We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life-changing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Life-changing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sarova Mara Game Camp is an extraordinary place, from which to launch your experience of the Masai Mara, which is an extraordinary experience. The food, the accommodation, the staff were all fantastic, and of course being in the park and the safaris were the greatest aspect of it all. Just an amazing experience. We traveled in June 2011.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Jambo! Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay with us. We are pleased to note that you found our services to be extraordinary. I have shared this with my staff and we endeavor to make our services better each and every time.
We look forward to serving you in your next trip to the Mara.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    143
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
198
214
24
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

By far the most amazing resort I've ever been to! ( and am not just saying this coz am from Kenya). Everything was perfect. The food, the tents the staff. We absolutely had no complains at all. The resort is a little pricy but u get what u paid for. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our property on TripAdvisor. It is indeed a pleasure to note that you found your experience to be amazing and we will be happy to host you on your return visit to the Mara.
Karibu na Asante once again!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada Bay, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was the most amazing place I have ever stayed. As is emphasized in the other reviews, it isn't only the property and location that make the experience, the staff are top notch as well. The photos on the website don't do it justice. And as it says on the site, you ARE the personal guest of the Camp Manager - thanks James - you are the consummate host. They managed every detail of our stay so that we didn't have to do anything - just show up at the appointed time - very relaxing. Special thanks to MOSES our Guide Extraordinaire. He went out of his way to make sure we didn't miss seeing any animal. His impromptu quizzing ensured that I not only learned the difference between the many types of antelope.but we booked through a local company based in diani beach called KENYANADVENTURES AND BEYOND SAFARIS.The price was soo good and the emails were soo fast doc was soo guick to respond the emails.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive review above! My staff and I are very happy to note that your stay was amazing. I am particularly proud that you found our staff to be top notch as it this reinforces our commitment to provide refreshing African hospitality to all our guests. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff, the dining room, the pool and the bar were great. Can't say enough good things about the people at the resort. We stayed there four days, and looked forward to seeing the staff in the dining hall. My friend got ill while we were there and they took care of him all day, checking on his comfort. The park is wonderful; it is my second time visiting the Maasai Mara. I am not in love with the tents. The first night there was an extra bed in our tent, making it very crowded. The second night they removed the extra bed, but you still hit your head on the tent when you stand up. The lighting in the luggage area is poor, making it difficult to see. In the morning when others were checking out it was noisy, hearing the wheels of the luggage on the stone walks. But it was clean and neat, and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our camp. We always appreciate feedback from our honored guests! I hope and trust your friend is now better. In deed we have a full time doctor in house for any emergencies which may occur during a guest stay. I have noted the areas for improvement which you have pointed out i.e. the height of the tent, the lighting and the noise during early morning. We are already taking steps to ensure that we resolve these issues so that you can come to love our tents. I trust that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I highly recommend to stay in this beautiful resort, made in the form a large number of tent like guest rooms. The rooms are well maintained. Everynight the bed is turned down and a hot water bottle is put in the bed. The settings is great with an oasis looking atmosphere. Staff are well attentive to guest's needs and are doing their best to keep you happy. Food is great and during my three days stay, I never found any food in their very large buffet that I did not like. Drinks are a bit expensive, especially their non-alcoholic fruit drinks, but other than that I found everything great and highly recommend a stay ion this beautiful and very well maintained resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure and honor hosting you at Sarova Mara Game Camp. Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and I am happy that your stay was most enjoyable. I have shared your commendation of the staff for their attentiveness as this is indeed embodied in our motto of Refreshing African Hospitality which we practice every single time we are in contact with the guests.
We trust that you will return to Kenya and to our camp for us to be of service to you again.
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Wow firstly staff r great they have the ethos nothing isctoobmuch. Second food is amazing not a great variety Sabin sarivavwhite sands but the quality if what is there is great. Fresh grills soups and breads excellent. You are staying in a tent but with a permanent attached bathroom, this not give much privacy when going to toilet especially with a dodgy tummy but is quite romantic. The swimming pool water is cold and not heated but u get used to it, the best but was the open fires at night and having a whiskey in the open air by the fire at night. Very good hitel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Am absolutely thrilled by your feedback on our camp! It is wonderfuly to ntoe that the staff are what impressed you most about the camp. In our quest to ensure that all our guests have a memorable safari we take great care of their culniary needs. Our best of Kenya menus are specially made to ensure that you have a great meal experience.
i trust that you will come again on safari and will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family stayed here for two, wonderful nights. The camp is beautiful, well maintained, and very comfortable; but the service was exceptional. Everyone was friendly, glad to help and so good with our 8 and 10 year old kids. After a morning game drive, we returned to cool, towels, a delicious lunch, and a clean room. The staff played with our kids in the pool, took them fishing and supplied archery equipment. It was an absolutely wonderful stay and I highly recommend a stay at this beautiful place in an amazing location.

Room Tip: The tents are well placed for privacy so I think any tent would be fine. We had tents #31 and 32 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis M, General Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our camp on TripAdvisor. I am happy that you and your family found our service to be exceptional. I note that you enjoyed our various animation activities which your children participated in. We strive to ensure that our guests experiences are wholesome and they are engaged to make a memorable safari. On your return take time to engage with the Masai guides in the lodge who will take you on our nature walk trail where you will learn allot on the culture of the Masai and their harmonious existence with nature.
Karibu (welcome in Swahili!)
Kind regards,
Francis Msengeti, Lodge Manager, Sarova Mara Game Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.