We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed one night a family of 10 including some little children.The location is a little distant from the main Game Reserve and takes quite a bit of time to get to it. The roads are not in the best of conditions although that's not necessarily the lodges fault.The rooms are quite spacious and the beds surprisingly large and comfortable. There is small pool at the back of the lodge with a very good view of the reserve. We enjoyed the buffet meals especially the breakfast. The drinks are kinder pricey but I guess that's how the establishment gets its margin.
The lodge has a number of activities in the evenings to keep one entertained including Moran dances and hyena feeding. For a first timer to the Maasai Mara I enjoyed staying at the Sopa.

Only downside perhaps is the hot water and electricity availability. I believe the place uses a generator and there is no power for extended hours during the day. It made it quite difficult to charge camera batteries and cellphones for our group.
Overall its quite a cozy place with pleasant service.Its relatively affordable especially if you have a large group. Skip water at the dining table....its costly; drink the complementary bottles in the rooms.
I do plan to go back again.

Room Tip: The double beds are large and can comfortably accommodate two medium size persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    210
    76
    17
    9
See reviews for
106
189
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, although the roads were in a poor state after the rain.
The service was fine, the food was average.
The main problem is poor maintenance. There was only warm water for one person to shower, you needed luck to switch from the tap to the shower, and the toilet didn't flush properly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The lodge is luxurious (obviously from Masai Mara point of view). More like a resort it has all the facilities. The best part is the awesome dinner spread and the fact that they have designated dining space allotted for each of their guests in the restaurant. They packed lunch for us during our game drives which was also good. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. However since you've to walk to your rooms do ask for a room closer to main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Mergentheim, Germany
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was here in this Lodge 4 years ago and the same service was there again. The food is just great, everyone can find something. The rooms are very big and clean. I loved the curtains and the bed clothes. I looked for them later in Nairobi in Mombasa in the markets or in the shops but I could not find them.
We stayed 2 nights and in our second day we could enjoy the pool. It is such a nice feeling after a tiring safari sitting on the pool area and drinking cold Kenyan beer.
Around 22:00 they feed the hyenas in the out garden. That is an amazing event, seeing that the hyenas are scared from tha cats!!!!!
..
In the rooms the walls are very thin. You hear everything so be quiet!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a game drive to the Masai Mara.
The location is great for a 6:30 AM game drive, as it's on the Masai Mara. I was in a party of two couples two couples and we stayed in separate rooms next to each other. Not that it was an issue for us, but the walls were thin enough to hear each conversations.
One great thing about staying next to each other was that we were able to easily hangout that night on the porches.
We had a late lunch upon arrival, dinner that night, and some snacks to go in lieu of breakfast due to our early game drive.
The buffet selection at the Lodge was great and there was a wide selection of foods for vegetarians and meat eaters. Food quality was good, nothing to complain about.
With our short stay we did not have time to take a swim in the pool nor to walk around the grounds a lot.
The reception and restaurant customer service was excellent, but we had an issue with the service at the bar which we did not take to kindly to, but it could be due to a lack of experience.
Driving from Nairobi to the lodge took about sick hours with the last 3 hours on very dusty, and bumpy roads. You get to see quite a but of the country though. If this is not for you, I suggest flying which is what I would do the next time around.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room where the adjoining one is unoccupied as the walls are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I enjoyed Mara Sopa quite a lot. The staff is very friendly and the resort is beautiful. The food is above average but they can do better. They need to serve more local cuisines. They have free wi-fi in the bar area that is quite fast and efficient.
I don't understand the need for a pool. For a remote district like the Mara, that has such challenges with water, a pool is unnecessary. I doubt that guests come here to swim so what s the point of pools in Mara's resorts?
We travelled in early Dec and were able to see all the big 5. The Mara was not busy so everything was much more relaxed than when its high season. I would recommend this place, I found it quite satisfactory for the price we paid

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here whilst on a Safari tour as part of our deal.

I thought the hotel rooms were an excellent size and very clean. I did have a couple of issues however. Firstly there was no safe in our room and it had clearly been 'removed' from the wall. The only alternative we were offered was to leave all our things at reception. The rooms also have very thin walls. We could hear the snoring coming from rooms on both sides of ours! Unfortunate, I recognise, but frustrating non-the-less.

The meals were generic buffet standard, not great but not bad. One night we had a BBQ, but I was very disappointed to find they only cooked a certain amount of meat. We got there only 15 mins after dinner started serving but already they were almost out of one of the meats. I certainly recommend dining as soon as the restaurant opens to avoid having limited choice.

They offer activities in the hotel each night, such as a Masai warrior show and animal feeding, which is good if you want to be entertained.

The location is great as only 10 mins from the hotel and you are in the game park, and chances are you will see animals such as zebra around the hotel itself.

Wouldn't rush back to this lodge again, but wouldn't avoid it either if it was a good price in comparison to others in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.