We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, although the roads were in a poor state after the rain.
The service was fine, the food was average.
The main problem is poor maintenance. There was only warm water for one person to shower, you needed luck to switch from the tap to the shower, and the toilet didn't flush properly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 132ThomasT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The lodge is luxurious (obviously from Masai Mara point of view). More like a resort it has all the facilities. The best part is the awesome dinner spread and the fact that they have designated dining space allotted for each of their guests in the restaurant. They packed lunch for us during our game drives which was also good. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. However since you've to walk to your rooms do ask for a room closer to main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParagRaheja85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Mergentheim, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was here in this Lodge 4 years ago and the same service was there again. The food is just great, everyone can find something. The rooms are very big and clean. I loved the curtains and the bed clothes. I looked for them later in Nairobi in Mombasa in the markets or in the shops but I could not find them.
We stayed 2 nights and in our second day we could enjoy the pool. It is such a nice feeling after a tiring safari sitting on the pool area and drinking cold Kenyan beer.
Around 22:00 they feed the hyenas in the out garden. That is an amazing event, seeing that the hyenas are scared from tha cats!!!!!
..
In the rooms the walls are very thin. You hear everything so be quiet!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragos68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a game drive to the Masai Mara.
The location is great for a 6:30 AM game drive, as it's on the Masai Mara. I was in a party of two couples two couples and we stayed in separate rooms next to each other. Not that it was an issue for us, but the walls were thin enough to hear each conversations.
One great thing about staying next to each other was that we were able to easily hangout that night on the porches.
We had a late lunch upon arrival, dinner that night, and some snacks to go in lieu of breakfast due to our early game drive.
The buffet selection at the Lodge was great and there was a wide selection of foods for vegetarians and meat eaters. Food quality was good, nothing to complain about.
With our short stay we did not have time to take a swim in the pool nor to walk around the grounds a lot.
The reception and restaurant customer service was excellent, but we had an issue with the service at the bar which we did not take to kindly to, but it could be due to a lack of experience.
Driving from Nairobi to the lodge took about sick hours with the last 3 hours on very dusty, and bumpy roads. You get to see quite a but of the country though. If this is not for you, I suggest flying which is what I would do the next time around.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room where the adjoining one is unoccupied as the walls are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I enjoyed Mara Sopa quite a lot. The staff is very friendly and the resort is beautiful. The food is above average but they can do better. They need to serve more local cuisines. They have free wi-fi in the bar area that is quite fast and efficient.
I don't understand the need for a pool. For a remote district like the Mara, that has such challenges with water, a pool is unnecessary. I doubt that guests come here to swim so what s the point of pools in Mara's resorts?
We travelled in early Dec and were able to see all the big 5. The Mara was not busy so everything was much more relaxed than when its high season. I would recommend this place, I found it quite satisfactory for the price we paid

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelisgood1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here whilst on a Safari tour as part of our deal.

I thought the hotel rooms were an excellent size and very clean. I did have a couple of issues however. Firstly there was no safe in our room and it had clearly been 'removed' from the wall. The only alternative we were offered was to leave all our things at reception. The rooms also have very thin walls. We could hear the snoring coming from rooms on both sides of ours! Unfortunate, I recognise, but frustrating non-the-less.

The meals were generic buffet standard, not great but not bad. One night we had a BBQ, but I was very disappointed to find they only cooked a certain amount of meat. We got there only 15 mins after dinner started serving but already they were almost out of one of the meats. I certainly recommend dining as soon as the restaurant opens to avoid having limited choice.

They offer activities in the hotel each night, such as a Masai warrior show and animal feeding, which is good if you want to be entertained.

The location is great as only 10 mins from the hotel and you are in the game park, and chances are you will see animals such as zebra around the hotel itself.

Wouldn't rush back to this lodge again, but wouldn't avoid it either if it was a good price in comparison to others in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A great Safari Resort in the Masai Mara. Not 5 star, but very close. Nice rooms with private sitting/viewing area. The main lodge hosted many great activities and events. This Resort in minutes from viewing Lion, Elephants, Giraffe, Wildebeest, Water Buffalo, Crocodile, Zebra - you name it!! Perfect location in the Masai Mara.

Room Tip: Any room is a great location - you may want to be closer to the main lodge as rooms are spread out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandFlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
10.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#59 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
26.2 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#70 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
34.9 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#96 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing