We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Mara Sarova” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Save Saved
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Review of Mara Sarova”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very strategically located tented accomodation in middle of Masai Mara safari in kenya. if you are looking to catch a natural habitat of animals then this is a place to go. Although staff is nice and friendly but they donot reply promptly to e mails. It is recommended to book your accomodation well in advance with safari van.

Room Tip: Try to get room closer to reception / dining hall as tents are bit away and if it is raining you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read your review about our camp; It was a pleasure hosting you.
I would like to personally apologize for the slowness in replying to your mail communication. This is being looked into to improve our speed of response to our valued customer’s requests.
I look forward to hosting you once again at Sarova Mara Game Camp.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    112
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
156
170
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was not expecting to find such a nice place in the middle of the savannas, it definitively makes your safari experience even more spectacular.

The rooms are really cozy, the tent instead of the concrete walls enhances the experience, but it doesnt mean you will no have comfort, once the tent is very spacious, with a comfortable king size bed, and a very decent bathroom (this one in concrete walls). You can easily forget that you in a Natural Reserve and only the animal's noises in the middle of the night remember you where you are.

The hotel infrastructure in general e pretty decent, especially considering that you are not going to spend many hours in the hotel. Food is ok, dont expect 5 stars dishes, but you can find good quality food and some variety in the buffet.

The staff is a special chapter of this hotel (actually not only of the hotel, but Kenyans in general), they are very friendly, always with a smile and making your stay pleasant.

Very good hotel! Congratulations for the fantastic place you have there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive feedback on our lodge, Am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your safari here in the Mara. I have passed your compliments to the staff here and they are happy that they were able to make your stay special.
I trust you will give us another opportunity in future to be of service to you once again.

Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sarova Mara Game Camp is an extraordinary place, from which to launch your experience of the Masai Mara, which is an extraordinary experience. The food, the accommodation, the staff were all fantastic, and of course being in the park and the safaris were the greatest aspect of it all. Just an amazing experience. We traveled in June 2011.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Jambo! Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay with us. We are pleased to note that you found our services to be extraordinary. I have shared this with my staff and we endeavor to make our services better each and every time.
We look forward to serving you in your next trip to the Mara.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

By far the most amazing resort I've ever been to! ( and am not just saying this coz am from Kenya). Everything was perfect. The food, the tents the staff. We absolutely had no complains at all. The resort is a little pricy but u get what u paid for. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our property on TripAdvisor. It is indeed a pleasure to note that you found your experience to be amazing and we will be happy to host you on your return visit to the Mara.
Karibu na Asante once again!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada Bay, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the most amazing place I have ever stayed. As is emphasized in the other reviews, it isn't only the property and location that make the experience, the staff are top notch as well. The photos on the website don't do it justice. And as it says on the site, you ARE the personal guest of the Camp Manager - thanks James - you are the consummate host. They managed every detail of our stay so that we didn't have to do anything - just show up at the appointed time - very relaxing. Special thanks to MOSES our Guide Extraordinaire. He went out of his way to make sure we didn't miss seeing any animal. His impromptu quizzing ensured that I not only learned the difference between the many types of antelope.but we booked through a local company based in diani beach called KENYANADVENTURES AND BEYOND SAFARIS.The price was soo good and the emails were soo fast doc was soo guick to respond the emails.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive review above! My staff and I are very happy to note that your stay was amazing. I am particularly proud that you found our staff to be top notch as it this reinforces our commitment to provide refreshing African hospitality to all our guests. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff, the dining room, the pool and the bar were great. Can't say enough good things about the people at the resort. We stayed there four days, and looked forward to seeing the staff in the dining hall. My friend got ill while we were there and they took care of him all day, checking on his comfort. The park is wonderful; it is my second time visiting the Maasai Mara. I am not in love with the tents. The first night there was an extra bed in our tent, making it very crowded. The second night they removed the extra bed, but you still hit your head on the tent when you stand up. The lighting in the luggage area is poor, making it difficult to see. In the morning when others were checking out it was noisy, hearing the wheels of the luggage on the stone walks. But it was clean and neat, and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our camp. We always appreciate feedback from our honored guests! I hope and trust your friend is now better. In deed we have a full time doctor in house for any emergencies which may occur during a guest stay. I have noted the areas for improvement which you have pointed out i.e. the height of the tent, the lighting and the noise during early morning. We are already taking steps to ensure that we resolve these issues so that you can come to love our tents. I trust that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I highly recommend to stay in this beautiful resort, made in the form a large number of tent like guest rooms. The rooms are well maintained. Everynight the bed is turned down and a hot water bottle is put in the bed. The settings is great with an oasis looking atmosphere. Staff are well attentive to guest's needs and are doing their best to keep you happy. Food is great and during my three days stay, I never found any food in their very large buffet that I did not like. Drinks are a bit expensive, especially their non-alcoholic fruit drinks, but other than that I found everything great and highly recommend a stay ion this beautiful and very well maintained resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure and honor hosting you at Sarova Mara Game Camp. Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and I am happy that your stay was most enjoyable. I have shared your commendation of the staff for their attentiveness as this is indeed embodied in our motto of Refreshing African Hospitality which we practice every single time we are in contact with the guests.
We trust that you will return to Kenya and to our camp for us to be of service to you again.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing quite captures the true spirit of East Africa, like a safari in Kenya’s richest game reserve, the Maasai Mara. Sarova Mara Game Camp offers front seats to nature’s most breathtaking show - the wildebeest migration. The endless plains of East Africa are the setting for the world’s greatest wildlife spectacle where, from the vast Serengeti plains to the champagne colored hills of Kenya’s Maasai Mara, over 1.4 million wildebeest and 200,000 zebra and gazelle, relentlessly tracked by Africa’s great predators, migrate in a clockwise fashion over 1,800 miles each year in search of rain ripened grass. Sarova Mara Game Camp is well positioned to enjoy this unique phenomenon. The rolling plains around the Camp are teeming with wildebeest, gazelles and zebras, during the migration months and the Camp is situated right in the center of their migration path. Sarova Mara Game Camp is also the ideal choice for those seeking a richer experience of Maasai Mara that goes much beyond just game drives. By virtue of its location and layout, the Camp offers an unparalleled plethora of activities and experiences from luxury tented living to bird-watching, mini golf, sport fishing and a unique insight into the Maasai culture at the adjoining Maasai village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.