We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had expected better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here last week during our weeklong Safari in Kenya. The property itself is nice and well maintained, but the location is not prime. It is based on the edge of the Game park and the access roads are terrible. It takes about 15 mins to get into the park and start seeing any animals.
The food also lacked variety and taste. Service of the staff though was quite good.
Next time round we will look for a lodge or camp located in the park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    180
    65
    15
    8
See reviews for
91
168
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for two nights. We travelled from Nakuru, via Marok, and the last 80 km were on a dirt track through Masai villages. It felt like we were driving to the ends of the earth. Just when we thought we couldn't take any more bumps in our safari van, our driver turned into a steep driveway and there we were in the most pretty, rustic lodge. Our room was in a cottage not far from the pool - it was huge and beautifully decorated, with a porch out front. It was chilly the first evening and we retired to the lounge/bar to sit in front of a roaring fire under the huge round thatched roof, from where we watched bushbabies being fed fruit. The music was African and the service very friendly and efficient. Meals were served in the huge dining room buffet style - you were shown to your table and you then sat here for each meal. In the windows you could see young monkeys peering in hoping to get fed. There was lots to choose from to suit every taste - and it was all delicious. Our second evening was much warmer and I got a dip in the pool, which is not heated, much as I prefer it. We would have happily stayed here a 3rd or 4th night as it was so relaxing after going out on safari during the day. Our tour guide Alice recommended this hotel and we would happily come back for another visit. The rustic atmosphere and simple friendly service made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaw, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our Safari, The drive there was an adventure on its own or the last 100km was. The Mara Sopa Lodge was a wonderful place, with great food, comfy beds. The bar was food and the drinks reasonably priced, I would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to the bar as it can be a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights as the first stop on a 10 day safari with Pollmans/Hayes and Jarvis.

Hotel was ok, but probably the least nice out of the ones we stayed in for the week. It is located around 15 mins from the edge of the Masai Mara national park, and it took us around 45 mins drive each time we went for a game drive before we got far enough into the reserve to see something more interesting than a gazelle. We did see some great stuff on game drives from here though, including a group of young cubs playing not far from the track.

There was only power and hot water at night, but water pressure and temperature were good. Rooms are in pairs and as other reviews said, the walls between the two rooms are paper thin. Bed was okay. There wasn't a hair-drier in the room and every time my wife asked for one at reception there weren't any left.

The buffet always seemed to be broadly the same despite the fact the theme changed each night. Drink prices didn't seem too bad, but I'm used to central London. The buffet meat was generally a bit tough and not that tasty.

If I was in the Mara again I will probably pay the extra and stay somewhere in the middle of the park, not outside or on the edge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed 2 nights during Christmas when we had a safari with JT Safaris. The location was excellent inside the park but road was in a really poor condition so you needed a 4x4 wheel jeep to drive into the lodge.
The rooms were spacious set in separate cottages 2 rooms in one cottage. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable and provided with mosquito nets. Bathroom was spacious, had complimentary toiletries and good shower. There was no electricity and hot water during the day when everybody was on a game-drive but it did not matter really.
We enjoyed the dinner buffer that was delicious and had lots of variety.
There was a nice swimming pool with refreshing water with nice views over the resort where you could relax after the day’s game-drive.
There were lots of activities in the evenings to entertain the guests, such as Masai dances and hyena feeding.
Service was excellent and overall expression pleasant. We will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed one night a family of 10 including some little children.The location is a little distant from the main Game Reserve and takes quite a bit of time to get to it. The roads are not in the best of conditions although that's not necessarily the lodges fault.The rooms are quite spacious and the beds surprisingly large and comfortable. There is small pool at the back of the lodge with a very good view of the reserve. We enjoyed the buffet meals especially the breakfast. The drinks are kinder pricey but I guess that's how the establishment gets its margin.
The lodge has a number of activities in the evenings to keep one entertained including Moran dances and hyena feeding. For a first timer to the Maasai Mara I enjoyed staying at the Sopa.

Only downside perhaps is the hot water and electricity availability. I believe the place uses a generator and there is no power for extended hours during the day. It made it quite difficult to charge camera batteries and cellphones for our group.
Overall its quite a cozy place with pleasant service.Its relatively affordable especially if you have a large group. Skip water at the dining table....its costly; drink the complementary bottles in the rooms.
I do plan to go back again.

Room Tip: The double beds are large and can comfortably accommodate two medium size persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, although the roads were in a poor state after the rain.
The service was fine, the food was average.
The main problem is poor maintenance. There was only warm water for one person to shower, you needed luck to switch from the tap to the shower, and the toilet didn't flush properly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list