We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Create place to take a nap and rest for a safari. Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Mara Game Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Mara Game Camp to your Saves list
Sarova Mara Game Camp
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Lisboa
1 review
“Create place to take a nap and rest for a safari. Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Create place to take a nap and rest for a safari. Perfect.
lots of animations
Good food including breakfast.
good hospitality

Room Tip: look for lodge 61 ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    144
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
199
214
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shoreham-by-sea
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Tented rooms are great. Ours was just a standard tent, but was still lovely. Food was some of the best we had in 15 days. Staff were lovely, pool was small but very clean and refreshing. Good location - saw everything we could possibly want withing a 45 minute drive at max.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My family (wife and 7 year old daughter) visited Kenya from the 1st to the 8th of April 2011. This was our first time. We spent 1 night in Nairobi, 2 nights in Masai Mara, 2 nights in Nakuru and 2 nights in Amboseli in that order. Our stay at the Sarova Mara Game Camp was simply fabulous. The service we received was great. The tented camp room we stayed in was better than some of the hotel rooms that are on offer these days. Choice of food was good. However, they kept repeating more or less the same menu everyday. All meals are buffets. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

After a volunteer build in the northern part of Kenya (Bungoma Region), our group of 10 volunteers plus our 2 drivers spent two nights at this gorgeous hotel in November. The rooms were fantasic, each tent is essentially in its own nook of the grounds, with a view of either some vegetation or a small river, with very comfortable, large beds, plenty of storage for unpacking your suitcases, and a very elegantly designed bathroom, especially considering the walls are essentially tents. We went on 4 safaris while we we stayed there, and got to see all of Kenya's big five animals! We even saw a cheetah and her cub minutes after she killed an impala, so her cub could eat. Overall, my experience at this hotel could not have been made any better. I would be very reluctant to stay anywhere else but here!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

If you have not stayed at a Sarova owned hotel before then you have not experienced life! I have lived and traveled in Kenya for over 18 years and have never in my life enjoyed staying in any location (worldwide) as much as I enjoy their hotels. The Sarova Mara Game Camp has exceptional personnel working there, and you cannot leave the camp without feeling refreshed and rested. Hats off to Francis the manager, Caroline the Guest Relations Director, Caroline the Restaurant Director, Marcos who runs the clinic, and Grace who takes care of all my clients in the Tulia Massage area!
I can promise you there is not better service in ANY hotel you will ever stay at! The have set a very high standard for all the rest!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaraManager, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Greetings from the Mara.
I would like to first and foremost thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you and your clients at our lodge and indeed in other Sarova properties. All associates you have mentioned by name are great assets to us and I will personally ensure they get your appreciation of their good work. We hope to continually meet and exceed your expectations in the future as we welcome you back to your home in Kenya.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Perfect holiday gateway! Friendly staff, peaceful location, close to game viewing angle the food is wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaraManager, Manager at Sarova Mara Game Camp, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Greetings from the Mara! Thank you for giving us a chance and choosing to stay at our lodge. We are happy we were able to make your holiday getaway perfect. We are also glad that you enjoyed our food as we take pride in being able to provide our Refreshing African Hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Just got back from a 5 day African safari. Stayed at the Sarova chain of hotels in Nairobi, Lake Nakuru and Masai Mara. Worth every penny!! The Mara Game Camp facility was wonderful - out in the middle of Masai Mara Reserve but doesn't feel like you are roughing it. We had a family tent which was more than enough space for two adults, two kids. Everything was clean and comfortable. The food was fantastic (always something for everyone, especially picky kids). The staff was so friendly and helpful, made you feel right at home. Pool was a little cold for April but it didn't stop my kids from swimming. The games drives were simply amazing. Top notch all the way around. The only thing that I would warn is the drive to the camp is very rough (remember this is a huge reserve so it's remote). 60km of potholes and 27km of off road dirt track - so two hours of hard driving conditions. These is an air strip somewhere in the park and this is the way we would go next time around.

Room Tip: Tents away from main building are more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Mara Game Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Mara Game Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve 72493 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Mara Game Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Mara Game Camp is located in the heart of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in South West Kenya. It is 260 km from Nairobi, a 1-hour flight from Nairobi, 20-minute drive from the airstrip and a 5 1/2-hours drive from Nairobi on the new tarmac road. It is set on an elevation surrounded by two streams. The Camp is uniquely laid out over the sprawling grounds that include rolling manicured greens, a virtual mini forest of indigenous shrubs and exotic trees, a large pond stocked with fish, mini bird sanctuary and an authentic Maasai village adjoining the Camp. The Camp includes 20 club tents, 51 standard tents, 2 family tents, a main restaurant, bar and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. In addition, it has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. The entire Camp is surrounded by a 24 hour electric fence. The climate is very pleasant with clear warm days and cool nights Temperatures average from 26ْ C during the day to 12ْ C at night. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Sarova Mara Game Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Mara Game Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Sarova Mara Game Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Mara Game Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.