plains to the champagne colored hills of Kenya’s Maasai Mara, over 1.4 million wildebeest and 200,000 zebra and gazelle, relentlessly tracked by Africa’s great predators, migrate in a clockwise fashion over 1,800 miles each year in search of rain ripened grass. Sarova Mara Game Camp is well positioned to enjoy this unique phenomenon. The rolling plains around the Camp are teeming with wildebeest, gazelles and zebras, during the migration months and the Camp is situated right in the center of their migration path. Sarova Mara Game Camp is also the ideal choice for those seeking a richer experience of Maasai Mara that goes much beyond just game drives. By virtue of its location and layout, the Camp offers an unparalleled plethora of activities and experiences from luxury tented living to bird-watching, mini golf, sport fishing and a unique insight into the Maasai culture at the adjoining Maasai village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.