We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still nice and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
Mara Sopa Lodge
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Bad Mergentheim, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Still nice and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was here in this Lodge 4 years ago and the same service was there again. The food is just great, everyone can find something. The rooms are very big and clean. I loved the curtains and the bed clothes. I looked for them later in Nairobi in Mombasa in the markets or in the shops but I could not find them.
We stayed 2 nights and in our second day we could enjoy the pool. It is such a nice feeling after a tiring safari sitting on the pool area and drinking cold Kenyan beer.
Around 22:00 they feed the hyenas in the out garden. That is an amazing event, seeing that the hyenas are scared from tha cats!!!!!
..
In the rooms the walls are very thin. You hear everything so be quiet!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    201
    72
    16
    9
See reviews for
101
179
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a game drive to the Masai Mara.
The location is great for a 6:30 AM game drive, as it's on the Masai Mara. I was in a party of two couples two couples and we stayed in separate rooms next to each other. Not that it was an issue for us, but the walls were thin enough to hear each conversations.
One great thing about staying next to each other was that we were able to easily hangout that night on the porches.
We had a late lunch upon arrival, dinner that night, and some snacks to go in lieu of breakfast due to our early game drive.
The buffet selection at the Lodge was great and there was a wide selection of foods for vegetarians and meat eaters. Food quality was good, nothing to complain about.
With our short stay we did not have time to take a swim in the pool nor to walk around the grounds a lot.
The reception and restaurant customer service was excellent, but we had an issue with the service at the bar which we did not take to kindly to, but it could be due to a lack of experience.
Driving from Nairobi to the lodge took about sick hours with the last 3 hours on very dusty, and bumpy roads. You get to see quite a but of the country though. If this is not for you, I suggest flying which is what I would do the next time around.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room where the adjoining one is unoccupied as the walls are very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I enjoyed Mara Sopa quite a lot. The staff is very friendly and the resort is beautiful. The food is above average but they can do better. They need to serve more local cuisines. They have free wi-fi in the bar area that is quite fast and efficient.
I don't understand the need for a pool. For a remote district like the Mara, that has such challenges with water, a pool is unnecessary. I doubt that guests come here to swim so what s the point of pools in Mara's resorts?
We travelled in early Dec and were able to see all the big 5. The Mara was not busy so everything was much more relaxed than when its high season. I would recommend this place, I found it quite satisfactory for the price we paid

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here whilst on a Safari tour as part of our deal.

I thought the hotel rooms were an excellent size and very clean. I did have a couple of issues however. Firstly there was no safe in our room and it had clearly been 'removed' from the wall. The only alternative we were offered was to leave all our things at reception. The rooms also have very thin walls. We could hear the snoring coming from rooms on both sides of ours! Unfortunate, I recognise, but frustrating non-the-less.

The meals were generic buffet standard, not great but not bad. One night we had a BBQ, but I was very disappointed to find they only cooked a certain amount of meat. We got there only 15 mins after dinner started serving but already they were almost out of one of the meats. I certainly recommend dining as soon as the restaurant opens to avoid having limited choice.

They offer activities in the hotel each night, such as a Masai warrior show and animal feeding, which is good if you want to be entertained.

The location is great as only 10 mins from the hotel and you are in the game park, and chances are you will see animals such as zebra around the hotel itself.

Wouldn't rush back to this lodge again, but wouldn't avoid it either if it was a good price in comparison to others in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A great Safari Resort in the Masai Mara. Not 5 star, but very close. Nice rooms with private sitting/viewing area. The main lodge hosted many great activities and events. This Resort in minutes from viewing Lion, Elephants, Giraffe, Wildebeest, Water Buffalo, Crocodile, Zebra - you name it!! Perfect location in the Masai Mara.

Room Tip: Any room is a great location - you may want to be closer to the main lodge as rooms are spread out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I love the Sopa lodges because they are eco friendly. They do not waste water and electricity. Very clean, great place, in the park. Very friendly staff. QUiet and nice beds to sleep in after a long safari day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This lodge is located right next to amazing Masai Mara reservation. Personnel were really friendly and helpful, they made us feel safe and comfortable. Masai Mara reservation is unbelievable! We couldn't imagine how many animals are living in that area and how close we could get to them. We saw four out of The Big Five (Rhino we spotted in Lake Nakuru, so we got all five :-)) and a huge amount of other animals. This is a place we can recommend, go for it and enjoy Africa! Don't forget to visit unbelievable Masai village, it will open your eyes, how some people still want's to live.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.