We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One with nature...but not inside the park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Sopa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Sopa Lodge
C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“One with nature...but not inside the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very pleasant staff and comfortable hotel. There is no A/C but the beauty is that you won't need it. The peace and quiet and quaint rooms with mosquito nets will be an experience for all, especially kids.

The food is quite good and there is always a vegetarian option. Indian food is always on the buffet line as well.

There is limited hot water and electricity but that will not impede you. The place is well set and you will enjoy the place after long days in the park.

It is located close to the park entrance and the roads to and from the lodge are very poor. So game drives will be bumpy and the river is almost 2hours away. But the cost is more reasonable than other lodges and cheaper than camps inside the park.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far from the main lodge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    180
    65
    15
    8
See reviews for
91
168
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Sopa Property is too good per say. The whole property is just too good, though the pool is small and the water was cold, but after the game drive in hot sun, we enjoyed the plunge in the pool. The food was excellent. There were varieties of dishes, even we could find Indian dal, rice, pickle. Specially dinner was fab, there was good choice of roasted pork, beef with sauce of our choice. The rooms were warm as we went in October. During the day there is no electricity or hot water. Only after 5.30 power comes. But the overall experience was beautiful, though the bumpy road made us too tired before reaching the lodge. But the beds were comfortable and the room was quite big for a Family of 3. Indeed good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the table fans if required as it is quite hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughrea, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this excellent lodge and thoroughly enjoyed all of the facilities. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent and the packed lunch provided for our full day safari was very adequate. The bedroom was a little smaller than the Navaisha Sopa Resort room, also the walls were very thin between rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to reception, we had a 10 minute walk to our lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Sorry to say, I hated this place and so did my two friends. We were three females and we were placed in the two rooms furthest from the main area. The area was creepy and the guards tended to sit far away: we felt scared and quite freaked out! The views are nice but it is a push to say you are inside the Mara - you have to drive for 15/20 minutes to get to the gate. The pool area was nice and we enjoyed the feeding of the bush baby and the animals at 10pm. That said, whether a hotel should throw out meat to encourage hyenas is another matter. My room was big but a bit grim - the bathroom was from the 60s and I couldn't even get the door to shut, luckily it was just me! There wasn't enough water for a hot shower. The food wasn't great and on my second night I couldn't find anything I wanted to eat. When we arrived they said there was tea and coffee free all day, but it was actually only during meal times. I ordered a pot of tea at 6.30pm and they refused to do it for free even though they put free tea out at 7pm when dinner starts. Not a huge deal I know, but I had just got back from an all day game drive so it just would have been nice! I wouldn't recommend this place, and certainly not for the prices they charge non-residents!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I honestly expected a little better out of a lodge at the Masai Mara. I stayed here as part of a 5 day safari organized by Silverbird Travel. I found the bed hard, and was kept awake by a dripping sound coming from the bathroom.

but I loved the environment - lots of comfortable couches and seats, indoors and outdoors. the bar man David is a friendly guy, and there's wifi in the evenings (which slows down when too many people use it). I spent a lot of time relaxing at the lodge when I wasn't out on a game drive.

the staff are friendly and very helpful, and there's always someone waiting to help you with your bags when you're going to check out, which is good because some of the lodges are a long walk from the main reception area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Well we did not enjoy the food at all.. The Hotel was good, housekeeping was excellent and so was the check-in brief also the bar man was so friendly. But the food manager was not very help full he did not even go around to ask if everyone was okay like other hotels.. The rooms are too far away which we used to hate to go to as to come back to the bar or restaurant was an issue.
They need to improve on their food as for the three days we were there we got the same boring food. Customer service is very important

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

As opposed to another Sopa lodge I'd reviewed this one was run much better. An awful long walk to the rooms but there are nice chaps to help you with it all.
Nice rooms, nice general areas, great chefs, free wifi in a lovely bar area, great staff.
It's got everything you need to have a great base when discovering the Masai Mara.
Rough roads close to the location but what do you expect?
Very recommended

Room Tip: Try a balloon morning. We went on, not kidding, the Hot Air Balloon company. Can't praise it up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Sopa Lodge

Address: C14, Keekorok, Oloolaimutia valley (Masai Mara Reserve) | Oloolaimutia Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Mara Sopa Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Sopa Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Sopa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Sopa Lodge to your Saves list