We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee bit down at heels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list
Mara Sopa Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wee bit down at heels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The animal viewing is spectacular here. The roads within the park will rearrange your insides--super bad with more pot holes than road. The food is mediocre and the beds hard as boards. Our bedspread and general decor had seen much better days. Yet the Maasai are beautiful and friendly, as are all Kenyans!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    216
    80
    18
    10
See reviews for
113
192
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very pleasant staff and comfortable hotel. There is no A/C but the beauty is that you won't need it. The peace and quiet and quaint rooms with mosquito nets will be an experience for all, especially kids.

The food is quite good and there is always a vegetarian option. Indian food is always on the buffet line as well.

There is limited hot water and electricity but that will not impede you. The place is well set and you will enjoy the place after long days in the park.

It is located close to the park entrance and the roads to and from the lodge are very poor. So game drives will be bumpy and the river is almost 2hours away. But the cost is more reasonable than other lodges and cheaper than camps inside the park.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far from the main lodge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Sopa Property is too good per say. The whole property is just too good, though the pool is small and the water was cold, but after the game drive in hot sun, we enjoyed the plunge in the pool. The food was excellent. There were varieties of dishes, even we could find Indian dal, rice, pickle. Specially dinner was fab, there was good choice of roasted pork, beef with sauce of our choice. The rooms were warm as we went in October. During the day there is no electricity or hot water. Only after 5.30 power comes. But the overall experience was beautiful, though the bumpy road made us too tired before reaching the lodge. But the beds were comfortable and the room was quite big for a Family of 3. Indeed good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the table fans if required as it is quite hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughrea, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this excellent lodge and thoroughly enjoyed all of the facilities. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent and the packed lunch provided for our full day safari was very adequate. The bedroom was a little smaller than the Navaisha Sopa Resort room, also the walls were very thin between rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to reception, we had a 10 minute walk to our lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Sorry to say, I hated this place and so did my two friends. We were three females and we were placed in the two rooms furthest from the main area. The area was creepy and the guards tended to sit far away: we felt scared and quite freaked out! The views are nice but it is a push to say you are inside the Mara - you have to drive for 15/20 minutes to get to the gate. The pool area was nice and we enjoyed the feeding of the bush baby and the animals at 10pm. That said, whether a hotel should throw out meat to encourage hyenas is another matter. My room was big but a bit grim - the bathroom was from the 60s and I couldn't even get the door to shut, luckily it was just me! There wasn't enough water for a hot shower. The food wasn't great and on my second night I couldn't find anything I wanted to eat. When we arrived they said there was tea and coffee free all day, but it was actually only during meal times. I ordered a pot of tea at 6.30pm and they refused to do it for free even though they put free tea out at 7pm when dinner starts. Not a huge deal I know, but I had just got back from an all day game drive so it just would have been nice! I wouldn't recommend this place, and certainly not for the prices they charge non-residents!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I honestly expected a little better out of a lodge at the Masai Mara. I stayed here as part of a 5 day safari organized by Silverbird Travel. I found the bed hard, and was kept awake by a dripping sound coming from the bathroom.

but I loved the environment - lots of comfortable couches and seats, indoors and outdoors. the bar man David is a friendly guy, and there's wifi in the evenings (which slows down when too many people use it). I spent a lot of time relaxing at the lodge when I wasn't out on a game drive.

the staff are friendly and very helpful, and there's always someone waiting to help you with your bags when you're going to check out, which is good because some of the lodges are a long walk from the main reception area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Well we did not enjoy the food at all.. The Hotel was good, housekeeping was excellent and so was the check-in brief also the bar man was so friendly. But the food manager was not very help full he did not even go around to ask if everyone was okay like other hotels.. The rooms are too far away which we used to hate to go to as to come back to the bar or restaurant was an issue.
They need to improve on their food as for the three days we were there we got the same boring food. Customer service is very important

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#63 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
34.9 mi away
Sentrim Mara
Sentrim Mara
#90 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
34.9 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#54 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mara Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mara Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.