We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and not in the best location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Average and not in the best location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights as the first stop on a 10 day safari with Pollmans/Hayes and Jarvis.

Hotel was ok, but probably the least nice out of the ones we stayed in for the week. It is located around 15 mins from the edge of the Masai Mara national park, and it took us around 45 mins drive each time we went for a game drive before we got far enough into the reserve to see something more interesting than a gazelle. We did see some great stuff on game drives from here though, including a group of young cubs playing not far from the track.

There was only power and hot water at night, but water pressure and temperature were good. Rooms are in pairs and as other reviews said, the walls between the two rooms are paper thin. Bed was okay. There wasn't a hair-drier in the room and every time my wife asked for one at reception there weren't any left.

The buffet always seemed to be broadly the same despite the fact the theme changed each night. Drink prices didn't seem too bad, but I'm used to central London. The buffet meat was generally a bit tough and not that tasty.

If I was in the Mara again I will probably pay the extra and stay somewhere in the middle of the park, not outside or on the edge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    210
    75
    17
    9
See reviews for
106
188
31
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed 2 nights during Christmas when we had a safari with JT Safaris. The location was excellent inside the park but road was in a really poor condition so you needed a 4x4 wheel jeep to drive into the lodge.
The rooms were spacious set in separate cottages 2 rooms in one cottage. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable and provided with mosquito nets. Bathroom was spacious, had complimentary toiletries and good shower. There was no electricity and hot water during the day when everybody was on a game-drive but it did not matter really.
We enjoyed the dinner buffer that was delicious and had lots of variety.
There was a nice swimming pool with refreshing water with nice views over the resort where you could relax after the day’s game-drive.
There were lots of activities in the evenings to entertain the guests, such as Masai dances and hyena feeding.
Service was excellent and overall expression pleasant. We will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed one night a family of 10 including some little children.The location is a little distant from the main Game Reserve and takes quite a bit of time to get to it. The roads are not in the best of conditions although that's not necessarily the lodges fault.The rooms are quite spacious and the beds surprisingly large and comfortable. There is small pool at the back of the lodge with a very good view of the reserve. We enjoyed the buffet meals especially the breakfast. The drinks are kinder pricey but I guess that's how the establishment gets its margin.
The lodge has a number of activities in the evenings to keep one entertained including Moran dances and hyena feeding. For a first timer to the Maasai Mara I enjoyed staying at the Sopa.

Only downside perhaps is the hot water and electricity availability. I believe the place uses a generator and there is no power for extended hours during the day. It made it quite difficult to charge camera batteries and cellphones for our group.
Overall its quite a cozy place with pleasant service.Its relatively affordable especially if you have a large group. Skip water at the dining table....its costly; drink the complementary bottles in the rooms.
I do plan to go back again.

Room Tip: The double beds are large and can comfortably accommodate two medium size persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, although the roads were in a poor state after the rain.
The service was fine, the food was average.
The main problem is poor maintenance. There was only warm water for one person to shower, you needed luck to switch from the tap to the shower, and the toilet didn't flush properly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The lodge is luxurious (obviously from Masai Mara point of view). More like a resort it has all the facilities. The best part is the awesome dinner spread and the fact that they have designated dining space allotted for each of their guests in the restaurant. They packed lunch for us during our game drives which was also good. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. However since you've to walk to your rooms do ask for a room closer to main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Mergentheim, Germany
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was here in this Lodge 4 years ago and the same service was there again. The food is just great, everyone can find something. The rooms are very big and clean. I loved the curtains and the bed clothes. I looked for them later in Nairobi in Mombasa in the markets or in the shops but I could not find them.
We stayed 2 nights and in our second day we could enjoy the pool. It is such a nice feeling after a tiring safari sitting on the pool area and drinking cold Kenyan beer.
Around 22:00 they feed the hyenas in the out garden. That is an amazing event, seeing that the hyenas are scared from tha cats!!!!!
..
In the rooms the walls are very thin. You hear everything so be quiet!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a game drive to the Masai Mara.
The location is great for a 6:30 AM game drive, as it's on the Masai Mara. I was in a party of two couples two couples and we stayed in separate rooms next to each other. Not that it was an issue for us, but the walls were thin enough to hear each conversations.
One great thing about staying next to each other was that we were able to easily hangout that night on the porches.
We had a late lunch upon arrival, dinner that night, and some snacks to go in lieu of breakfast due to our early game drive.
The buffet selection at the Lodge was great and there was a wide selection of foods for vegetarians and meat eaters. Food quality was good, nothing to complain about.
With our short stay we did not have time to take a swim in the pool nor to walk around the grounds a lot.
The reception and restaurant customer service was excellent, but we had an issue with the service at the bar which we did not take to kindly to, but it could be due to a lack of experience.
Driving from Nairobi to the lodge took about sick hours with the last 3 hours on very dusty, and bumpy roads. You get to see quite a but of the country though. If this is not for you, I suggest flying which is what I would do the next time around.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room where the adjoining one is unoccupied as the walls are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.